Do You Remember? (a short poem) | LET'S MAKE A COLLAGE: ROUND 89

LMAC-Round89.png

Hello everyone and welcome back to Let's Make a Collage ("LMAC"). My participation this week is for Round 89 of the contest. I was excited to see another landscape contest image as I'd been already working on other themes just for this type setting.

My theme for this LMAC Round 89 involves the term, CYBORG, coined by Manfred E. Clynes and American scientist and researcher, Nathan S. Kline in 1960. A Cyborg is an organism mixture created to restore and enhance the abilities of the normal human species through artificial or technology function that require some type of feedback.1

These machines were made up of both human and bionic components. The reason was to give the human aspect enhanced physical capabilities; and the machine component, human attributes.

This combination allowed the organisms to exist in both worlds. Normally, the physical appearance would be machines parts covered by human like tissue. The facade would give the resemblance of humans. The machine castings provided for increased protection against damage. Remember, The Six-Million Dollar Man. Then came the famous, The Terminator series.

Since the 1960s, introduction of science fiction ushered in the comic book and film industry's modeling of these human-robotic systems into characters in such a way that they've become household names.

Today, scientists and theorists contend that, according to some definitions of the term, the physical attachments that humans have with even the most basic technologies have already made us Cyborgs.

Think about this. In a typical example given by those theorists, a human with an artificial cardiac pacemaker or implantable cardioverter-defibrillator would be considered a Cyborg. Why? They argue that these devices measure voltage potentials in the body, perform signal processing, and can deliver electrical stimuli, using this synthetic feedback mechanism to keep that person alive. I never thought about the use of these devices would change our physical makeup.1

The theorists also argue that implants that combine mechanical modification with any kind of feedback response are also Cyborg enhancements. Some theorists have gone further to cite such modifications as contact lenses, hearing aids, smartphones, or intraocular lenses as examples of fitting humans with technology to enhance their biological capabilities. That's a bit of a stretch, but we never know what the future may hold.1

Well, according to the theory given above, I should be considered a Cyborg with enhanced physical capabilities since I had a Bunionectomy and now have an artificial insert. I think my procedure worked in reverse since the bone grew back and the pain intensified. I now experience weakened performance of my foot.

In adopting the Cyborg theme, my idea for this week's collage also includes a poem took shape that I'd like to share entitled Do You Remember When.

The poem entails a post apocalyptic world in which the technology surrounding the Cyborgs went awry. This theme is common in which those events left the world in chaos. But the special relationship one person carried with him for another remembered.

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

"Do you remember?"

Do you remember
when we first met.

Toward greatness was the course of the world;
You were my protector.
The stars skipped across the sky
each night as I read to you,
but you didn't understand?

Do you remember
when we were allowed to be companions;
the hot, summer days scorched our backs
as we tread water until twilight?

Do you remember
fun nights in my room;
the bubbles ran out;
the food induced indigestion;
and the soda tasked funny.

But, do YOU remember
the day the divergence occurred;
and the darkness came.
They told you we must end.
Distance yourself they warned,
for one day I would rise up
and destroy your existence.
You became my master;
I, merely your servant?

imageedit_2_3772890134.gif

Do you remember,
The thunderclaps roared
to all who could hear;
The levins released its bolts;
The sirens shrilled
announcing the afflictions;
The projectiles aimed without mercy
to all in their paths;
and;
The wheels of sanity veered toward destruction for all.

imageedit_11_5070577838.png

Do you remember,
the day I forbade you to return,
for in that hour my being understood...

And I ceased to be.

imageedit_8_2216963297.jpg

Do you remember?

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

To create the setting for my collage and poem, I started with the photograph provided by @shaka in his contest post: Let's Make a Collage - A Contest for All Creatives on Hive - Round 89 - ✨139 HIVE in the Prize Pool! 🏖 Final Round Before the LMAC Summer Break!.

The contest photo would serve as the "remembrance" part of the scene.

LMACRound89-OrigImage.jpg
Image used with permission of contest owner for contest

EmbellishedLine759648Resized.png

The background would serve as the "aftermath" of the story. I uploaded both the contest photo and my digital image into Canva. I utilize Canva to create my collage after purchasing an annual Pro Subscription. Included in my subscription are numerous features, including access to premium images, background removal, filters, and resizing.

Screenshot 2021-07-15 at 15-09-56 Copy of LMAC-Round89.png

Finally, I added the images below. The smaller image of the young boy reading the book served as the larger image as before and after versions once I removed the background.

LMAC-Round89-Images.png

text16.png

Screenshot 2021-07-16 at 01-58-45 LMAC-Round89.png
Screenshot of Canva application used to create collage for LMAC Round 89

Below is the final result and contest entry. Although I loved all the versions I produced, the image of the boy and Cyborg during the lightning storm is my favorite.

LMAC-Round89.png
Image created in Canva by @justclickindiva utilizing one of its free templates

NOTE. I produced other versions of my collage utilizing Lunapics to apply various filters.

Hope you like my collages. I'd like to hear which version of my filters are your favorite.

CONTEST RULES

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

It is imperative that you read the post LMAC School - Public Domain Picture sources (Free Materials for creating collages) by @quantumg, which discusses public domain issues and offers valuable information on images for commercial use. Links are included to sources that offer public domain images and other images that are free for commercial uses. Using public domain pictures and free pictures for commercial use are requirements for all collages that are submitted as entries in the LMAC contest.

