When Corona Ends: The little things

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Okay, I like a bit of a conspiracy, but it is looking more and more like Covid-19 has been blown out of proportions, and while dangerous for a small selection of people, it doesn't seem to be overly terrible. I am not a doctor, but one was helping me move house and he really didn't seem very concerned and he and his wife (a nurse) deal with patients directly.

What I do think that it is a convenient cover story to blame the economic collapse on without drawing attention to the reality, that it is the same minority that fucked us over in the lead up to 2008.

Not only this, the governments around the world have reacted so strongly to it, that they can't back down and change direction, otherwise it will look like they acted irrationally - but the narrative is already changing.

As I have said for a while now, there is a difference between dying from something and dying with it. It seems that people are dying with it and the conversation has changed to dying from complications arising from perhaps maybe ....

Anyway...

Regardless of whether this is a real threat or not, we are on lockdown -or locked up. My wife and I are working remotely and while that saves a little bit of a commute as well as the need to wear a dress shirt - or pants - it is difficult because our daughter is also home with us and three year old children can be lovely - and very needy. She has done well and is getting into the routine for the most part, but it is difficult.

So, @theycallmedan is running an initiative what three things I will do when Covid-19 ends and I think they would be:

Three little things

1. Send my daughter to her grandparents

This isn't to get rid of her, but she really misses them and they have been pretty tightly locked into their home due to their age. Tomorrow, they will come out and walk with our daughter for a bit, just because all three miss each other. They can't hug,kiss or get to close - but it is still better than nothing and our daughter appreciates it. We did it once last week for an hour also.

2. Go to a good restaurant

Next week, my wife and I should have spent two night away (a first since our daughter) in Copenhagen to see Ricky Gervais' new standup routine. We haven't been away for over 4 years together and barely get an evening to ourselves - but with this ongoing situation - we can't even go to a restaurant for a few hours. I would like to take her somewhere nice, not fancy - just good food and atmosphere.

3. Get a massage

My back and neck have been in a bad way for a long time and while I had a gift card for a proper massage from my wife and daugher for father's day last year, I hadn't time to use it. Finally a few weeks ago, my wife booked it for me on a Saturday to give me a little prep for the move, and then two days before, it was all cancelled - the voucher expires before I will get a chance to use it I think. At the moment, I can barely walk and I pulled a muscle in my neck while lifting something. My wife has the arm strength of Montgomery Burns, so is pretty much useless - her back massages are more annoying than helpful :D

So, while there are likely more important things I will have to do like find materials and tradespeople for the renovation work on the house, my first things will be to look after my family and myself a little. I am really tired of having to always put our needs second in life - in order to one day be able to have sufficient space to relax a little.

Every time we feel we get a little breathing room, something out of our control sweeps in takes all the air out, and we have to hold our breath once again. We are resilient, but I do not want to have to test how resilient day in day out for the rest of our lives.

We are all affected or unaffected differently by these events, but I feel that there is growing discontent and impatience in what is going on, and this is heavily exacerbated by the knock-on effects to business and employment. Millions are literally losing their jobs and will be affected financially for many years to come because of this, and they all feel the pressure - this will make the pushback strong.

But at least for me for now - I intend to enjoy the little things.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

Skepticism definitely leaks through, the same words being used like puppets around the whole world "Flatten the Curve". Where are stats on normal annual flu deaths, HIV, TB or any other killer germ we share in the modern world today. Much like you I really hope I am wrong, but this smacks of BS.

Well now that is behind us for today.... yes being home with energetic children is never easy, especially when at the age of asking why!

We fickle humans now locked up tightly miss things we put on hold, will we ever learn?

Have an awesome new week and keep smiling

The thing is, that if it doesn't kill a lot of people, the measures will be claimed as a success - even if the threat was largely imaginary.

She is very energetic and wanting to play. Normally that is great, but with meetings going on... :D

You enjoy your week too!

Always a win/win for those in power, it is the poor who suffer most. High unemployment, living in cramped conditions, no running water, no electricity, all spells out problematic conditions, with or without a virus added to the fray.

Who said parenting was ever easy :)

What I do think that it is a convenient cover story to blame the economic collapse on without drawing attention to the reality, that it is the same minority that fucked us over in the lead up to 2008.

So much truth here.
"Everything was fine, then out of the blue, this Covid thing just destroyed our really healthy economy."
"Negative interest rates, cash bans, unemployment, runaway hyperinflation; none of those things would've happened if this damn, Covid thing didn't come along"

When there are issues - divert the attention of the masses. "Are you not entertained?"

If you are not sure if this is a serious threat to anyone or not, go watch some videos of different ICU doctors on twitter who have been dealing with this daily for weeks...

It seems that some people react very heavily to it, most not at all. I am not sure what causes the difference, but some people die from peanuts too. I am guessing there is a genetic/physical component as to the difference.

My guess is that in those severe cases the immune system overreacts and starts attacking the body too. It attacks all organs and patients die either from multiple organ failure or sepsis.

