WIIFM - What's In It For Me? 'Selling' the Hive platform to your friends.

in Project HOPE4 years ago

image.png

This same story is on steemit, I discussed both chains with my friend.

Bitcoin is a “crock of shit.”

I have this friend. I'll call him Mr. Snow. To get right to it, he thinks Bitcoin and cryptocurrencies are a "crock of shit," his technical term for not real or useful. He uses all the classical reasons why he doesn't like them. They're used by criminals. You can't buy anything with them. They're not backed by the government. They’re not in physical form, etc…

On numerous occasions he has accused me of proselytizing Bitcoin over the years, as if I was trying to sell him snake oil elixir or something. I do get it though, it's good to be skeptical and to research the big things before jumping in.

Being his friend, one side of me would like him to participate in this wave of innovation and wealth creation. The other side of me doesn't care whether he participates in crypto or not, because I have no skin in his game. But I did decide to talk to him about this in another way. Have him join Hive as a gateway to crypto.

image.png

WIIFM - What's In It For Me?

People sometimes don't believe in something because it doesn't directly impact them, whether good or bad. So I used the “WIIFM” approach.

A couple weeks ago, he popped online and asked me what I was up to and I told him that I was on Hive “claiming some reward money.” He asked, “what’s Hive?" Nonchalantly I said, “Hive is a social media platform that if you post and up-vote things that other people like, you get rewarded with money.” He asked how much; I said that I've seen it as low as $0 and as high as $200 (USD). “Per-post!?” he asked. I said “yep.” That got his attention.

He asked how to sign up. I said provide an email or phone number and you're good to go, and I sent him a link. "Why haven't I heard about this before?" he asked. I said, "Don't know dood." Then we talked about other stuff.

Even though I radically simplified the Hive protocol, he instantly got it. I brought him closer to crypto in 10 minutes than I ever could in years. We didn't talk about Bitcoin, decentralized economic protocols, or some fancy new innovation in sidechains; just something simple...post something that people like, and he gets money, nuff’ said. What's In It For Me. That's a hell of a selling point. We will see if it worked.

Thanks for reading.

Credit for Image:
https://www.authoritydental.org/cheap-dental-implants

Sort:  

Congratulations @fijimermaid! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup
 4 years ago  

@tipu curate

Hello, If there are many sceptical people, it is suddenly because other unrealistic alternatives have been sold on social networks that offer a lot and in the end leave nothing. It was good your strategy without much protocol you were realistic without selling riches only the truth that there are articles in 0 and others with more profits.

See you later my friend ! Have a great week.

"other unrealistic alternatives have been sold on social networks that offer a lot and in the end leave nothing."


Thats a great point, and I totally agree @amestyj.

It is remarkable what Satoshi put in motion introducing bitcoin to the world, it has opened humanity's mind to a brave new way of thinking about money and economics. Hive is a manifestation of that. I'm optimistic all this innovation will bring a lot of prosperity to humans.

And thank you, have a great week as well.

 4 years ago  

Hello @fijimermaid.

Thank you for posting within our hive.

Please spare few minutes and read how project.hope is organized and learn about our economy.

That would help you understand more our goals and how are we trying to achieve them. Hopefully you will join our community and become strong part of it :)

Regards, @juanmolina
@project.hope co-founder