Close encounter - LMAC 60

Unfortunately, I didn't have enough time to submit the collage on time. Even if I know that I'm out of the race for this round, I'll post my post anyway and wish all participants good luck. :-)

As always, a story first ...

Professor Albert Kalkstein, a great researcher in the field of marine biology, is busy working on a project in his underwater laboratory.
He really wants to prove to the world that there are no mermaids in the oceans.
While he is still calibrating the sensors, the computer reports an approaching object. The sensors indicate that it is an unknown life form.

His heartbeat is getting faster ... The excitement almost overwhelms him ... "Relax, old boy. You are a scientist!", he calms himself down.

He wants to finish calibrating the sensors quickly for better recognition of the object, so he enters the data as quickly as he can.
He's very focused right now and keeps both eyes fixed on the values ​​on the screen so that he cannot miss anything.

"x = 5, y = 32.441, z = 81.4, t = 44.241, ..." ... he whispers quietly to himself.

Meanwhile, the housefly, sitting on the left laboratory wall, observes a visitor as she comes closer and closer and finally observes the professor through the large laboratory window.
She does that for quite a while, but the professor doesn't even look up at her. He is too busy calibrating his sensors and looking at the data on the display.
However, the beautiful mermaid, who she really is, slowly get bored and so she swim away.

*BEEP* "The sensors can no longer detect the unknown object." ... the computer calls over the loudspeakers.

Professor: "Damn it, now it's gone. Anyway, it doesn't matter, it's probably just a boring school of fish or a sensor error."

My collage

This is my contribution for the LMAC Contest Round 60.
LMAC is a great community with weekly collage making competitions. Take a look and awaken the artist in yourself.

LMAC60Collage.jpg

Materials

The collage contains parts of multiple images. I took the two of them from Pixabay. The images are free to use. The other images are made by-myself in Blender, a 3D modelling tool. And except the background image, which was a template photo provided by @shaka.
I hand-painted the fences, rays and light & shadow.

Template by shaka

Template.png

Handmade materials

I created the laboratory, the scientiest and the devices in the laboratory by-myself in Blender and rendered it with the Cycles renderer.
The part of the collage behind the laboratory window was made in GIMP. Also light and color corrections were made in GIMP.

The Blender setup...

blender_gS7o0ZDHJs.jpg

The GIMP setup...

gimp2.10_0WjoQoL2l4.jpg

The computer screen textures made in GIMP...

Display.png

Hud.png

All the other textures (and model materials) are proceduraly generated. So it's created on the fly when rendering a 3D scene and cannot posted as image without further ado.

Images from Pixabay

The tail of the mermaid...
Pixabay link: Click

image.png

The body of the mermaid...
Pixabay link: Click

image.png

Creation process in one GIF

Unfortunately I can't deliver a GIF today. In the meantime, while creating the collage, I forgot to document the process too often. So I don't have enough artwork for a GIF.

Best regards
QuantumG

Sort:  

One of the things I look forward to every week is to see what you bring back. This collage is a good illustration of your story. I mean, both of them complete a humorous scene. The collage shows what the scientist doesn't see in the story.
I would like to thank you for the class about the masks. I don't know how I have been able to survive without knowing how to use them.
I hope that next week you can make it on time.
For now, thank you very much for your illustrated story and for the description of the process in this post so that we can learn!

Hello @quantumg::
I cannot see your collage :( but the story is wonderful. It is perfectly exquisitely ironic and also has a message for all of us. You are multi-talented. I wish I could see the collage but this is all I get LMAC60Collage.jpg

I am sorry that you can't see the picture. You may be able to see the newly uploaded image below?

LMAC60Collage.jpg

You are multi-talented.

That would be great. But let's rather agree on "multi-interested". It's not as easy for me as you might see sometimes in the results. :-D

Thank you very much, also for the Tip! :-)

Yes, I see it. You are amazing. I remember Louis Pasteur saying something to the effect that he owed his achievements not to genius but to hard work and determination. I never think it's easy for you. The effort in your pieces is evident. But you have vision and the skill to let us see what you see. That's your talent.
As for your story writing skills. Really, they are good. I know something about that. You always have an interesting idea, delivered with a bit of humor (or irony). And there is an absence of vanity in your stories. You just speak to the reader. (Forgive me for offering an assessment: this is an area in which I actually do have formal education--I get enthusiastic when see good stuff.)

Congratulations on a well-deserved win.

You have a very good imagination to create stories in your works, I imagine that you first imagine the story and the scene before making the collage, right? I see that you are an expert in the program you use. Very good work my friend and I wish you luck!

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you very much! Really apreciated! @mballesteros!

... I imagine that you first imagine the story and the scene before making the collage, right?

That's right. It is probably my personal creation neurosis, but I always have to tell my story in my head first. The story then quickly becomes its very own dynamic and creates the whole scene in my imagination.
Sometimes the story is so powerful that it even creates a whole new world. It often gets then out of control that I'm no longer able to create what I imagine. Because, you could tell just a story or you let the story tell. But last one not easily comes to an end.
So much for the downsides. However, these downsites have also some advantages. They force me to learn and when I get lost in work I learn a lot. Even if it is never finished. ^__^

I see that you are an expert in the program you use.

Please believe me, I'm really not.
I'm driven by fun and curiosity.
While I'm still working on a project, I always push the boundaries of my abilities. I come into every work as a student, to leave it as a master, only to be a student again in the next work. Often I don't even know how to do something until the task forces me to learn it.
I'm just a very interested newbie and so curious about what is possible. :-)

Well, in my case as I don't have as good an imagination as you, I start placing and removing images until I get some form, or it depends on the day, if I have good inspiration. 😁 Greetings and have a nice day!🤗

This one really stood out amongst all the others, for me. My thoughts immediately turned to Captain Nemo, and 80,000 Leagues Under the Sea. It all brought back childhood. Love it!

Thank you very much! :-)

Now that you mention it... Maybe I was subconsciously inspired by Nemo's stories. :-D

With merely some 40 minutes behind the deadline it would feel quite pedantic to me not to admit your collage to the contest. The hard deadline really is when the post for the final poll is submitted and I took up entries which made it just before in a few occasions in the past already. I'm confident that our community will be ok with that.

Great work as usual!
Cheers!

Oh yep! Completely agree! 👍 This is a great work, beside Quantum is a good person and a great master! 😁

It seems I was very lucky to have such a nice admin in my most beloved community. Thank you very much! :-)

You have used the Hashtag #CC and can now reward 6 comments under your post with one CC.

More information about the Commentcoin-Project can be found on this account.
You can easily add an upvote to this post to support the project.
Thanks for using it.

Happy comments.
Your CC-Team:
@kristall97 ([Code-Designer, Witness])
@alucian ([Project-Designer])

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Luck!!!

He looks ike the professor from an animated cartoon the kids watch congrats on the second place

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Muchas gracias! Me alegro de que no se sintiera decepcionado después de esperar. :-)

(Tengo que admitir que esta vez utilicé el Google-Translate.)

Está muy bien la traducción! 👌