Graffiti and murals in Bosnia-Hercegovina

in OCD3 years ago

I have been in Bosnia-Hercegovina for a little over 2 months now.
One of the things that I've noticed is pretty universal here is graffiti. Truly, graffiti is common everywhere, but there seems to be more here than I'm used to seeing.


IMG_20210518_163815657.jpg


Other than government buildings, pretty much all of the walls look like this.
In Minneapolis, the city will fine someone for having graffiti on their walls. It is terrible for businesses, because they have to pay to re-paint their walls every week, or they will get fined by the city.


IMG_20210518_154621516_HDR.jpg


I've never understood tagging, but I grew up in the woods... it's a city thing.
The cleaning of this scribbly garbage is not a priority in Bosnia, so I'm sure much of the graffiti is many years old.


IMG_20210503_123817747_PORTRAIT.jpg


On the plus side, I can use it to navigate my way back to my apartment in a city I'm not too familiar with.
The ETKO on the building pictured above is how I remembered where I was staying in Visoko.

There are also lots of murals in Bosnia. I'm sure this is to keep the walls free of garbage graffiti, and they look super cool.


IMG_20210517_154220111_HDR.jpg


This is how I remember where I am staying currently. It is so much nicer to look at!

There were a bunch of cool murals in Prijedor.


IMG_20210417_144151230_HDR~2.jpg


Even on gloomy days, you couldn't help but feel happy when you walked by this!

My favorite was this trippy rabbit knight.


IMG_20210419_142748_513.jpg


I have no idea what's going on there, but I like it.

There are also many cartoonish looking murals all around the cities. These are usually on smaller walls, and may or may not have been commisioned.


IMG_20210518_154657564_HDR.jpg


The building that I'm staying in now also has some portraits painted in the parking lot.


IMG_20210518_154713481.jpg


Street names are hard for me to find here... there aren't many signs, and the ones that exist are really small.
Because of that, I am thankful for the many murals, and some of the scribbly graffiti, as they are my street signs:)

Sort:  

Even when you go to some cities in South America like Bogota, Medellin, Curitiba, you will find lots and lots of murals and graffiti.

I think murals are the best way to keep garbage graffiti off of your walls. The taggers almost never tag over murals... almost never.

The horsing rabbit is really impressive ! I really look the style !

Great photos too ! !PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@tarotbyfergus! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @ykretz.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

ohh I loved the horse rider and the polygon effect on the grey side!

It's so cool! Prijedor is a strange town, and I think strange art is fitting:)

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congrats for being OCD Nomination of The Day in this post: OCD Daily: Issue #767


Well, it would be better if you can post in the related community currently curated and supported by @OCD for better support, such as:

For the information, the communities we're curating right now please check OCD Communities Incubation Program - Update #28. You are welcome to cross-post your posts from that community onto OCD with the peakd.com feature to get more visibility and engagement from the OCD subscribers.

Have a great weekend @tarotbyfergus