True love in a time when love is a myth

in OCD3 years ago

People do not speak much of the spiritual interaction between lovers. Or rather, the psychic connection. I am always spell bound by stories that tell of such connections between lovers. I remember one family friend who died a week after hearing of his wife's death. He could not bear to live without her. He basically willed himself to death. This is a common theme. If we check in our communities, there are popular lovers, love affairs that have reached the status of legends. Of course they are.


people2583943_1280.jpg
image credit: pixabay


The human brain is an amazing thing. Its powers are multitude and we are yet to scratch the surface of its abilities. When you have such a connection with someone to a point where you fall sick, if she falls sick, or you call him only to find out he was just dialing your number or when you finish each other's sentences in that creepy way that certain twins have, your connection must be deeper than physical.

I have always believed in that mythical love that we read from our storybooks and from the bedtime stories our mothers told us. Yes you will say that I'm dumb to believe in such fantastic romances but in this life of horror and pain, believing in something beautiful is sometimes the only way to survive.

I have seen true love among the poor as well as among the rich. We live in a jaded world where people take delight in ripping the gauze of innocence from each others eyes. There is pleasure in proving that on this earth, all we will harvest is pain. I don't know how this anger, this hate came to be. It has festered and rotted and has eaten deep into our collective psyche that even a butterfly is not safe in a child's fingers anymore.

Imagine a world built on love so infinite. Imagine the possibilities that will be available to us through the power of feeling the pain of another, sharing in their joys, knowing their dreams. We won't need to speak so much. We won't need to fight so much. Yes, I believe that love this deep would not only change the world but also change us and for the better.

This said, it is my wont to disappoint myself when it comes to relationships. I have grown to fear loving a woman. I have become a wound caused by my own hands. I carry a large luggage of past failings that I rarely enjoy the beautiful experience of loving another being. This has made it difficult for me to let myself go and fall in love utterly and senselessly. So you see, I am a contradiction of need and action. I need that completeness with another. I hunger for it. Yet my actions, my memories won't let me. How then can I surmount the mountain before me and reach that summit where all is bright and beautiful?

I know how easy it is for a woman to be considered a loose woman because she has been through several relationships in a short while. Do you think she wants to date different men in such a short time? Sometimes all she is looking for is love. It is unfortunate that she finds the wrong people to love. Yet even as she ages, becomes hardened by circumstances, in her heart, she still hopes that someone will come one day, look at her, tell her the words, I love you, and mean it. We are all waiting for our princess or Prince, even those who are in marriages they can't bear.

To love and be loved, that's something science would never be able to quantify. It is one of the miracles of the human mind and the deeper the feeling goes, the more power is unveils. There are men who have found greatness all because of the love of a woman and there are women who will tell you that their lovers were or are why they found success. When love is true, it can carry a person beyond the limits of their strength or imagination. That is a powerful thing.

Let us not be mistaken, hate too can propel one towards mighty deeds but while someone working through love is feeding off another's gift of love, the one working through hate is feeding off their own emotion. Hate feeds on itself while love is fed from without. Which is stronger then?

I did not intend to talk about love in this post. It was my intent to speak on how love might be the only thing that will save me from myself but I got carried away. I have loved a lot of women. I have had relationships with some and I have worshipped others from afar. I have never had a true connection with anyone of them. I have experienced a Warped version of true love. It was toxic, draining and at the end it was depressing. My heart has been broken and I too have broken a few hearts. I am grateful that I have been kind to my lovers, learning as I grow to be better, to love better. It is my hope that one day, I will be with a woman that I can die for and will also be willing to die for me,figuratively though. I'd rather we lived long lives, thank you.

When you think of falling in love, what do you hope for? Have you compromised everything because life is tough and there are no good guys or women around anymore? I believe there is someone for anyone. They just have to be open to see and welcome them when they show up. Let our past not hinder our future. Everyone deserves to be madly in love with another person who loves them in return. Good morning.


Yours always,
Osahon (warpedpoetic)

Sort:  

Hi warpedpoetic,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.