A friend I've made in the oddest of places

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, I hope you're all well.

How to start...Well, I guess I'll start by saying that this story is about me going shopping and a cat. I work nights, and every other weekend I finish my night shift at 8am on Saturday morning. What has become my very much an engraved routine is that I will go straight to the grocery shop to get food for the next few days. The reason I'm doing this at the moment is due to a current pandemic, and thus I can lower the outgoings to a minimum or just when we need necessities or basic items.

After a few trips, and more or less parking in the same spot, I've noticed a grown cat sitting in the back garden of a house on the other side of the fence to where I've parked my vehicle. That cat started to appear there every time I would park in that spot and would stay there for the duration of my visit i.e. parking, going to the shop, coming out of the shop, packing and when I left. At 1st I didn't think much of it except how cute the cat is and how nice to see him-or-her there every time I visit.
Then, after a couple of more visits, namely today, I decided to give it a go and call the cat by trying all the possible cat calling sounds I could come up with...and it worked. Cat jumped off their little shed, over the wooden fence and meow-ed all the way to me. As he approached (I've noticed it's a he by having 'you know what'), there was no hesitation on his side for him wanting me to pet him.
Not sure how old he is but poor lad sounded quite rough and deep voice when he meow-ed. We have bonded quite well and cat kept me company until the time I've finished and drove off. I'm yet to name him as I couldn't find a collar on him.
I'm hoping that he'll continue to be there in the future to make my tiring after work shopping morning's much more pleasant 🙂

20200704_084620_HDR~2.jpg

20200704_084726~2.jpg

Not sure if I should get some treats with me next time for the little guy, just a two or three pieces of the tiniest cat nibble, so I don't mess his probably routined diet at where he lives.

And if you have any good idea for what I should name him, please feel free to comment :)

Thanks for stopping by and take care.

Sort:  

Congratulations @vraba! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!