My first day in Prijedor, Bosnia Herzegovina

in OCD3 years ago

After a long bus ride, I have made my way north in Bosnia Herzegovina to Prijedor.
This is the city that my great grandfather lived in before he left for America in 1921.
Exactly 100 years later, I return to Prijedor.

This is a blue collar town for sure, and it reminds me of Minnesota's Iron Range.
It's way bigger than any of the Iron Range towns though, with a population of around 90,000.

This is the town that my favorite show is filmed in, 'Dobro Jutro, Komšija.'
In that show, they are often seen shopping at Nikic-J, so one of my first tasks was to find that shop. I think I found a smaller version, but still I think it's cool.

IMG_20210417_140635340.jpg

As I was walking around, I found an abandoned water/amusement park. There could be a Scooby-Doo episode made here!
IMG_20210417_133821455_HDR.jpg
I actually don't know what this thing is. I thought it was a Ferris Wheel, but it doesn't have carriages.


IMG_20210417_133959960_HDR.jpg
This ship would be so much fun for water fights!


IMG_20210417_134131213_HDR~2.jpg
That slide looks like it could hurt!


I walked into a different area of the town, and found a modern shopping area.

IMG_20210417_144139188_HDR.jpg


IMG_20210417_144151230_HDR~2.jpg


IMG_20210417_144242326_HDR.jpg


Eventually I went to a kaffe for some coffee and rakija.
I found this...

IMG_20210417_155732881_HDR.jpg
This literally says I drink when I drive! lol

Prijedor is interesting, and it's the first town I have been to in Bosnia Herzegovina that isn't a tourist town. I am excited to see what will be revealed by my explorations today.

Sort:  

Hey @tarotbyfergus did you know about Pinmapple: The Hive Travel Community? perhaps next time you could share your travel journal and dairy there. I am curious about the cafe, did you take full picture of it? is that also an instant coffee? if so, love the design!

As @ocd is trying to help grow a diverse set of niche communities so readers can get a better community trending page as mentioned in The OCD community.For a list of the communities we're curating right now please check OCD Communities Incubation Program - Update #23.

You are welcome to cross-post your posts from that community onto OCD with the peakd.com feature to get more visibility and engagement from the OCD subscribers.

I didn't take a full picture of the caffe. I would never drink instant coffee! In this part of Bosnia(Republika Srpska) the coffee is almost always espresso.
There are at least 2 coffee shops on every block!
In Sarajevo, and in the Muslim parts of Bosnia, you can get Bosanska Kafa, which is essentially Turkish coffee.

There are at least 2 coffee shops on every block!

I guess everyone really loves coffee there. I tried turkish coffee before and it kept me awake for almost 2 days 🤣 I am still afraid trying it again.

Congrats for being OCD Nomination of The Day in this post: OCD Daily: Issue #744. Waiting for your next travel story 😊


image.png

Wow, it is so amazing that you visited a place where your great grandfather used to live, that is actually so cool!

Thanks @nikolina!
Prijedor is the first town that I've been to here that is not a tourist town.
I didn't find any relatives, but on the plus side, I was forced to study the language harder than I had been:)