I can’t say this any better. I feel it’s overblown. We could do masks, plexiglass and quarantine the olds and still have our jobs and lives -lays our economy. And yes...I miss the little things and my mom, whose locked behind a door.

I am guessing mask and plexiglass stocks have gone through the roof :D

Not sure how much it all helps.

there is a difference between dying from something and dying with it

That!

Iam just thankful that my loved ones and no one I know has this dreadful disease. I do not think there is any Conspiracy behind it. You have objective epidemiologists who are telling people from the stats and numbers that it is 20 times more deadly than the regular Flu

You have objective epidemiologists who are telling people from the stats and numbers that it is 20 times more deadly than the regular Flu

650,000 people die from the flu every year normally - so I guess we can expect a death toll of around 13 million from this.

I'm actually finding all this scary. My mum is unwell. She has pneumonia. She is a smoker too. Smokers will not get a ventilator if the decision has to be made.

Agreed many people are dying with, not dying off. And at first, I also thought it was all over blown. But now I'm not so sure. Maybe the isolation is getting to my ability to reason.

Stay safe, and enjoy working from home, lol that had already driven me mad before all this started

My in-laws are mostly locked up, but I am not sure if it helps. I wonder what would happen if they tracked pneumonia deaths in elderly - would it be much different?

Great post, thank you for sharing.
It's not what happens that matters, it's how we deal with it.
Regardless of what this really is, we should focus on the blessings we have and be honest with ourselves about what truly matters and how we need to focus our time, creativity, and effort on the means and opportunity available to change the paradigm at the root of the problem.
Our lives are different now but this time will pass, how will we use this to really affect change?
Do we really just want back what we had? The little things?
I say we go all in on flipping the script.
All the best my friend
Thank you for all your efforts here
Peace

I don't mind if the outcome of all of this is a greater collective awareness - but I don't think it is going to be - instead, it is likely to be an even greater social knee-jerk reaction and social uprising for the wrong reasons.

Like all of us, just stick it out TDog, we will get there in the end.
We have the cops and the army all over the place not to prevent looting, but rather to keep people in their houses.
My friend Gustaf Schwarzenegger a cousin of a famous big guy lives in Austria and if it's not too far from you I can always ask him to give you a massage.
He has arms like tree trunks hahaha.
Blessings and take care!

Austria and if it's not too far from you I can always ask him to give you a massage.

:D I am in for sure! Although, Austria a re in lockdown too - as I was meant to travel there for work these weeks.

Well after the lockdown then maybe.
Hope that your company will stay strong during the lockdown.
Blessings!

I hope it will survive too :) I am trying.

Well, we are rooting for you guys.
And this is genuine.
You can only do your best mate!

My wife has the arm strength of Montgomery Burns, so is pretty much useless - her back massages are more annoying than helpful :D

@tarazkp! Also, are blonde beauties weak enough to work? hahaha

  1. Send my daughter to her grandparents
    This isn't to get rid of her, but she really misses them and they have been pretty tightly locked into their home due to their age. Tomorrow, they will come out and walk with our daughter for a bit, just because all three miss each other. They can't hug,kiss or get to close - but it is still better than nothing and our daughter appreciates it. We did it once last week for an hour also.

Are your daughter's grandparents the parents of your wife? Is your wife Finnish?

Yes, my wife is Finnish.

This is Finland, just about all blondes work.

My wife has the arm strength of Montgomery Burns, so is pretty much useless - her back massages are more annoying than helpful

Hmmm, that is sounding like a weak massage right there.

I feel that there is growing discontent and impatience in what is going on, and this is heavily exacerbated by the knock-on effects to business and employment.

Yep, and with no end of lock-down in sight, this is only going to grow. I'm starting to get frustrated, but will probably just do as I'm told.

It is lucky she is pretty.

I think most will, but the world is crazy and I think that once it flares up somewhere, it will spread. Riots, looting and violence..

:)

think that once it flares up somewhere, it will spread. Riots, looting and violence..

If it's not already happening in China...

There have been riots in jails in Italy, Columbia, Iran that I read and also some looting in Italy.

What I do think that it is a convenient cover story to blame the economic collapse on without drawing attention to the reality,

This. Just this.

Spreading through Twitter like a virus

I'd give you a massage if you were a) reachable and b) not in the risk group xD

Have you read meme the news? There were some good ones in there :)

And then I looked at my news app and some beaurocrats are already desperately touting immunity passports as "a good idea" and now I shall have to see if I have any faith whatsoever in humanity or if everything turns out like short in my head that I haven't done anything with because time is a limiting factor

Hopefully the silliness will blow over soon (it's a lot warmer today than it has been for the last week, good die faster bloody virus) and some good stuff will come out of it and you can go to a restaurant and have proper walks with the grandparents and whatnot. In the meantime enjoy the socially distanced walks :)

Oh yes, your daughter needs to spend some time with the grandparents. My little cousins need to be kicked out the house.