Fear and Liking in the Metaverse. My HiveFest Experience

in OCD2 years ago

x-rain2021-11-11_20-52-02.png

@dreemsteem has mentioned potential reasons why some Hiveans didn’t want to join Hivefest:

– I don't like being with people
– I don't have anything to say
– No one wants to really hear me anyway
– We aren't really friends

I would add one more reason:

– I can’t speak English enough well.

FEAR

Personally, I have had a large experience of speaking English thanks to traveling in Asia for several years. But most people I talked to weren’t native speakers and I have never been to English-speaking countries.

Moreover, since the pandemic started, I haven't traveled so I have had few opportunities of speaking English.

Youtube and BBC documentaries are fine for me but movies and series are usually too complicated - I need English subtitles.

x-rain2021-11-14_01-58-36.png

My avatar at HiveFest 2021

Talking to avatars can be even trickier: you can’t see facial expressions, lips, and gestures. And what if your interlocutor has a low-quality microphone?..

This is why the thought of joining HiveFest made me nervous.

"What if someone asks me about, let's say, blockchain technologies? I can say nothing about them even in Russian. I would look an idiot"...

x-rain2021-11-12_20-51-54.png

A lecture at the main stage of HiveFest 2021

Nevertheless, I wanted to take part. I am serious about Hive, I didn't want to allow fear to keep me in the dark corner.

I logged in on AltSpaceVR and headed to the main stage.

x-rain2021-11-12_20-31-03.png

Since I was new on AltSpaceVR, I couldn't understand who talked to whom and who could hear me, and how loud. I was completely confused.

There was a lecture there already. And I saw a question on the presentation board: "What Hive dapp would you like to be an ambassador of?"

There were still not many people there, and I felt the speaker wanted interaction with the audience and could ask personally me this question at any moment... So what would I answer then? "I don't want to be an ambassador of anything, please leave me alone"?

The thought about this potential situation made me terrified and I, blushed and anxious, clicked "Close the program".

I exhaled tension. The worst expectation came true. 😁

Soon, I learned that all people were automatically muted at the main stage and nobody troubled you with questions there until you raised up your hand. 😁

x-rain2021-11-12_22-48-31.png

LIKING

This was an experience!

First of all, avatars have a kind of frozen faces while talking. One look at such a face and you feel that you are talking to a psychotic person 😃 But you get used to 🙂

Secondly, many avatars have a teenager-like appearance and this is another weird thing – hanging out with "teenagers" 🙂

Thirdly, I am new on Hive.Blog and know not many people, I remember not many nicknames. So from the beginning, I wanted just to have a look at the event, experience the new technology (the Metaverse!), and leave unnoticed.

I visited a couple of lectures and had a talk to wonderful @qwerrie so my mission seemed to be complete.

x-rain2021-11-12_21-50-21.png

Meeting @qwerrie

But I felt meeting only a person who I know in real life and chatting only in Russian (so comfortable) were admission of communication defeat. Also, I learned about the Meeting Contest and wanted to send “H” at least to one person. 🙂

However, I still hesitated because of fear of failure. Then, someone approached me. It was an Indian guy with, unfortunately, a dysfunctional microphone. Nevertheless, the ice was broken. My English woke up as well as my inner extravert slipped out of the tiny dirty cell where he was locked for weeks 😁

x-rain2021-11-13_19-31-57.png

That guy. No badge but I remember his name was Kalyan Surya, India

Then, I talked to @malomi (Venezuela) and @princekham (Shan State, Myanmar) and finally realised that I was not the only brave non-native speaker at the event. 🙂

Lately, I chatted to @dreemsteem, @loonatic, @thelogicaldude, @bighungrypanda. I had a good frank conversation with @wil.metcalfe about our Hive experience and future of the community.

It was the very end of the second day when I realized I wanted more of HiveFest.

x-rain2021-11-12_22-44-07.png

I decided to look at what was happening at the locations. Several people went on hanging out at the campfire place. One person was sitting alone in silence at the main stage, a couple of people were talking to each other at the gallery.

x-rain2021-11-12_22-36-53.png

I thought about joining them but I suddenly felt my mental battery was already low after several hours in AltSpaceVR. Besides, it was a late hour in Russia. "The best is an enemy of the good", I thought, and decided to leave the Metaverse.

For some reason, I slept for 12 hours that night.


As the result, I am number 22 in the HiveFest Meeting Contest. 😀 And this is my cute NFT award for being a brave introvert 😄 by dlux.io:

Screenshot 2021-11-16 at 18-35-28 DLUX - Me.png

Thanks to everybody for chatting and the event!

Best regards,
@x-rain

Sort:  

a pleasure to read your story, probably I will reblog it to have always at my hands - the thing I dont do often.
great that you made it, would be a sad thing to miss... you may feel proud! and I feel a bit frustrated when I think we were there perhaps the only two Russian 'representatives' this time.