What is Let's Make a Collage?It is a weekly photography and collage contest.
Who created the contest?@shaka is the contest owner.
What type of contest is it?This Contest utilizes a single photo provided by the contest owner as the basis for you to create your own photo collage by adding to the photo provided.
What are the rules?1. Use as your starting point for your collage the photography provided by the contest owner. It is located on the contest owner's post for free use without any copyright protection.
2. Entries need to be posted to the LMAC community and should contain a reference to this post.
3. By submitting your contribution you agree that your artwork remains public domain and that it can be copied, modified and distributed, even for commercial purposes, without requiring further permission.
4. Any graphical element that is added to the photography either needs to be your own original work (e.g. own artwork or photography) OR needs to derive from the public domain (having no copyright protection).
5. IMPORTANT: Indicate the source of all materials used in your accompanying post. Otherwise your entry can NOT be put up for the final vote.
6. All sort of editing, modification and/or manipulation is allowed as long as no copyright is affected.
7. Entries need to set the LMAC community account as 20% beneficiary to be eligible for the dynamic component of the prize pool.;
What do you win?Prizes listed on the contest owner's post.

@flaxz - @iamalivechallenge (Created a post for the LMAC Contest for my blog today.)

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

LMAC-Banner.jpg

B.I.S.S.-March-Sanwiteer.jpg

SilverBloggersLogo.jpg

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines.
f) Thumbnail Image created in Canva by @justclickindiva utilizing one of its free backgrounds.
1 "Cyborg." Wikipedia.org. Online at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cyborg

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

Sort:  

Lovely creation @justclickindiva. I liked them all, especially the one you selected for the contest. Nice work on your futuristic poem.

Thank you so much for visiting. It was hard to stay away from the dragons, but I gave them a rest this week. I appreciate your kind words. I loved your theme also of kindness in helping to protect our marine life.

Have a good rest of your day.

Most welcome @justclickindiva. Thank you for your kind comments.

Have a great day!🌸

A wonderful collage and a wonderful blog. So far, I'm not a cyborg--which at my age is a miracle in itself:) My husband just got an intraocular lens (cataract surgery), so I guess I live with a cyborg. A great cyborg movie: Robocop. Could have been a junk movie but Peter Weller imbues the character, tragically, with humanity

I really love your collage. Held my attention and made me look several times. Fascinating.

Hello @agmoore. How could I forget about Robocop . I loved those movies with a passion. Thank you so much for stopping by and taking the time to view my lengthy post. So happy to hear you liked my Cyborg interpretation.

I must tell my husband what is to become of him. He's also in talks for an intraocular lens later this year.

My intention was for the young boy, now older to attempt to revive the Cyborg by urging him to remember the good times they experienced together. All my time was taken up trying to get the bubbles from his memory out to his eye and back to the books that fascinated him years ago, lolol. I think I spent too much time on it until I just said, I'm finished. I'm done!

Take care and have a wonderful weekend. Stay safe.

The collage really did come out great...conceptual and visually appealing.

You stay safe also. Times are challenging all around.

Very nice post with the poem and all these variants of collage. I prefer the posted one. Wish you luck in the contest! 😎

Hello @seckorama. Thank you for visiting and viewing my collage and your nice compliment. So glad you liked my theme and my poem. I like the original version of the collage; but then I made the one with the lightning to signify doom and darkness. Thanks for your support.

Have a good rest of your Sunday and a good start to the week ahead.

You're welcome! If I like the content I comment on it and vote. 😎

hello, I really congratulate you for your great creativity and the excellent collage and the poem is great.

Thank you so much for your visit and kind words. So happy to hear you liked both my collage and poem. I appreciate your support. Have a good week ahead and stay safe.

Congratulations! You've been awarded a 100 percent upvote from The Creative Coin Fund.

Copy of Copy of Freewrite 40Day 1100 (1).png

Manual selection by @cliffagreen.

Hello @cliffagreen. Thank you so much for visiting my post and deciding to provide me a manual curation on behalf of @cccf. I appreciate the support and exposure for my collage and poem.

Have a great weekend ahead.

A Collage excelent! Thanks for your poem!

Hello. Thank you for your nice words for my efforts. I enjoyed researching and compiling the old and new aspect of my collage. So glad you liked my poem. I appreciate that you decided to Follow my Journey on Hive and for your support.

Hope to engage with you again soon. Take care.

Wow, that black and white version is amazing - it reminds me of something Dada - very cool

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to view my collage and poem. Happy to hear you liked the theme of my collage. It was fun delving into the post-apocalyptic world.

Have a good start to your weekend.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 65 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

¡Felicitaciones!


Has sido votado por @entropia

Estás participando para optar a la mención especial que se efectuará el domingo 18 de julio del 2021 a las 8:00 pm (hora de Venezuela), gracias a la cual el autor del artículo seleccionado recibirá la cantidad de 1 HIVE transferida a su cuenta.

¡También has recibido 1 ENTROKEN! El token del PROYECTO ENTROPÍA impulsado por la plataforma Steem-Engine.


1. Invierte en el PROYECTO ENTROPÍA y recibe ganancias semanalmente. Entra aquí para más información.

2. Contáctanos en Discord: https://discord.gg/hkCjFeb

3. Suscríbete a nuestra COMUNIDAD y apoya al trail de @Entropia y así podrás ganar recompensas de curación de forma automática. Entra aquí para más información sobre nuestro trail.

4. Visita nuestro canal de Youtube.

Atentamente

El equipo de curación del PROYECTO ENTROPÍA

Hola, excelente collage, excelente el poema, excelente que coloques el programa que utilizaste. Es un collage muy bien ejecutado.

untitled.gif

Hello @eve66. Thanks so much for stopping by and viewing my collage and poem. I'm happy you liked my theme. I like using a couple programs, including PowerPoint and Canva. I have yet to learn Photoshop. I'm trying the tutorials though. It seems daunting.

Take care.