How I am spending my quarantine?

in OCD4 years ago

I will be honest with you. I live my life far, far away from other people and love it this way so do my children. We have no visitors and visit no one. Most of what happens in the outside world we no longer care about. We do not read newspapers, do not watch television but we do have internet but I do know one thing we are not in quarantine.

Quarantine?

There's no quarantine for me and my children or the people I know. We live in the country and have a home and a large garden and no neighbors. We can go to the shop, children still play outside and people chat and let their dogs out. The majority do not wear mouth caps and/or gloves but they take distance which is fine with me on these rare days I visit the town 10 kilometers driving away from us.
I say rare because there's no longer a reason for me to drive up and down. The children stay home and spend most of the days studying, doing homework which is not explained by any of the teachers. Both search the internet to find the lessons teachers left somewhere and it all takes time. I am, after all these years, the teacher again. It's not what I prefer but it does do my children good, makes them wiser and school is less boring to them now.

A better life.

My life became easier, cheaper, more relaxed.

  • Daily I save money on petrol, food and calling credit.
  • I can sleep longer instead of getting out at 4 am and... there's no need to show up somewhere which is perfect with me. The only thing I want is to be left alone, live my life in my own rhythm without being pushed.

Running out of time.

I am always busy. My days are too short to do all the things I like to do which means I don't do much.
I did enough, worked hard my entire life and what I need most is rest.
The first week we needed to get used to the homeschooling chaos by now it goes better (we started with week 3) although the internet connection makes it hard. What did we do so far?
We slept till 7 am instead of 4 am, we have (a late) breakfast together, the children do their school lessons, we mow the lawn, feed the wolves and if school is over (between 4-7 pm) we have our next meal, relax and go to bed.

I am a busy bee and have work to do, how about you?

The latest news?

I gave up on searching for the latest news after the first week it only causes stress.
If there's some real news we hear it anyway. I have friends who send me a link (closer to gossip and fake news as real news) and the children have teachers and schoolmates who lighten them up. I do not feel the need to sign up for those apps who keep me updated every few minutes. It adds nothing to my life or the situation we are in. I know about the shopping time for elderly people and the doctors send a message they are closed. We are on our own, there's nothing else to know. I never party due to my health so I did not miss the "Lockdown parties" either.

Friendships/contact.

They increased during the first week. Suddenly people remembered me and wanted to share their stories. I heard the news about rules, lock down a, etc from several countries in Europe and the USA including the situation in prisons. To me, it sounds all the same. We are in this together, apparently. Worldwide is a lack of Covid-19 tests, hospital beds, caretakers and...

No one I know is ill, has a family or relative who died or is cured. Shouldn't that be the case by now? Might be all my friends are the same, living under a rock and that's why?
After the first week, the contact became less. Everyone is busy with his own life again. Home, bored but busy.

Going out.

I never go out and the last time I went shopping was on Wednesday, March 25, 2020.
I needed dog food and only two bags were available. There was plenty of toilet paper but since they cannot eat paper I bought the maximum of bones (16), liver allowed and some fresh food for us. Fresh means frozen. I don't own a fridge or freezer so it's good it's still cold outside. Those saying March comes in like a lion and leaves as a lamb is wrong.

If you are interested in the Dutch numbers

  • Ill: 11,750 (it's not said those people are tested the diagnose is for the biggest part by phone)
  • Died: 864 (not even 10/day)

Sinds 1999 yearly 2,000+ people die of influenza (as far as reported!). The biggest percentage is 60+ years old.

During the winter 2018/2019: 2900+ people died of influenza. How come no one cared about them?

source influenza the Netherlands

Rules contest hosted by @derangedvisions

  • Use the tag #quarantinecontest as your first tag for your post
  • Use the thumbnail from this post your main thumbnail for your postquarantaine
  • Post your entry in the OCD Community
  • Post a link to your entry in the comment section of this post
  • Share your entry on Twitter and use the #posh tag on your post

This is an Invitation to join #ccc. The community CCC supports members by encouraging and upvoting each other and by hosting contests. Contests ate hosted by @team-ccc and it's members. See @team-ccc for contests running.

