And Then Came the Great Realization

in OCD4 years ago

The streets are safe when we are bike riding. A car passes by us once or twice but never much more. We often get to hear birds that we never heard before. The cats are crossing roads without any fear. People stop what they are doing to watch us go by and often are waving hands or smiling as we pass. Fear is omnipresent in their eyes but they never seemed so free.

Pause

We are in no hurry to do anything. Life is on pause and we try to take the time to enjoy it. Like your common zombie movie where the streets are deserted and you are alone roaming, we are realizing this might not last. Soon our government will lock us in for whatever reasons they believe is "good" for us.

We just ride. My kids are singing an English song without understanding what they sing. They just think it's so cool and I don't care. I can feel they miss their grandparents but at the same time, they are still happy. They are stronger than us, aren't they? They live day by day without unnecessary future visions.

image.png
Photo by Artem Beliaikin from Pexels

Contacts

They send messages to their loved ones. We sometimes connect with video too. They showed how awesome their new dance was. The Internet is really important these days. Both for my work and for my kids to keep contact. We are lucky to have access to it. We are lucky to still be eating good food, to be able to have a grocery store near us that is half empty but still has enough for us to eat. To be able to exercise every day.

The fear is there. But my kids remind me we are strong. I want to protect them, but they protect me more. The bad thoughts. The negativity. It never disappears, but they have a way to calm.

So we ride.
On a sunny day, time is lost.
Forever.