I Said Ok Boomer and Listened

in Project HOPE4 years ago



The phrase "ok boomer" has a very different meaning than what I'm about to talk about here. Conventionally, "ok boomer" is a rather derogatory term given to those of that generation. However, as much as I disagree with them in a lot of things. I have to say that one of my best decisions came from listening to boomers.

Ok Boomer meaning: What does the phrase actually mean?

Image source

Placing Lost Hopes and Dreams on Me

I was one of the youngest to get into my current workplace. While some of them ignored me, some of them start talking to me. For some reason, they saw me as a vessel for all their missed opportunities and lost dreams. From my conversation with them, there were two points that were very important decisions in my life. The first was to buy a property as soon as I can and the second was to pursue my doctorate as fast as I can as well.

Why Buy a House Early?

I think one of the assumptions that many of my peers have is that as they work and as they grow older, they will be able to buy a house eventually. The problem with that idea, as my Boomer colleagues told me, was that your pay will never be able to catch up to inflation nor the price of those houses. As such, they recommended that I leveraged my age and get a loan with better terms.

I was skeptical initially, how can I afford the monthly repayment with my salary? I wondered if it was just an impossible dream that they have. It wasn't until they told me to not overthink it was I able to make that fateful move. Plus, I did not have to worry about landlords raising my rent or getting evicted for no reason. 

Studying For My PhD

Is doing a PhD a waste of time?

Image source

As much as I disliked the experience, I am grateful to have gone for it at this age. It allowed me time with my children, time away from work and it led me to discover Steemit and Hive. The thing about a PhD goes with the age-old phrase of "better to have it and not need it than to have it and need it". This rings true and while I am not sure why I would need one...For now... I do think that in the long run, it may prove to be rather beneficial. So wait I shall and let's see how things go from here.

Furthermore, with our culture being ever more focused on one's qualifications, it does make sense to upskill myself as much as possible. 

Conclusion

With how things are going on with our world these days, I think there are some wisdom to be gleaned from those who have far more experience. True, not all of those experience is relevant to this day and age, but the essence of it in my opinion is rather timeless. After that many years, I'm glad I've said "ok boomer" and meant it. 



Sort:  

Congratulations @alvinauh! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 75000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 80000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz Ranking update - New key indicators
 4 years ago  

Hi @alvinauh

I think after reading your publication I also think that I am an "Ok Boomer" that experience that you lived for happened to me almost the same as me. I also had good advice on the matter and also managed to buy my house despite the salary I had at the time.

Happy day for you

Thanks for stopping by. Yes, one of the best advice I've received, unfortunately we don't get to learn about this from school and its a great thing to have people with experience explain it to us

Post has been upvoted as a courtesy of NeverPowerDown program from the PH community