Practicing for on the go with @dapplr

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

This is a quick post to see what @dapplr brings to the table and while it is just our of alpha and opening up for a wider testing market, it so far seems nice and smooth with a clear and bold design. I like that there is the potential to save a draft and return to it later too.


Because of the editor, this feels more like a mobile app that encourages more than dropping a photo with a random bit of text, like Appics did. I am yet to see how this actually formats, but I am hoping that this will be a decent option for thise who are on mobile occasionally or are casual users of Hive who just one to post for fun on the run.

I am personally far more comfortable at a keyboard, but I am also a dinosaur in many respects and accept that the world is changing. Getting comfortable on a phone isn't likely in my cards as i fund that I do not comment as well when on a touch keyboard and small screen, which i think I put down to my patience and the fact I like to cut and paste quotes so that those I am answering have a clear idea of what I am referencing without having to reread their's or someone else's comment above.

Good mobile apps are of course very important in regards to any social media platform as most people these days are scrolling and posting straight from their phone. Those who use desktops are often the people who have reason to, for example photogs or writers such as myself, where handling large volumes of textis awkward on a small screen, as is reviewing it.

I was in a discussion with someone today about posting frequency and why some people are negative on listing too much, including myself. The reason is that most people cannot offer much of consumption value multiple times a day and consumers do not want to interact with it. While I think that people should indeed post what they want, they have to also consider their audience.

What i find interesting is that most people do infact support what they want to see more of on Hive, but when it comes to what they themselves offer the community, they hold a different standard. There is nothing wrong with this, until there is also an expectation of getting a reward attached to what is produced. It is kind of like me willing to pay to hear Adele sing in concert, and expecting others pay to hear me sing.

Trust me - me singing isn't a concert you want to attend.

So far so good on this editor and it doesn't feel clunky like some of them do. The @dapplr team has done a very good job so far and I hope that they will get some more community support so they can keep developing. Remember that the goal isn't to have a good mobile app, it is to have many good mobile apps that are able to cater for different user needs in the same way that we need an expanding lost of apps on general.

When it comes to frontends, it can be difficult to differentiate so I think there has to also be a sense of purpose behind the app, a reason to use one of the other.

Okay, I will leave it here and hopefully people will add into the comments their thoughts on the app if they have used it so far. Here is a link to the post for the download if you want to give it a whirl.

Good work @dapplr team and it was an easy entry experience. It is great to see new apps entering into the Hive ecosystem, from the Hive community.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  

Hi @tarazkp,

I am personally far more comfortable at a keyboard, but I am also a dinosaur in many respects and accept that the world is changing.

I feel the same, although I prefer megafauna to dinosaurs. LOL. I recently downloaded the Hive mobile application but I don't like it or get used to it, I know that you have to move forward and adapt to changes and using applications of this type for certain occasions doesn't sound bad at all.

As an example, this brings to mind Dr. Jacinto Covit, who lived 100 years and will be remembered for developing the Leprosy vaccine. It is said that he worked until the end of his life. At 95 he still visited patients, as a scientist he adapted to the changes in his profession.

He was a worthy example of adaptability to changes and new technologies. In this sense, I am going to take a look at the Dapplr.

PS: Good examples and practices should be imitated, cutting and pasting quotes to facilitate interaction in the comments is great.

I feel the same, although I prefer megafauna to dinosaurs.

Perhaps megaflora might better explain my speed :D

Everything changes of course, but I think that this is more that it offers some people a simplified alternative, that might be better suited to people who may never have actually used a full keyboard before. It is a funny thing, but there are going to soon be plenty who have only been on mobile.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I'm looking forward to it because from the screenies/mockups that they've been posting it's something my daughter would find easier and more natural to use (being a tiktok/snapchat/instakid) and she might start posting her cosplay and AMVs here (she asked if she could and I said of course though I didn't tell her I'm somewhat concerned the latter will get pinged by overzealous hivewatchers and the like).

Good to hear it's living up to hopes so far :)

It is quite a pretty app with some details that are useless, but make it a bit more polished :)

It is going to be an issue with reposting content for a while I think, as long as it is drawing on the Hive pool.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Been trying it out on this 1+7 pro phone. So far (30 min) it has been smooth, and great options settings. I really like it.

Hopefully they keep the dev going on it :)

Thanx for the heads up on it. I went and upvoted (support) the prop. I laughed out loud at your fat fingers on the phone 4 inch keyboard

I was just about to mention the typos but it is obvious that on mobile, you will make a terrible load of them.

For me, Dapplr makes it extremely fun leaving comments. It feels clean and smooth since most of the dirty work is handled behind the UI.

There are still a bunch of bugs and UI improvements left to be done, but overall what a foundation to build on?

Bravo to the Dapplr team!

Posted using Dapplr

At least it is a step in the right direction and hopefully the team is able to keep pushing their development.

Me too!

On phone, I make typos. (You have 'em too)

Screenshot 20200721 at 2.02.06 AM.png

Good to see Dapplr in action.

Curious: How long did it take you to write this?

Yeah, editing sucks ass on a phone - so I don't bother. I used to write (posted from phone) as a disclaimer, but it takes too much effort on that tiny keyboard with my fat fingers :D Though, I am a crap typist on a keyboard too.

Umm, It probably too me about 45 to an hour and is about 700 words by the looks.

@dapplr, a word count in the preview would be handy for an idiot like me who writes a lot.

I am with you. 45 min is fantastic. Formatting is always an issue though.

In fact, I am also writing a piece (unrelated to the app) on the best way to become a mediocre writer — to pick up the phone and start writing. 😀

Because I hired someone who was comfortable writing on his phone — opposed to laptop. Strange I thought.

I can generally tell the comments I get from a phone and those who are on a keyboard. It isn't just the length of the comment itself, it is the brevity of thought and sentence structure. There is a different feel, which is of course a natural result of changing the writing tool, just like changing the medium and brush set for a painter.

I hear from many who say they are better on a phone, but I think it is going to be A long time before the great American novel is produced from a touch keypad on a 4inch screen.

Alas and alack. I am one of those heathens that uses Apple which requires IOS. Not available yet.

I'll take your word on it...

Normally it is the other way round, IOS first, then android. I think apple is easier to code for, since there is less variation.

I was in a discussion with someone today about posting frequency and why some people are negative on listing too much, including myself. The reason is that most people cannot offer much of consumption value multiple times a day and consumers do not want to interact with it. While I think that people should indeed post what they want, they have to also consider their audience.

If that audience is to be their friends and family like on mainstream social media platforms, then short posts about their day and what they ate is precisely what they should be posting. That's what all the multi-billion user platforms are essentially about.

Yes that is what is on all the other platforms that don't pay users - why would it be paid here? I think that it would be different if that content was pushed out to an SMT perhaps, rather than drawing on the Hive pool directly. It would be far less contentious. In time, that is the way it will hopefully go anyway.

Posted using Dapplr

They wouldn't be paid here. Do the math.

editing suck on the phone I'm looking forward to word counter to help keep lookout how muck word I have written because I write lots of posts @attajuttjj

love.jpeg

I also believe that people have limited attention for a limited amount of time and there can only be a certain amount of content one would be willing to consume. Time is precious and it matters for those who value it