Respecting Personalities

in OCD4 years ago

images 53.jpeg

This post is from an introvert's perspective, the introvert being me. I think people (read as Nigerians) do not know how to respect the different personalities that be and it's honestly so tiring. It's crazy people expect everyone to have a wild personality or be an extrovert like everyone else. You'd think they know that we're all born different with a wide array of biological and environmental factors at play but no. I mean I don't expect much from a society where people choose to still ignore conditions like autism and dyslexia or take mental breakdowns and depression serious.

A lot of people struggle with social anxiety of different forms. Some people are weirded out by phone calls for example, for a long time I hated the sound of my phone ringing, I had to get used to it by changing to my favorite songs. I still have all of my notification sounds on my phone off, a vibrating phone gives me a panic attack. I also hate running into an acquaintance, the small talk that follows gets me worked up. It's a struggle for me leaving the house, I almost always have a headache/migraine at the day's end. Social interactions generally wear me out.

I love my space generally and although I'm not a social butterfly, I do realize that humans are social animals and I have to socialize. I do that like a decent human, observing personalities, treating people like humans, put a smile on faces here and there you know. At the end of the day, I still love crawling back to my shell. I find it really appalling that people like making introverts feel bad for who they are. You don't like quiet individuals yeah, but the audacity to tell someone they're too calm and should change??

Imagine disliking me for quietly removing myself from conversations I don't want nothing to do with? Or a mother mad at her kid for being too quiet? Some say things like, "I'm not sure I gave birth to you". I've had people shake their head in disgust at me for being 'too quiet'. Half the time, their conversations are meaningless by the way. Well, if you don't like how introverted someone is can you look somewhere else?

Some people can be really extroverted, loud, all over the place, totally not my style. Never do people point it out, "oh, you're too loud, can you change?" Why does a person buried in books every time have to be a problem? Or wanting to be by myself, staying away from forced interaction have to be a character flaw? Maybe it's an identity problem of some sort being so fixated on other personalities not in tune with yours?

Heck, Nigerians stress me.

Sort:  

@Wolfofnostreet This is an interesting topic, I liked your approach! We must all respect the personality of others, each one is different

Sure! Imagine a world where we're all the same. Terrible glitch.

Now i see that you are from Nigeria!

I understand you, in my case it is not that i am introverted... it is that i choose the people with whom i want to socialize, because i feel that there are many who are not worth it. Don't feel bad for being the way you are, i congratulate you for trying to see the other side of the coin, but you don't have to change just because society says so... you are you, and i am sure you are wonderful and special just the way you are.

Thank you for understanding and I'm not changing to fit anyone's idea of me 😊

Good to know