Sort:  

The sound is very clean, not bad at all and maybe a bit like a metal flute. Wood gives the sound a lot of jazz ;) But I really like it actually. It is perfect to bring on vacation as nothing can destroy it.

It is like this one;

I'm totally going to make one out of buckthorn!!!
I just read about the bamboo ones, and they are incredible.

Cool! I have been thinking the same actually. My wife is doing a lot of work in wood, so I was thinking she might help me. But she and the girls actually gave a bamboo-flute - I just had to find the one I wanted (they are all different of course) and I never got around to doing that. So... that should be my first priority.

It is a edge blown flute so at first it is a little hard. Even though I can play a bit of metal concert flute it took me a couple of days to make any sound at all :) But you can bend the tone at least half a tone in each direction so it is incredibly sensitive and full of expression.