!PIZZA and !BEER to celebrate your success in the breaking the Ice challenge.
I found myself at#22 -- which means I met only you and @dreemstime... which obviously is not true.

😃 Thank you!

Only two, yes.

So don't you want to write a HiveFest report? Maybe some good images of people from there? I don't have because of bad internet connection, I guess (I have a hardware trouble with the wifi router). Look at the flying badge:

x-rain2021-11-13_23-25-10.jpg

This was a selfie with a person. 80% of images were like this so I stopped taking them. :( Happily, some photos of people were fine so I included them into the post.

--

They have counted only those people who had sent you "H" back. Some of people I met didn't so I have the shorter list on hivebuzz too. Minus 3.

And +1 because I exchanged Hs with a person who just was standing near me during a group conversation 🙂 But I didn't mention them in the post.

this is all pretty much understandable.
thats why I name my experience of 'breaking the ice' bizarre = just 2 results belong to you and my other friend. others... skipped it, or were not in the know of the challenge. ah. dont want to chew more of this. I am not sure I want to share it this time - cause, obviously, it wasnt a 146% happy experience... maybe I will do... still not sure 8-)

yeah heheeh it should have been a different way to track because a lot of people didn't know how to do the H on the badge

what did they end up winning anyway??? LOL they said it was going to be for some prizes right? hahahaha i never heard what it was LOL

Yes, prizes by the way... I never heard... Maybe later...

hahahaha i have so many selfies like this too

i dont' know why they don't give you a preview and allow you to adjust first hhahahaha

hahahahaha i think you mean me - dreemsteem. hahahaha

is there a dreemstime??? LOL i wonder! hahahaha i might have to check that person out - if they exist hahahahahah

oh yes. sorry 🤪
probably, its my mind to blame... for some reasons my subconscious has issues with spelling the word steem ... ( too similar to steemit)))))

ROFLLLLLLLLLL its ok hahahaha i can be dreemstime to you LOL

Hey Kudos to your hivefest experience! Way to go for conquering your fear. Meeting awesome people who really don't care whether you are a native English speaker - That is what makes Hive really amazing!

Do check out the community Hive Fest! Others are also sharing their awesome experience there.

Hey 🙂 So true. I hope we will keep meeting there without official fests.

I will check. In the community and on Twitter too. 🙂

hahahahaha and you did amazing!!!!!!!!
Isn't it funny - because I would have never thought you were nervous - you seemed much more calm than me!!!

and see how we are all so nervous deep down??? hehehe but we bravely met the challenge !!! and we conquered! :)

I'm so happy to have met you! another Russian for me to visit when I eventually go to St. Petersburg hehehehehe

your cute avatar is special - love the star glasses hahahahahahaha

yesssss!!! we definitely could arrange a small but high-grade festival hivemeeting one day!

This is my avatar was calm, not me! :) :)

Blogging is a abode of introverts so we are all brave ones :) Snails who came out of the shells to fight their fear and won! :)

I am happy to meet you too. Looking forward to seeing you in St. Petersburg! :)

I hope the time of traveling will come back soon.

Thank you!!

Loading...

I wanted to talk to many people but was afraid I would steal other their time - other reason is I didn't speak Eng for long, felt nervous like you did. I just had a few words with @Blocktrades, who did witnesses, Splintersland founder and @malomi from Venezuela . You are not the guy from the Russia that I talked to at length, aren't you? I forgot his name. He was from Gorgia.
There, I was just wandering around listening to other people conversations like Mr. @arcange 's ... haha. It was fun being there though.

It was me, for sure 🙂

was afraid I would steal other their time

For me, meeting someone from so far and listening to his opinion was significant. 🙂

I was just wandering

I did it all the first day but didn't come close to people 😃

I see. Nice meeting you here again. Here is a joke for fun!
!LOL

Where does the general keep his armies?
In his sleevies.

@x-rain, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @princekham
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (3/6)

Thank you! 🙂

It was nice talking to you on the 2nd day. The first day I was too insecure to really talk to people. But it got better and better

🙂 It is pity there was no 3rd day. But it can happen Hiveans may start meeting in the Metaverse by their own, without official Fests. 🙂

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you!

Congratulations @x-rain! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 200 replies.
Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@qwerrie(1/10) tipped @x-rain (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Gotta say! It was a pleasure meeting you at Hive Fest X-Rain! Our conversation was actually one of the highlights of the event for me! I’m glad that we both decided to go out of our way in VR Land! 🤜🤛

I hope that you are doing well my friend!

Little headsUP!
☄️☄️☄️☄️☄️☄️☄️☄️☄️☄️☄️

Hey, thank you! We had a great talk. Hope there will be other Hive meetings in AltSpaceVR soon. Some people think two days were not enough :)

I am doing well, searching coins, investing... Successfully, I would say. :)

Thank you for the upvotes!!