LMAC #54: Christina Soars in Hive World

in Let's Make a Collage3 years ago (edited)

shaka wyeth christine 11.jpg

balloon 2.jpg

When I first saw @shaka's template photo for this week's #LMAC contest,

@shaka's Photo

shaka 54 template.jpg

I thought immediately of Andrew Wyeth's Christina's World.

balloonist.jpg

I can't show the painting because of copyright restrictions, but the picture can be viewed in this YouTube video:

balloon 2.jpg

Christina's World is almost as readily recognizable as Edvard Munch's The Scream. Both pictures affect the viewer viscerally.

The Scream
The Scream_by_Edvard_Munch,_1893__Nasjonalgalleriet.png
Image credit: Edvard Munch, National Gallery: Public domain

balloonist.jpg

The woman pictured in Wyeth's painting was Christina Olson. She lived on a small farm next to Wyeth's country home in Cushing, Maine (USA). Christina suffered from a degenerative disease and could not walk. Because she refused to use a wheelchair, she crawled about her property. Wyeth once described her as a "wounded seagull".

balloon 2.jpg

The Olson House
olson1578358_1280.jpg
Image credit: Pixabay

Christina lived with her brother, Alvaro. Together, brother and sister eked out a living on their farm. Wyeth became friends with the Olsons, and made them subjects in many of his paintings.

Eventually, Wyeth used the upstairs of the Olson house as a studio. He was inspired to paint "Christina's World" as he watched Christina crawl across the grass one day.

balloonist.jpg

The Power of Christina's World

In the early years of Wyeth's career, the art world dismissed him. Wyeth himself described the disappointing debut of Christina's World as a "flat tire". Over time, many critics came to regard Wyeth's work with greater respect. The symbolism and emotional content of his paintings were appreciated.

Today, while some still disparage his work as 'realistic', others have described him as one of the greatest American artists. His paintings are said to have more depth than mere photographic realism. He has been described as a Magic Realist.

"Magic Realist painters," according to the website The Art Story, "evoke the mysteriousness and uncanniness of everyday reality".

balloonist.jpg

New York Movie, Edward Hopper
New yorkmovieedwardhopper1939 public.jpg
Image credit: Edward Hopper, 1939. Public domain

Edward Hopper, an American oil painter, water colorist and printmaker, is considered a Magic Realist.

balloonist.jpg

Nighthawks, Edward Hopper
Nighthawks by_Edward_Hopper_1942 public.jpg
Image credit: 21 January 1942: completed by Edward Hopper, 13 May 1942: bought by Daniel Catton Rich, director of the Art Institute of Chicago, for 3,000 US$ Public domain.

balloon 2.jpg

Der rote Gürtel, Alexander Kanoldt
Alexander Kanoldt Der_rote_Gürtel Oliver Kurmis,.jpg
Image credit: Alexander Kanoldt,1922. Photo by Oliver Kurmis. Public domain

Alexander Kanoldt was a German artist who began his career in the early twentieth century as part of the German Expressionist movement. Eventually his painting evolved into what is considered Magic Realist.

balloon 2.jpg

In Autumn, L. A. Ring
L. A. Ring Harvester publid 1885.jpg
Image credit: L. A. Ring, 1885. Public domain

Laurits Andersen (L. A.) Ring is one of my favorite painters. According to the Nordic Museum, he is "among the most significant figures within Danish and Nordic art". Elements in L. A. Ring's work are similar to elements in Wyeth's work. Both artists painted stark rural scenes in their respective countries. Each often features incongruity in their work. Although I have not see the term Magical Realist applied to Ring, his art is described (by the Scandinavian Standard,) as being "almost photographic in it’s framing", and as having a "strange realism".

The painting, Gleaners, featured on my profile page, is his.

balloonist.jpgballoonist.jpg

My Collage

shaka wyeth christine 11.jpg

In my collage, Christina, the "wounded seagull", soars. She is not constrained by gravity. Wyeth stands in front of the Olson house and paints the balloon-liberated Christina.

balloon 2.jpg

Change of Direction, Thanks to @elcorrecamino
It was only after I read a reply by @elcorrecamino that I realized a setting sun was the suggested theme for this week's challenge. So I had to scrap the collage I had been working on:
.

shaka 54 trees gif.gif

There was no place for the sun in that picture. I changed direction, and am very pleased I did.

balloon 2.jpg

Elements in My Collage This Week
Besides @shaka's template, I added:
A balloon from Unsplash, credit: Andrea Junqueira balloon credits.jpg

