Financial Distress - Pride before the Fall

in Project HOPE4 years ago

debtship.png

How time flies

My first administration job was back around 1995. It was a shitkicking job of data entry & accounts receivable; invoicing customers & chasing payments.
It was my first real world interaction to back up my acadamic studies. I was extremely shy and had been working in factories for 3 years after my schooling finished.

A charismatic guy from across the road, worked for our Customs broker. He was friendly, positive & genuinely a good person.

Fast forward some 20 years, I bumped into him again at a cafe. He was still his amicable self. He even introduced my business into his workplace, helping me build my business. He asked nothing in return. I always felt I endebted to his kindness.

I rang him this week, as I hadn't spoken to him for a cople of years.

No footholds

I had thought that the phone call would be a pleasant one.. it wasn't.

My friend had lost his job due to the covid. The economy is locked down and there are not many jobs available.

He has been using his credit cards to pay his expenses. Always hoping that he would find a way out.

Now, he is $100,000 credit card debt. Something, that took some conversation for him to finally admit to.

End of his tether

The pressure he feels is tremendous. He has been trying to withdraw his retirement funds to pay off his debt. An action that would leave him destitute in his old age.

He said, "Alot of other people would have committed suicide at this point."

A comment like that is distressing. He is having a reality check. His circumstances are now dire.

One Good Turn Deserves Another

Here I now see it is time to help him. To find a way for him to navigate theirs difficult waters.

It is his ship to sail. However, every Captain needs a reliable Navigator.

I've reached out to him & sent him some links of how, I believe, he should set his course.

I have made myself available next week for him. I will call him tomorrow to set up a game plan. I feel he needs support and my experience with credit control will come in handy.

Let us hope that we can find the best outcome.

To anyone suffering in silence. Please, reach out to those who love and care about you.

Sort:  

Is it a real story?

Yes. It was a shock to me. He went through a divorce and lost his assets a few years ago (a very cruel trick that his ex did to him). But the previous time I'd spoken to him, he was moving forward with his life.
I was thinking last night that he might have an addiction to take up such debt.
🤔

Ok.. interesting

Una historia muy conmovedora ... Que suerte encontrar personas con esa hospitalidad

Thank you. I do hope he reaches out to professional services to find a path to reduce his burden.

that is something that people do not realize but both good and evil return and it is better to sow friendships, that in the future you can help is part of being grateful to god and life.

Congratulations @jagged! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 73000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 74000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup