BM-08-08 My Expectations vs Reality of Hive

in OCD4 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Expectations vs Reality 08-08-20

What I Expected vs What I Actually Got from Hive!

thepeakstudio divider

Hive News

  • Autoclaim Services for everyone is free - It works and I am watching my wallet grow daily without having to think about it.
  • Hivesearcher - Search the blockchain
  • CTP is a Year Old - I recently joined up with CTP and am currently going through the training. It's not that I want to be an affiliate marketer. I've been interested in it for some time and have dabbled. But if it's something I can use to help fund the show and ultimately do content creation full time then why not? They also have a vibrant community on hive.
  • A coule of weeks ago I started the twitter account 3SpeakVidShare. Starting yesterday I will try to post the top 30 leader board of 3Speak.
    Yesterdays is here

Hive Love Fest

Just some random love for some of the people I follow around hive


Expectation vs What I Got

Expected

  • Roll in, post a bunch of posts, get a bunch of bots that upvote shit for the crypto and be gone. No actual people to talk with.
  • A bunch of scammers asking me to buy bitcoin.

Reality

  • Real genuine people that engage and encourage.
  • Friendships blooming
  • Large sweeping initiavites to onboard people
  • So many different apps that you only need one accont for all of them.
  • Such a large user base aready
  • A FRICKIN VISUAL RADIO STATION!

Major problem we need to overcome for mass adoption of Hive!

Inititives are awesome and work really well! But they dont actually mean anything if you dont retain those users!!!!

Retention is just as important, and I would argue more important, than onboarding new users!

I've only been here since April. I shyed away from posting and interacting on hive because I didnt understand it. I still dont. But when I learned a little bit more I realized this is best place with the most potential to make people like me, normal people happy!

@Jaynie commented on @theycallmedan's post from 08-07-20

... developing a million things and all of them are amazing - but that does not fix the problem of appealing to the mass. That does not fix the problem of speaking a language that others understand! That does not fix the problem of people ALREADY here who lack enthusiasm to invest or spread the word of investment. That does not OFFER the fried chicken that everyone (subliminally) WANTS!!!!

She is 100% correct!!!

Also stated

market and promote this space on a GROUND LEVEL - "get people to understand it" - find them a space and place where they will be looked after, that will teach them the fundamentals and essentially HELP THEM GROW!


Part of the problem is the dapps & Marketing

What got me thinking about this is this tweet convo started by @dickturpin. If you like Linux I suggest you follow him and read his site. Hes a pretty cool dude!

He is correct as well!

These apps are marketed all wrong!
PeakD - marketed as "Your entry point to the decentralized world." Thats brilliant because it gives you an overview of everything possible. You would expect to see a little bit of all media there.

Hive.blog - Not so much. New people are expecting a blog. Insinuating a reading eperience. But what they are greeted with looks like a social media site. Not videos.

DSound.io - I'm guessing uses filters to show the audio that is posted to it. Not all the feeds from people you follow. Again this is brilliant!

3Speak - All I see is the videos that people have posted! Not the blogs that others have posted!

Dpoll - brillant again. Only polls as expected.

Tomorrow Part 2 will drop along with the rest of the show notes. Please stand by.


If your interested in learning more about me go to my Cointree to find all of my links and to donate crypto if you wish to support me.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

You do know saying that I am right will get you Sent to Coventry don't you?


"If you don't have enough power or Crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

:')
Don't forget, you can upvote peoples comments too!

I'm good with that. So whats another stop along the way?

Posted using Dapplr

Expectations:

Roll in, post a bunch of posts, get a bunch of bots that upvote shit for the crypto and be gone. No actual people to talk with.
A bunch of scammers asking me to buy bitcoin.

Where did you get those impressions? I'm interested, I don't think you touch on it in the vid.

I agree with your later observations! We do need better marketing and promotion of everything on Hive!

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 14/21)

That has been my experience of pretty much any kind of "networking" site. Be it social or business.
Whether its the actual company that runs it or the people (if they are real and not bots) that are on it. They each have there own agenda and there is nothing "social" about it unless you agree with everything they want you to. None will interact with you unless you have a certain nunber of followers.

Hive surprised me. I honestly did not expect the engagement Im getting.
I used to be really into the fediverse. Yes there are real people there but there sure are a bunch more bot accounts that do nothing more than post somebodys tweet from twitter.

In my personal experience on the internet, hive is the first "social network" where Ive found actual people interested in helping other people more than advancing a personal political agenda or seperating me from my money.
Hive is a movement of people helping people. And not themselves. Thats whats got me excited

Posted using Dapplr

Glad to hear you're enjoying it, it is a great place to be,

Discord helps a lot to get settled in too.

There are some real twats around too though, some of them with >1M Hive, so just watch out for them and avoid if possible.

Thank you for the tip.
Im in several of the discord servers. They all seem pretty noobie friendly. PHC, CTP, Hive marketing, engrave and of course PAL. Very friendly people.

Posted using Dapplr

Real genuine people that engage and encourage.
Friendships blooming
Large sweeping initiavites to onboard people
So many different apps that you only need one accont for all of them.
Such a large user base aready
A FRICKIN VISUAL RADIO STATION

Happy to be reading this man 👨

Its all true. I swear! Its true!
Lol!

Posted using Dapplr

nice to hear your entusiasm dude! And you are right, we need to get more people onboard to play the game. I have recently started some twitter action to promote this but Im not entirely handy with it as yet hahaha.

I came here through the steem community and even went to steem-fest in thailand and in poland to meet a bunch of these people. Its a cool thing to see the faces behind the people and it makes it more real. Never thought a girlie who just works in a hospital would have crypto convos with about topics I preveiously would have never understood.

Ive learned so much here and met a lot of people along the way with it. In for it! Welcome aboard dude!

Its very good to be here and thank you!
Looking forward to being here for the long run!

Posted using Dapplr