9 Suggestions and 4 Tools for Your Future Profession, Writing

in Project HOPE4 years ago (edited)

0024 typewriter-407695_640 Pixabay1.jpg

Do you know who you are? You are a blogger if you are posting regularly on Steemit (Steempeak, Steemleo, Partiko or any other frontend). Blogging is a relatively new science or profession. You can do it as a hobby, but you can make it better if you know its rules and secrets. I’m sure. We see so many bad posts on Steemit, let’s lift the mean, let’s improve our writing skills!

You don’t have to pay for an expensive writing course. You can use some free tools and learn a lot from them. Let’s go to the point.

1. Nobody Uses Grammar Check?

I made a little experiment: I chose six different, aleatory – but relatively good – posts on Steemit, curated by Project Hope. I put them in the Grammarly grammar checking system. The result was: no one of the authors used the system. Because there were a lot of errors detected. The worst post got only 50 percent. That means, 50 percent of the users of Grammarly made fewer errors than this one. The best post had 84 percent. (All results: 84, 82, 50, 79, 71, 78.)

I think some people aren’t even using spellchecking in their word processing software. Others aren’t using the benefits of Grammarly and similar services (another example: LanguageTool). I use Grammarly for about a year or so. Sure, it is no wonder potion. Ultimately, I have an initial score of 75-85, approximately, which I can elevate to 90-95 with this program. That makes a clear difference.

2. Grammar, Everywhere

Grammarly and LanguageTool exist also as browser extensions. That can correct the errors we would make by commenting posts, or responding to e-mails, using other forms, input windows.
Update: I forgot to mention that LanguageTool works in different languages, not only English.

0024 Do you know who-LanguageTool.jpg
Commenting with LanguageTool browser add-on. (On Steempeak.com)

3. Ever Heard of “Readability”?

Grammar is one issue, readability is the other. I get sick if I see a long post with pure text, no subheadings, no pictures, no other visual elements of it. Subheadings have also the benefit to inform the reader what is you are writing about. Some busy people don’t read the posts but read headings, summaries, conclusions.

My Readability Suggestions:

  1. Don’t use too long and too complicated sentences (use the Hemingway app to correct this type of errors).
  2. After every 3-4 sentences, use a new paragraph.
  3. After every 2-3 paragraphs, use a new subheading (H2 in HTML or ## in markdown language). (Never use H1, this is for the main heading only.)
  4. Use lists whenever possible, readers like lists very much. Like this one.
  5. Use at least one picture after every 2-3 subheadings, depending on the length of your post. It is better if the picture is related to the content and has a caption (description or comment) below it.
  6. Use a lead, or introduction (or summary) at the beginning.
  7. At the end of long posts, also a conclusion or summary.

4. Use Title Case Rules

In English, headings have their own case rules, also the subheadings. Main words begin with upper case, but some words, don’t. See Titlecase tool to learn it.

The structure of the ideal post:


H1: Main Heading (automatically marked)

PICTURE

Lead/Introduction/summary: Text text text text text text text text text text text text text text text text text text text text text text

Normal text normal text normal text normal text normal text normal text normal text normal text …

H2 Subheading

Normal text normal text normal text normal text normal text normal text normal text normal text …

H2 Subheading

Normal text normal text normal text normal text normal text normal text normal text normal text …

Conclusion or summary

Links, attributions, credits


Two more suggestions:

  1. I know SEO (search engine optimization) seems not to be very important on Steem, but it may be important for the future. Your posts should have at least 400 words or some more, otherwise, Google won’t index them.
  2. Use quotes (“”, or > sign) and the proper links, attributions to respect the copyrights of others.

Please, Visit My Personal Finance Site, Ageless Finance!

This post appeared first on Turboyield.net.

(Picture: Pixabay)

Sort:  

Nice writing skill should be developed constantly and there should always be room for improvement, nice post buddy.

Thank you.

Resteemed already. Upvote on the way :)

I think one way to write extensively without issue is by having a great idea on the subject topic.
I will take your corrections to heart wherever required on work on them. Cheers

Thank you very much for sharing this beautiful information, I will improve my skills in writing with this.

Very good.

 4 years ago  

Hi @deathcross
Thank you for the recommendations.
The first thing I did was download the Grammarly plug-in and save the LanguageTool page.

I think that with these tools I will improve my grammar.

Saludos.

I forgot to mention that LanguageTool works in different languages, not only English.

 4 years ago  

Some solid advises @deathcross :)

I know SEO (search engine optimization) seems not to be very important on Steem, but it may be important for the future. Your posts should have at least 400 words or some more, otherwise, Google won’t index them.

Ehm. Are you sure?

based on my knowledge, google will index posts depending on their no_follow status. And this one is changing (on steemit) depending on post reward. So those posts with small rewards will never be indexed anyway.

That's what I've learned from @achim03

Yours, Piotr

I meant posts on "normal" internet, see:
https://yoast.com/blog-post-length/
I was wrong, maybe 300 words is the limit.

You know, I suffer because of Grammar mistakes and I make a lot, not able to correct them, so I am not a professional content writter, only a recreational one at Steemit, and publishx.

Luckily, here posts are like not looked like how commercial writing jobs actually demand.

I have been looking to use grammerly. I do a lot of writting lately and always looking to get professional treatment with payment and all, lost hope on it.

Steemit did help me cheer up a lot, thanks to so many people liking my travel stories and even you of late, reading my really long economy related articles.

I am definitely going to use grammerly, it's free right, basic one, plus will work on making things shorter and more interesting.

I see finance writing is harder, to make it look interesting and less intimidating, but will look into it.

I used to do story writing but somewhere, too much creativity is involved there and at one point, it will cease to be interesting. I admire writters like JJR Tolkien and Harry Potter writter, for writing amazing stories, novels, complete with plot.

Normal, subject witting is easier that way, once we have knowledge on it.

Great tips and article. I really needed to hear that use Grammerly, it's high time to do so!! , loved this read, thankyou for sharing. I am so glad I read it before the post gets old and won't qualify for receiving upvotes.

Thank you.
Book or novel or story writing is another profession, but you can learn it. I found so many good blogs about blogging, I'm sure there are also a lot about fiction writing. Search for them.

I don't intend to write fiction... until inspiration stikes. I don't even read fiction these days, only non-fiction.

I don't know, sorry, I got this link of the Hive and I'm using it.

I don't know, sorry,
I got this link of the Hive
And I'm using it.

                 - deathcross


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

My name is Jesus Christ and I do not condone this spamming in my name. Your spam is really fucking annoying @hiroyamagishi aka @overall-servant aka @olaf123 and your spam-bot army. This is not what my father, God, created the universe for. You must stop spamming immediately or I will make sure that you go to hell.

If anybody wants to support my eternal battling of these relentless religion spammers, please consider upvoting this comment or delegating to @the-real-jesus