You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Giant Meteor Crater: Winslow, Arizona

in OCD4 years ago

Always a surprise when one finds a site like this unexpectedly while travelling. Most times one just rushes by going from point A to point B, but the odd time, stopping and checking things out can be very rewarding. Of course it is "the world's largest" - have you ever been to Montana? Whatever places there are, they are also the world's largest. Similar in Canada where I lived in Alberta - there, for example, you find the world's largest Ukrainian Easter Egg!
Your travel reports are great and always entertaining. So much to see! This is a reminder again for myself to post more of it. Reminds me also that I have not followed up on my Portugal post (thanks btw for your nice comments on there).

Sort:  

I believe I've been to Montana, but only quickly when driving through. We did a trip around the country about 15 years ago where we started in Florida, and ended up in Los Angeles - but we drove the perimeter of the country. It took a couple of weeks!

Canada is a place that I'd like to visit someday. I surprisingly have never been. The reason is kind of embarrassing actually. Back in 1993, a friend of mine 'borrowed' his uncle's car from him car lot without telling him. He invited me to drive down to the coast with him. We got pulled over by the police, who accused both of us of stealing the car. Even after clearing it up with his uncle, they charged both of us with a felony theft. I heard that Canada won't let you in if you have a record, so I haven't even tried.

I plan to one day hire a lawyer to try to get this expunged, but who knows how that will be. The sad thing is that other countries don't realize how harsh and unreasonable the legal system is here in the United States. So from there perspective, I probably look like a criminal on paper! Which is really sad, because I would not steal a piece of gum, or harm a soul.

That really sucks!
I remember a time when I was crossing borders regularly simply showing my driver license (in those days, it didn't even have a picture on it). Nobody checked computers, you got waved through (you had either US or Canadian plates on your car), just like crossing borders in Europe. No passport needed between Canada and the US .... good old days. I crossed almost weekly, since I lived near the border. That was also when Vietnam draft dodgers settled in Canada and eventually became citizen. It is likely very difficult, judging by this information: Prior Criminal Offenses.
So basically you can travel just about anywhere in the world, but crossing borders between Canada and the US is now almost impossible. Makes me wonder how a US citizen can drive to Alaska? Man, you would be able to feel the difference just taking the ferry from Seattle to Victoria (which would have been my dream retirement place). It is like coming to another world, even though they are practically neighbors. In my time in Canada, I made the long drive from the prairies many times (1200 km - it took about 20 hrs since lots of mountains to cross).
Searching my Flickr, I just realized I had not uploaded my Victoria photos, other than the Royal British Columbia Museum - something I should do very soon, after all, it is the largest part of my live!

SH107753psweb1600.jpg
Sunset, Inner Harbor, Victoria

UPDATE:
I found an old post about Victoria you might like:
VICTORIA HARBOR, BRITISH COLUMBIA
Also just uploaded (but more to be added) on Flickr: VICTORIA the Album