IS YOUR REALITY THE SAME AS MINE.?

in Project HOPE4 years ago (edited)

Hey, guys, how you doing? Today I want to talk about a very interesting topic in my opinion, it's about the different realities in society today. As we all know the world is going through economic chaos, many countries are bankrupt or rather financially unbalanced.

I want to talk specifically about these Latin countries as it is from them that I know many realities.

image.png

Source

Today with the quarantine many people have been affected, either because they became unemployed, because their businesses no longer sell the same or because they were victims of the virus. The truth is that in general we have been affected in one way or another.

All of this has led to increased levels of crime, violence, stress, anxiety levels, depression, suicides, and of course unemployment. These are states that few talk about but for most people they are a reality. Mental illnesses are present in many families, many try to cover the sun with a finger but the reality is different.

image.png

Source

Many have had to go out into the streets to sell candy, bags, food, and even their own bodies in order to bring home some money. For others it is very easy to simply criticize because they do not share the same thought, but the truth is that hunger makes you do many things. In Venezuela in particular there are people dying of hunger, cases of malnutrition are very high in a large part of the population.

Not to mention crime, which is our daily bread. I don't justify it obviously but I don't share it either. Of course, there are those who do it for work and then there are those who do it out of real need. Sometimes it's better to think what that person went through to get there, or what his current situation will be that he was forced to steal for example.

There are many realities that we don't know...

image.png

Source

An example of this is the explosion that happened recently in Colombia, specifically in the old town community, many will think that these people were doing there, because they were stealing this gasoline, some will see it as vandalism, but someone has asked how these people live? How do these people live? Do they have work, water, electricity, food? SURELY NOT!

I return and repeat that I do not justify an act like this, but I can understand that in a situation of hunger and desperation to have to feed a family a person is capable of doing such a thing. The situation here in Colombia is not easy either, there is too much poverty and unemployment, you can see that I am in the capital and I don't want to imagine what it will be like in rural areas.

For that and many other reasons I think it is best to inform ourselves before criticizing a situation or a person, since we do not know their realities.

Thanks for reading me!!

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

We encounter different things in our different environment, these things goes a long way in determining who we are. Our environment is our reality and it defines us, not only our way of life.

You're so right, buddy, thanks for stopping by!

Without a doubt, it is a very interesting subject and always very urgent to be discussed.

Your text is very good, @franyeligonzalez and I'm unfortunately still very skeptical (although I keep the hope of change alive) about an egalitarian world... However, I try to do my part to help.

Hello dear friend, thank you for commenting, I think there are many people who need great help!