How Can I Improve My Creativity?

in Project HOPE3 years ago (edited)

image.png

I have a lot of difficulties writing stories. Maybe it's because I'm writing science fiction, I'm not sure. I can write in any case, but my writing becomes dull if my mind is not in the form that day. A story, a novel, an e-mail, or a presentation do not create excitement if it does not contain glitters of intelligence.

Over the years I've been studying literature, I have gradually figured out what circumstances I wrote better. I've done a lot of research on how to improve my creativity. I've tried many different ways, I've used those that worked for me, and I've abandoned those that didn't. I actually use the methods listed below to keep my mind in form. I can not guarantee that you will benefit from all of them, but at least a few of them will certainly work for you.

Nutrition

During my research, I realized that almost all of the recommendations in healthy life recipes are useful for the mind. A balanced diet, plenty of water consumption, adequate sleep, regular life, exercise, etc. When it comes to creativity, one expects to encounter more mysterious, miraculous information. Those magical moments when the supreme being called "the artist" meets the soul of inspiration. As I understand it, the inventors and artists are trying to position themselves in a different place than ordinary mortals like us by adding a mystical atmosphere to the creation process. While respecting their work, I approach the subject from a materialistic point of view. If you ask uncle Google about vitamins and minerals that support the brain, you can find detailed information on the subject. My mental performance has increased dramatically after I started taking vitamin supplements. Of course, the practice needs to be done in consultation with a doctor.

Pre-loading Our Minds

image.png

Creativity stems from the subconscious, as we all know. We find the right solution due to a subconscious reaction in those great "eureka" moments. In our subconscious, the necessary components must be ready to realize the reaction that we desire. Therefore, it is impossible to reveal a creative idea or concept without the information preloaded into our minds. Whatever area we want to exhibit creativity in, we need to have cumulated expertise.

Walking

German scholars have a habit of discussing academic issues by walking together in the countryside. I didn't witness it personally, but it sounded really cool to me when I heard it. This walk can be done with friends, colleagues or can be done alone. Writing something about creativity came to my mind during my long walk yesterday.

Coffee and water

Coffee, which is the best friend of creative people, helps increase mental performance by increasing attention and focus. It's fun to drink.

The brain is a wet organ. It needs plenty of water to work properly. I am far from drinking 2-3 liters of water a day as prescribed in healthy life recipes, but I still try to drink plenty of water. I think it is beneficial.

Location Change

When I write novels, there are times when I don't know how to proceed. You know that your existing solutions are not enough, but you don't have a new solution. I go to a coffee shop and work there in a situation like this. As the venue has changed, my perspective also changes, and my writing becomes much more authentic.

I also realized that I have a lot of new ideas in my travels. The journey makes my mind come alive.

Sports and Arts

Doing activities in areas other than your subject of expertise is causing the mind to revive. When you're doing things like sports or art, it's like a window opened in a thoroughly polluted room. I guess it's not a waste of timer for parents to carry their kids to sport and art courses on weekends.

Madman, Architect, Carpenter, Judge

While performing a creative activity, you have to wear madman, architect, carpenter, and judge hats, respectively. It is essential not to mix the phases and to take on only one identity at each stage. You have to be a madman at first. If you don't like the idea of being a madman, you could be a kid. Being a mad kid might even be the best. Make sure you're not censoring yourself, roaming freely in the countryside. And note everything that comes to mind. Edit this material at the next stage as an architect. Then compose your work as patiently as a carpenter, according to the plan drawn by the architect. In each stage, your judge will try to whisper your flaws and irrationalities to your ear. Tell him to wait his turn. Finally, let the judge come in and do his duty.

Taking Notes

No matter how strong it is, don't rely on your memory. Note the ideas that come to mind. Or you could have said goodbye to that idea forever.

Limiting Yourself

The human mind becomes more creative when it is limited. Brainstorming sessions are therefore more productive when the subject's frame is well-drawn and the time is limited.

Working Hard

It's kind of like fatherly advice, but creativity is not possible without hard work. The role of talent in creative performance is far less than it is thought.

Resting

When the brain is constantly working without rest, it's finally turning to mush, and the thoughts are becoming mediocre. So if you claim to do creative work, you need to rest your brain at least a day per week. In the meantime, adequate and regular sleep should not be neglected.

These are the methods I've been trying to apply regularly. You can share your creativity tips in the comments section.

Thanks for reading.

Image Sources: https://pixabay.com/ and https://unsplash.com and https://giphy.com

Sort:  

This is one amazing post to see today, actually, every method you mentioned is really really helpful in many ways of being productive, living a better life, and being more creative for sure, and from my experience with the ones I tried, I can tell they can improve the creativity very well.

Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for the feedback 😎

Yay! 🤗
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points.
Continue earning Points just by using https://ecency.com, every action is rewarded (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).

Support Ecency, check our proposal:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Points Boosting refund to @muratkbesiroglu! 🤓
Due to one of these reasons:
1. Post is not published via Ecency.
2. Post is already curated by our team.
3. Post is not curated by our curators within 24 hours.
4. Post might be too old post, try more recent content.
5. Author already received vote in last few hours, try again later.
Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency