I Drew My Lovely Cousin Ana For Her Birthday... <3 [w/ Drawing Process]

in OCD3 years ago



Hello friends! I'm so happy to finally finish my drawing! I mentioned in my previous post that I'm working on a drawing for my cousin's birthday next week. I started working on it yesterday afternoon, took a break "aka" watch anime and finished the whole stuff early this morning before I went to sleep. Here it is!!!

image.png

image.png


In the reference picture, there wasn't any Naruto forehead protectors, but since this cousin of mine is really addicted to that anime, I decided to put it on her as well. Her birthday is on Tuesday, so I wont be showing this to her until then. :) I hope she likes it. Anyway, allow me to show you the steps as to how I created this artwork.




Firstly, I had to prepare the materials I needed. I prepared my watercolor pad and placed some masking tape in each side. I also readied my pencil, eraser and watercolor pencils. I knew then that I won't finish it in one go so I prepared my paint brushes and water later that night. Now, let's start with the sketching process.

image.png

image.png

image.png

I started off with light sketches especially the form of the head and body before I sketched the details little by little. She's wearing a stripe shirt but I decided to leave it out because it would only make the drawing dirty when I start coloring it. I usually just put the colors over without outlining with pen or whatever like I used to.


image.png

image.png

Next, I started coloring. I'm not sure if it's clear, but I usually use around 4-5 colors on the skin. Maybe it won't show with this at first, but after blending with water later on, it'll be more obvious.Let's continue!

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

I am mostly lazy to color stuff in detail, but I tried my best to make it look better. I wanted to emphasize the folds and stuff, so yeah.. this is the best I could come up with.

image.png

image.png

Ohh~ I think the colors are much clearer on her arms. I used two shades of brown, orange and flesh on them. Sometimes, I add a little pink.

image.png

image.png

image.png

Here's the completed watercolor pencil version without blending the colors with water. I added a bluish green background as well.

After completing this, I had to do other stuff.. then finished Kuroko no Basuke with my mama. (I'll make a separate post on it next time) We actually finished it around one in the morning, so when I went back to my room, I prepared some water and my paint brushes. Let's go!

image.png

image.png

I started with the head part and went to the arms and her outfit. Check them out below.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

After blending all the colors including the background with water, I took out some white poster paint and added some highlights on the drawing. I messed up part of the hair, though... but it's OK.. I forgive myself for that. haha

image.png

I then added my username, signature and the date of completion.. it was earlier today around two in the morning. haha I could have finished it much earlier, but I played some mobile games before starting it. Oh well~

image.png

image.png

Finally, I took out the masking tape around it... and voila! It's done!!! ^^

image.png



Here's the final artwork of my cousin, Ana. She is several years younger than me, but she already has her own family with a very cute son. I'm proud of what she has become. She's a very responsible mother and she always does her best especially for her son. Although she's my cousin, we call each other "BRO".

She's one of my closest cousins. I won't be able to give her the actual artwork yet, but I will... when it's already allowed to go to my father's hometown. I miss her, my nephew, my uncles and of course, grandma, too! We sometimes video call and often have phone calls, but it's still very different when you get to spend time with family in person.

Anyway, I'll end this post here. Let's talk about other stuff next time. Thanks for checking this out! See you again! (^_^)/