Sort:  

🏆 Hi @wakeupkitty! You have received 0.05 HIVE reward for this post from the following subscribers: @davidke20
Subscribe and increase the reward for @wakeupkitty :) | For investors.

Ohhh hey you can buy it here they have a mega stock they say. https://www.avonturiashop.nl/ it will be delivered to your doorstep. Uuhhm also check for picknik.nl or ah.nl they deliver food also on your doorstep I don't know if they are active in your neighbourhood.

Picnic does not deliver with us. We tried Jumbo but they are kind of overworked. I have a look at the other one. Thanks 👍💕

Well if you order now you get it in two weeks or just try ah.nl buy in front stock up for a month or more if you can and replenisch your stock. That's why a stock is important. 😉 I have some now so I could wait except bread. That's nearly finished.

I always buy for a month that's why I went out. The dogfood was 2 months ago because it was on sale that time. 💕

Who needs bread? eqs5qd.jpg

😂🤣😂🤣😂 well I need bread I went to the store and when I came 8 others came also and we had to wait well I went home I go tomorrow again and just order online.

Hey @wakeupkitty
I hope you and your kids are doing well. The only thing is coming in my mind after reading your post that you are damn lucky that you can still go out. Life is still normal for you. Here we can even take a step-out from my home. I always wanted to live in such place with nobody around. I wish I could live such place where there is just me, my garden and of course my family too.

If You allow I would love to visit at your place, I hope you don’t get bother. 🤪😂😂😂
Kidding 🤗

If the wolves let you in you are welcome. I have a small guesthouse too. 😄
During winters it's a problem with all the mud but these days we notice no difference. We are fine I hope you too. 💕

If any wolves came I’ll hide just behind you. 🤣🤣 yes I am fine.
Its great to connect with you. 😀😀

You are welcome to do so and it's great to meet and talk to you too. 💕

😘😘😘 you are so lovely and kind. Best wishes for you.

That is what I think about you too. Stay safe 💕

I was wondering what has been going on with you?
I haven't heard from you in a while, although I have been quiet for a while.

I remember that I got an idea of how you were living in the Netherlands.
It sounds like you live like most people here in Finland.
Finland is scarcely populated, so it's one of the reasons why the virus hasn't spread out in that great numbers.

How has your government been responding to the situation?
Is there a curfew in place anywhere?

The Netherlands is overcrowded just some places not. I guess 12k ill and 1k died. It's by far not the amount of people dying of the flu during the past winters.
Usually they count on 1200-2000 last year at least 2900 more.I hope ypu and your family are fine. I guess your work stopped or?

The bus company changed into summer timetables, which reduced 50 % of the amount.
We will have 2 weeks lay off's and mine will begin after the Easter.

I consider it as my own way to help the company to stay in business.
And I still love this job.

So they changed their schedules too. People have to step in and out at the back with you too? You were free to choose if you keep working? It is good to do something you like. 💕

I'm just about to begin the next bus line driving

a1di5m.jpg4y43ou.jpg

You are busy. More time now? I see it's still winter with you. Stay safe. 💕

Hello friend @wakeupkitty, I am happy to read you. I think the same, in fact my writing has a name ¨What is done with love is not boring¨ is the same thing you are saying and you are very right, the news is what makes your nerves collapse but in the same way there is many viruses that have killed many people like this and not been given as much attention. The place where you live seems beautiful and very calm to me. Greetings and take care.

My children say too that life is better without news. Nearly every hour you hear a different story or the opposite. It is good to take some distance, focus on other things instead of counting and calculating. It's better to enjoy the luxury of staying home, sleeping linger, contact with others, reading, writing, etc. I wish you a great day. 💕