Care For An Update?

in OCD4 years ago

Ever felt like time ain't enough? Like you are trying to do so much and there is too little of this precious illusion? For the last few months, I have been doing what feels like chasing the wind. I call it that because I don't have much to show for what has been going on.

Mushroom Farming Project;

Those who follow and consume my pieces know that I have been readying myself to start mushroom farming on a piece of land sitting idly at my grandparents. The idea is to be my 'other source of income' aside from freelancing which is currently my livelihood.

The project initially attracted a capital of 800 dollars. I say intially because that has drastically changed. I had calculated a rough budget and while trying to implement it, it was obvious that I had gotten a few things quite wrong. This inflated it to close to a little over 1000 dollars.

My clientele falling by forty percent on my usual freelancing gigs hasn't made anything easier. In silence, I have struggled to keep my household afloat and with the help of my person and a few friends, I am doing it.

Though it is still in it's early stages, there is an unquantifiable amount of pride here for taking the first steps.

Crypto Flu;

This was supposed to be a piece on it's own. One of how I stumbled upon faucets and started collecting drips of this futuristic economic fuel. I have been on the hunt for the best faucets and I must say there is more truth in this phrase -World Wide Web- for me.

From the well known likes of Coinpot and the five moon faucets to budding promising sites and scores of scams, I have seen it all.

It's keeping me busy. It's making me feel like I have something to say about crypto to contribute. Like I am now fully a part of this vast and still cryptic community.

Airdrops are the other thing. I am basically scavenging to find real ones. This is probably being fueled by my missing out on the one that Uniswap recently did as my trust wallet was sitting pretty in my tablet while I used Exodus wallet instead! I am yet to forgive myself.

Exploring Other Communities;

I joined the chain first back in June 2017. A man by the name of Jerry Banfield whisked me from my insomnia while perusing Facebook at 2am. I had just installed my WiFi network and I had no interest in watching anything as I would have expected of myself to be.

You see, my love for films and raw documentaries had been dissolved by that of financial stability. I collided with his video and after being promised hundreds of dollars per week, I ran to Steemit.

After realising, it was not really the promised land, I desserted the chain for months only to be dragged back by my love for the newfound community. The ship though would soon after rock and crash somewhere along the shores of personal gain. Somehow, before it crashed a whole community of bees rolled into a hive and I was carried with them.

Curiosity is what me wonder what is out there and in the last two to three months, I have joined read.cash, publish0x, tsu and project bluefire. I have been on Uptrennd for a while too and I can confirm that I am no longer sure there's a perfect community out there anymore.

Each and every one of has it's own class of issues.

Conclusion;

Mushroom farming is teaching me patience. That farming can't be rushed if I want good yields. It has also taught me that having ready funds and something extra could've been much better.

Faucets and airdrops are a good way of gathering crypto. Though it takes times and requires loads of patience too, it can be done.

People are simply greedy by nature.

Because even if Uptrennd is a good community, they're dealing with unimaginable spam from Pakistan and West Africa. But it has nothing on the spam on tsu. That is beyond anything I have ever seen!

Read.cash is interesting but I am not yet sure if it deserves my pieces and it has its share of spam and scams in form of airdrops. Publish0x is classy but can someone show this creative writer and poet how to break the crypto ice and collect some ETH?

Project bluefire is okay but it just began and it has just but a handful of members which makes it very had to analyse for me.

Longest post ever. I hope it finds well...

PSX_20200723_103249.jpg

Sort:  

Funny! Informative! Mushroom farming!

I don't understand any of that stuff about crypto, but I'm glad you do.

I didn't understand it too but I have to now for the sake of my future. Crypto and farming is my only way out :D

I'm glad you found it then. How did you do that? I already spend inordinate amount of time in front of my computer though. Not sure I want something else I have to do while sitting here.

I believe my looking for financial freedom drove me it. Hive usually doesn't consist of such content so the new communities have immensely!

I wish you luck with the farm

Thank you so much!

I am guessing that a lot of the spam is coming in from the poorest places where that amount cn have value. While I completely understand this, I think this is also why airdrops aren't really going to work long-term. Good luck out there and hopefully your farm goes well :)

I fully get it but still, it doesn't sit well in the realm of global adoption for any of those communities! Thank you :)

I know - it is a catch-22 in some way :/