Powered Up 300 HIVE Today | Yayy a Minnow ? πŸ˜…

in OCD β€’ 4 years ago (edited)

Untitled1.jpg

So, today I was able to power up 300 more HIVE which puts me at a total of 766 HP at the moment. Not too bad. Growing steadily but surely. So I'm a minnow now huh (according to @hivebuzz).

I was able to get some Bitcoins to my Huobi account for the work I did for a client. It wasn't much work, only a few customizations for his WordPress website. The client was actually really cool and I found out that he's into crypto as well. During this, I asked if I could be paid with bitcoin and he agreed. Yayy for me πŸ˜„. So I gave him the BTC address from my Huobi account, traded it for HIVE, and withdraw it to my account. I'm much closer now to the goal of 1500 HP.

Why 1500?

screenshothive.blog2020.06.1221_57_11.png

It's somewhere around there that the value of the upvote reaches 0.02$ which is the minimum threshold required for a post/comment to have a payout (as you can see at the screenshot above). Now, although that is not much, it's better than an upvote that does not pay out at all.

Anyway

Lately, I have been posting 3 times a week due to a busy schedule which is partially due to office works and other side projects I get as a freelancer. I'm still quite new as a developer, but luckily I'm able to land a few Giggs usually through friends.
I'll probably need to make a schedule to manage the time so that I can give time to writing good posts as well. If that requires me to wake up early in the morning then that's what I'll do.



Source: https://i.pinimg.com/originals/81/79/b5/

Sort: Β 

Sweet going man! Nice one on getting to minnow! You did it a LOT quicker than me haha! Great that your client is paying you in BTC, wish my employers would do that, I'd love it 😁

Seriously? πŸ˜† You're on a whole different league now with over 40k Hive. That's insane. I hope I'll be able to achieve atleast half that amount. ;)

Yeah I was only on around 2k HP after 18 months or so from earning post rewards and contest winnings so decided to buy about 22k HIVE (steem at the time) when it was between 9-13p. Then the curation rewards and noticed even post rewards started going up.

It does give you more options, then there were all these other tokens that came out of nowhere and just powered it all up.

Then the hard fork happened so all the steem power moved over, had about 30k HP at that point and been converting my "non-bought" earnings to Hive to go above 40k and the rest I have left (about 6k Steem) will be either converted to BTC or HIVE as I am aiming for Orca which is about 51,300 HP πŸ™‚

But you will get to where you want to be, think of small, achievable targets and it makes it that much more satisfying

Wow, I can see that you made some pretty good decisions. Your journey is incredible and now you help lots of new users organizing contests, giving out helpful tips, upvotes, and whatnot. It's amazing.

Yeah smaller achievable targets are definitely the way to go and I actually had eyes for 500HP but I'm more closer to 1000HP now πŸ˜„.

Just sharing my experience and trying to encourage the right mindset really - it's an exciting time to be involved with lots of development happening! Was speaking with a couple of friends about Hive yesterday and they seemed to be interested in it, may get them set up later on too πŸ˜ƒ

Haha, you'll notice the difference at 1,000 HP for sure, it's nice to have 4 digits against your name - that seemed like a pipe dream when I first started. Can't remember exactly how long it took to get through to minnow for me but maybe a year or so...

Welcome to the Minnow club, mate πŸ™Œ! It's great to hear that you've powered up, and surely it's more than I've done. I guess I've never had the inclination to make more investments into Hive, owing to my financial situation, I guess. Still, it's pretty neat to have a client who's willing to pay in BTC. Great minds do think alike :-)

Haha yeah in a minnow club. The next one is called dolphin right? πŸ˜†
I can't invest a lot too but I hope to put in small amounts steadily. I love this paltform. It's fortunate that I was able to get paid in crypto for a side gig.

I can't remember the exact ranking, thought I think the big boys and girls are called Orcas πŸ˜†! I'm still firmly in the Minnow group until about 5,000 HP or thereabouts. Quite a way to go, but I remembered when I had just 15 SP (STEEM Power) nearly a year ago now. Baby steps, eh? It's a great platform, and to have people invest into it is amazing indeed. I tip my hat off to you, good sir.

You make really good content, so I think you'll be a dolphin in no time. Sorry for stalking πŸ˜„ but you have good amounts of unpowered HIVE. Are you selling those when the price of the HIVE increases significantly?

Cheers! Actually, I haven't thought about it that far. The most of it was inherited when Hive was forked from Steemit (STEEM), since the rewards here are paid with HP and HBD. My idea is to keep my holdings for the long run, and maybe until the price has mooned sufficiently that I can sell a few, just to reward myself in the real-world.

Now that I think of it, wouldn't it have made sense to just Power-Up, then? Or, maybe I could just leave it there and let it be my liquid reserves. Eh...

Congratulations @the100! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!