“My Favourite Things” – pandemic version” by Maria and the Von Trapplings / Shirley Șerban … (Parody / Satire – Music to Your Ears, Mock’n’Roll–26)

in Project HOPE4 years ago

Simple pleasures – like having a well-stocked bar and avoiding stupid workplace dramas.

“My Favourite Things” – Global pandemic version   (2020)

Taken from the musical “The Sound of Music,”  the original “My Favourite Things”  is an eternal classic, meant to cheer up children who are suffering through dark times. Times that are supposed to be filled with the joys of childhood and youthful adventure. 

For Kids of All Ages 

This updated “Covid 19 version”  is obviously intended to cheer up adults as well as kids.

It reminds us grown-ups that we too can continue to enjoy our favourite things.

Simple pleasures like having “a nice stocked-up bar,”  avoiding those stupid “old workplace dramas,”  and, above all, not “keeping up with the Kardashians.”   (Image source)

Maria and her Von Trapplings (Shirley Șerban) 

Shirley Șerban is a school principal in New Zealand. She also dabbles in writing songs and lyrics for children. 

Principal Creativity  

As the Covid lockdown kept her from her principal activities, she has realized that her “creative juices have time to flow.”  As a result, she composed clever parodies of “Do Re Mi”  and“My Favourite Things.”

(I could not find any info on the tuneful little Von Trapplings, but we can safely assume that they are Kiwi schoolkids who benefit from Shirley’s guidance and “creative juices.” )   (Image source)

Lazy days
No work clothes
Nice stocked-up bar
Watching old movies
And raiding the kitchen

Browsing online, I can fuel my addiction
Staying in bed, having no alarms ring
Nothing to do, it’s my favourite thing

Who can be lonely with Netflix – there’s oodles!
Stuffing my face with chips, lollies, and noodles
Wild parties, singing, and living like kings
Being in lockdown is my favourite thing

Playing Grand Theft Auto with guns and car crashes
Not doing make-up or curling eyelashes
We hate Corona with all it brings
But staying at home is my favourite thing

Lazy long nights
Days not working
Home is not too bad
I simply do all of my favourite things
And then I don’t feel so sad.

Food stops and dozes, and dressing gown fashion
Hours of keeping up with the Kardashians
Using House Party and having a fling
Self-isolation – my favourite thing

Not caring whether it’s Monday or Friday
Every day’s special cause every day’s MY day!
Not shaving my legs, not curling my hair
Showers, who needs them? – I don’t have to care

Stuff getting dressed – I’m staying in my pyjamas
Happily laughing at old workplace dramas
We need a vaccine as soon as can be
But until then, this is perfect for me!

Lazy long nights …

        Julie Andrews, and a bunch of kids– “My Favourite Things”   
          (Right-click to hear on YouTube)


Lyrics by
Shirley Șerban, courtesy of – YouTube
Reference – Shirley Șerban
Reference –
YouTube


Into your ears … through 5 channels


 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels 
(Right-Click to see details)
1 –
“Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
2 –
“Cover Versions”
3 –
“Honor Roll”
4 –
“Documentaries”
5 –
“Mock’n’Roll”




More “Mock’n’Roll” ...


         
Mock’n’Roll – Music to Your Ears "Posts 1~20"  

Links to my other series ...



         
Lou Reed –
"Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
Lou Reed –
"Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"




Great Lyrics, a compilation –
“Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
Great Lyrics, a compilation –
“Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  



  
Vocab-Ability –
"Introduction to Vocab-Ability"
Vocab-Ability –
"Index"  to all Chapters and Sections



Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
Notes from Under the Tatami Mats –
"Part Two – Notes 51~87"































Sort:  

Congratulations @majes.tytyty! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 61000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 62000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience
 4 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment