Getting back to basics

in Project HOPE4 years ago

image.png

I got to enjoy the sunny Winter's day by walking down to the local park and bounce my basketball around.

It's been a while since I did this basic activity.

I've apparently been too busy. That's the thing with adult life - you get sidetracked from what you really enjoy. Maybe that's what makes up a midlife crisis. The point where a person has been routined so much that they just snap.

While I was bouncing the ball around, shooting with mixed success, it just felt good. It got me in the zone. The only thing missing was some other people around to play some 1-on-1 or 2-on-2.
I do enjoy very much an impromptu match with others who just want to have some competitive fun.

image.png

A few years ago, one of my brothers, I have 2 brothers, took a heap of stuff to sell at the market.
We sold everything except this suitcase & a bunch of books inside.
My father asked me if I wanted it. I said, "Yeah." and took the musty smelling old suitcase home.

Inside was a bunch of books that I could not believe we intended to sell. I am so glad that they weren't sold. They have brought back a heap of great memories of a different version of me. The younger version. It was great to have this feeling just rise up within me & to want to relive those moments all of these decades later.

Let me share with you one of these books;

image.png

I love ants. I have since I was 8 years old.

This book was either given to me, or I found it, because of this love.

It's a story about a colony of ants trying to survive against several challenges. There are ants with different names, personalities & back stories.

One of the endearing characters was a smaller ant, some thought to have been a male, as all ants are female except for the male's who are only used for mating. This ant's name is, Still One, as tells parables at certain times in the book. These parables are one of the reasons that I liked this book so much.

I see that I have dog eared the pages that have the parables.

image.png

There was a tiny seedling in the ground on the side of a mountain. And in the spring it began to grow. But close beside it on the mountain stood a rye-grass stem. And it saw the seedling growing and it said, "Who are you to grow in my space? That I will not allow." And it spread its blades and cut off the sun from the seedling, and the seedling withered and died. But beside the grass stem stood a fern. And the fern saw the grass stem spread its blades and it said, "Who are you to spread your leaves in my space? That I will not allow." And it spread its fronds, and cut off the sun from the grass stem, and the grass stem withered and died. But beside the fern stood a hawthorn bush, and beside the hawthorn bush stood an ash tree, and beside the ash stood a huge elm. And each one spread its branches to cut off the sun from the one beneath so that all below the elm withered and died. But then the mountain on whose side all these had grown saw the elm spread its branches and said, "Who are you to kill all the plants which grow on my slopes? That I will not allow" And the mountain cast its shadow and cut off the sun from the elm, and it sent down its waters to tear at the roots of the elm, and it hurled down its rocks to beat at the trunk of the elm, and the elm tumbled and perished. And then the sun looked down and saw that there was nothing left growing on the mountain on which to cast its warmth. And so it departed the heavens, and there was darkness everywhere.

Get back to basics. Enjoy.

Sort:  

It's a strange thing with books, sometimes they can stay in memory all your life, if they have made a impression when you read it. They can even shape your way of thinking. I also have some books from decades ago, that I would never give away. Its something different to other old stuff, like a old chair or so.

yes, and re-reading them, can bring a whole new interpretation between your mind then until now. :)

Yes, that can happen. But I found this more with old movies, which I had in memory as really amazing - but when I watched then again now, after a long time, I was much less impressed. :)

A movie like the original WestWorld is still good today tho :)

Its not all old movies , of course. But I had it, that I watched a movie which I saw as a teenager before, and I remembered as really great - and I found its silly now. I don't remember what exactly it was, only that I was really surprised about why I would have liked this in the past.

@jagged wow I like the words articulation you have used. And yes everyone like old memories they are the best part of life which make people happy.

actually many people won't be coming to park due to corona virus so maybe you would see people for your 1 v 1 after this panademic gets over hope so .

yes, i live in a "hotspot" so people are being extra cautious.

Hello @jagged

Thank you for posting within our hive.

Please spare few minutes and read how project.hope is organized and learn about our economy.

That would help you understand more our goals and how are we trying to achieve them. Hopefully you will join our community and become strong part of it :)

Do you use telegram or discord? If you do then join our server and give me a shout. I would gladly share with you goals of our community and introduce to others from our team.

Our discord server: https://discord.gg/uWMJTaW

Yours,
@project.hope team,

Congratulations @jagged! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 59000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive community is in mourning. Farewell @lizziesworld!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 4 years ago (edited) 

@tipu curate


Welcome to PH (project.hope) community :)

Hope to hear more from you in the future.

ps. check out comment from project.hope and cyu on our discord.
Cheers, Piotr (ph founder)