I'ts been a while (Staind song isn;t it ;P) Happy new year everyone

in OCD3 years ago

First of all, I whish all my Hive friends a lot of love, luck, health and happiness for 2021 !!!

Somehow I wasn't allowed by the end of 2020 to watch and post much on Hive. A stressful end of the year with work and on top of that my wife and I were positively tested for Corona.

It started with my wife, she didn't feel so well, a little cold, fever. Actually the symptoms of a flu. Anyway, the whole world is on fire around Covid so you still think to yourself "it won't be, right" ... The motto is that you should have yourself tested when you have complaints, so we immediately made an appointment in a test street. In your car through a kind of drive in where you get a straw pressed into your nose and throat, but I don't have to explain that to you. It's the same everywhere. After a day she had the result, positive. I was (very strangely) still negative at that time, but that may be different after a few days. I had to make a new appointment for after 5 days because then the incubation period is ready. In the meantime I also got complaints myself, not as severe as my wife but a bad feeling and a slight increase in temperature.

My wife, meanwhile, was completely in isolation in our bedroom. Annoying for her, but also for us. You have to be inventive with anything and everything. I have been tested again and unfortunately .... also positive. So I also had to be in complete isolation. Our sons were caregivers at one time. We created an app group in which my wife and I (separated) asked the boys to bring food and / or drink .... I can imagine that the boys had different expectations of their Christmas vacation.

We have a lockdown in the Netherlands, all shops (these are not vital) are closed. The lockdown also means that you cannot be with too many people. Before Christmas, we had asked my parents-in-law for Christmas Day and friends of ours for Boxing Day, according to the rules. Our contamination prevented this from happening, annoying but not the end of the world. We had arranged local catering for Christmas dinner, which was now a bit different with our sons together at a table and my wife and I separately. Not really what you hope for Christmas.

My wife's complaints got worse, she coughed more and the fever persisted. We still sleep separately because it is not clear whether she can make me sicker and vice versa. The GP indicated that people just don't know, well then we don't take the risk. Since last week I have moved to the sofa for sleeping. My youngest son has also been tested positive, he has no further complaints but also has to be in isolation and I was in his room and therefore left his room. New Year's Eve has also been one to remember. In the Netherlands there is a fireworks ban to relieve healthcare, I think a good plan because the hospitals at the moment cannot handle the flow of people. My oldest son had fled the house, he took an extra test on December 31st (luckily he remained negative) and did not want to take the risk. He's still staying with a friend ... Good for him, weird for us.

In the end I bought a ticket for the live stream event of Kiss, a mega concert in dubai. I watched that on my own :) a little different performance for the old year's farewell ..

image.png

The concert was phenomenal. It was a show that is unparalleled. The most bizarre pyrotechnics and effects.

Now a few days into the new year, not much has changed yet. My wife is still in isolation (she has to be free of complaints for 24 hours) and I am a house husband, housewife, mom, dad, dog whisperer hahaha ... I like to do it by the way, but I would like my wife to do better.

In a nutshell my last weeks of 2020.
Let's hope that 2021 brings us what we have longed for for so long, can greet each other again, cuddle, drink a beer with friends, visit live concerts ... All things we miss so much. Most importantly, stopping the virus and preventing new victims.

Stay safe and ..... have been off the air for a long time but certainly not gone :)

Greetings my Hive friends !!

Peter

Sort:  

Sorry to hear your have been ill. I hope the effects do not last too long. We had tests just before Xmas that were negative and have been avoiding contact with others since then. That made for a quiet Xmas period, but best to be safe.

Get well soon and have a !BEER.

Thanks Steve, good to hear you were tested negative. Indeed it is best to be safe. We are still wondering where we got the virus from , we stayed home, didn't met a lot of people. The only effect I still 'suffer' is being very tired quickly... But that's nothing compared to a lot of other onfortunate people... cheers, lets drink a virtual !BEER together !!

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

C14504CB312141CE954D3602E36D3FC1.jpeg

Peter vanuit veilig covid vrije woonkamer happy new year ! Wat klote allemaal hoop dat jullie je snel beter voelen en er niets van overhouden. Hoop dat 2021 een mooi jaar zal worden.

Tot blogs
B

Hey Britt, voor jullie ook het allerbeste voor 2021, may dreams come true..... Ik hoop ook dat het snel beter gaat, ik ben het jaar wel eens anders begonnen. Maar we mogen niet klagen als je sommige verhalen hoort en ziet...

Laten we in het nieuwe jaar weer eens een meetup doen met een paar oude gedienden :) Lijkt me erg leuk. !!

Groet,
Peter

Good luck on your recovery! That is horrible that you have had to go through that. I saw the advertisement for that KISS show, but I didn't watch it myself. I saw KISS a while ago and I can attest to how powerful the pyrotechnics were. It was a fairly small venue and we could feel them all from the back. I can only imagine how awesome it was with all of the resources they had at their disposal in Dubai.

Thanks Bozz, the Kiss concert was amazing. They outstand themselves... What a big massive show that was....

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

Congratulations @verhp11! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the January 1st Hive Power Up Day
Happy New Year - Project Activity Update