A female figure from Pixabay, credit: UnBox Science balloon rider credits.png

A painter from Pixabay, credit:edmondlafoto painter credits.jpg

The Olson house from Pixabay,credit: MaineCoast olson credits.jpg

The shoes on Andrew Wyeth's feet came from Paint 3D

I used Paint, Paint 3D, and Gimp to extract, insert, and resize elements. I used Gimp to adapt color.

balloon 2.jpg

Thank you, @shaka for the adventure in art. And, to everyone who reads this blog, join in. Most of us who participate are not 'artists' in the professional sense, but we are artists in our hearts. There's even a school, for those who want to improve skills. Our teacher is the talented and gracious @quantumg. Rules for participation, and amazing collages can be found on @shaka's blog.

lmac graphic3.jpg

Thank you for reading my blog

fox and squirrel friendsgif.gif

Hive on!

Sort:  

I think Christina would love to see herself soar high up 😀

Perfectly used the given template and a nice info for the readers as well 😊

Thank you, @razeiv. I like to think of her soaring.
I appreciate your kind words and your support :)

Most welcome :)

A real work of art! 😎

Thank you, friend @muelli. Perhaps not art :), but enthusiasm and effort.
I very much appreciate the comment.

I'm a big fan of your edu-collages.
Whenever I open one of your collage posts, I'm very aware that I would learn something interresting new. So this time, too.
And your nice collages visualizes the respective topics always very well. :-)

Hi @quantumg,
Thanks for your kind comment. 'Edu-collage' :)) I love it!
We work with what we have. In my case it's curiosity, which guides what I do. The aesthetics may be lacking somewhat, but there always is a story :))
I think your collage this week will go down in the LMAC Hall of Fame. I will study it, and the process GIF, to get a better understanding of how you use shadows.

Am so amaze how your collage always has a story crafted around them. Nice collage, I like especially the building on the field

Thank you, friend. I'm more a writer than an artist, so I always "see" the story in my head. I think an artist doesn't need that, but I do.
I appreciate your stopping by and commenting. My only comment so far!!

You're welcome, and you're still doing well with collage.

🌞🌟

Hello what a beautiful collage, you could not do the 20% of the collage community.

Thank you again, friend @cetb2008, for your help the other day. I felt comfortable asking you because you always come across as kind in your collages.
I designated @shaka as a beneficiary. He can get the Hive coins to LMAC without difficulty.
See you next week on LMAC, maybe. Meanwhile I hope you and your family are peaceful and well.

Hello this good friend, see you in the next collage. We are at your service so we are a community that grows every day.

🌟🌞 🌟

I really enjoy reading your publications my dear friend... you have a way of telling stories in a way that captivates.🤗

Hermoso collage🤩

Thank you for visiting my blog. I'm very happy you like my story. I love to write and to learn, so both things come together when I post a blog. The art...well, that's new for me. Hard and fun at the same time. I approach the task with modesty but enthusiasm and feel privileged to be able to 'play' with real artists (like you!).

I wish you good luck with your dramatic 'dragon' collage tomorrow!

Now interesting the research you did on Christina and the Magic Realism painters, AG @agmoore.

You transformed the concept of Andrew Wyeth's Christina's World into a happy place where Christina’s could reach new heights.

What a marvellous collage. I love how you incorporated her home and Wyeth into the picture.

!tip

Thank you very much, friend. It was a nice collage to make because, in my mind good things happened.
I'm so glad you liked my collage. It was simple, but did exactly what I wanted it to do. That usually doesn't work out :))
I appreciate your support. Maybe I'll see you this week on LMAC. The most amazing picture is up there. I'd love to see the Canadian interpretation :)

Thanks! I’ll checkout the latest LMAC.

Have a wonderful weekend dear AG.❤️

Please use https://peakd.com to send tips - because of HF24 tipU can not reliably send tips :(

Hello @agmoore.
I don't understand why I hadn't seen this collage. The publication you make is exquisite. I didn't know this painter.
Christina makes me think of Frida Kahlo and her disability.
I'm excited to read you!

Hello @marcybetancourt,
I'm glad to see you here. Writing the blog and making the collage was a rewarding experience for me. I certainly cannot change what happened to Christina Olson, but in my imagination, I gave her wings, and I enjoyed that.

Frida Kahlo. Admirable on so many levels. She does remind me of Christina, because she refused to be 'disabled'.

Thanks for your very kind words.
Regards,
AG

Exactly! Frida said, "What do I want my feet for if I have wings to fly..."
They were never disabled!