In your strive to satisfy customers, never go overboard.

in Project HOPE4 years ago

I am sure you know that the process of growth is usually difficult, but do you know what happens when you try to jump any one of them?

images (11).jpeg

Image credit

I apologize to my readers if I bore you too much with entrepreneurial issues but I just feel it's great that I stick to what I know how to do.
As a business owner, I don't know if you have experienced anyone coming to tell you about how you need to get something's done at your business place.
A lot of people do not have an idea as to what entrepreneurs are going through but all customers want is that they should be satisfied at all cost.

images (12).jpeg

Image credit

I know I have told you on several occasions never to take your customers for granted and to respect them properly by giving them the satisfaction they require, but I want to tell you today that you should never allow customers push you faster than you want to move,(don't get me wrong).
It is good to listen to customer's complaints and act on them as fast as you can, but there are certain customers that do not understand the process of growth and the only message they understand is satisfaction.

Sometimes customers demand that you get this and that to your store, you should get them if you have the financial capacity but if you do not have the capacity, respectfully tell them you will get it as soon as you can.
There was a time a customer asked me to get a particular product for him, I didn't have the financial capacity to get that product at that time but I did not want to loose the customer, so I borrowed some money and I quickly ordered for the product required.
I called the customer to inform him that I had gotten the required item, he promised to stop by and pick it up immediately but I never saw him.
I called him on several occasions but he only kept on promising and I never saw him, so I stopped calling. It took me addition three (3) months to sell that particular item.
That experience was disheartening but it also taught me certain lessons about business.

Do you know a customer came to request for an item one day and I respectfully told her we could not afford it at the moment, she immediately started ranting and she immediately reminded me of the fact that my business has been existing for over a year so I have no excuse to give.

However, no matter how angry this customer made me feel, I did not over react when I saw him the next time he came.
Here are tips to help you deal with customers that are difficult and seem to make your effort look useless:

  • No matter how the situation seem, try to put yourself in the customer's shoes, this was one of the things that calmed me down while I was angry in the first story above, I tried to imagine that the customer might not have the financial ability any longer and his ego might not make him admit that fact.
    Always have it at the back of your mind that, all people want to see is result, they are not interested in the process.

  • Irrespective of how frustrating a customer is, an entrepreneur does not have the right to raise his or her voice at the customer, this act takes several discipline because some customers can go over board, instead of raising your voice at the customer, you could just allow security personnel's handle the situation.

Thanks for reading dear friends, until I come your way again. I am @oluwatobiloba.

Sort:  

Very good your recommendations, as it is said here in my country, the client must be satisfied and attended according to their requirements, in the end the clients are the indispensable source of the businessman.

A friendly recommendation is that you can provide a clear link to the sources of your images, since the link you provide leads directly to google where it is difficult to find exactly the image you used.

My recommendation is that you can use public domain images in your articles, for example a very good page is Pixabay, here is a link so you can check Pixabay, the important thing is that the images provided here are public domain. Greetings and thanks for sharing your good business and entrepreneurial experiences.

Oh, thanks a lot for the corrections and suggestions, it is highly appreciated.

Thank you for your kindness and receptivity.

My humble pleasure.

 4 years ago  

hi @carlos84

You've asked me about your own opinion on that topic. The problem is that I do not have an opinion and I think it's not my place to be educating people on this particular issue.

I personally don't think it changes anything at all if we share source to picture which we use. But that's just me.

Resteemed and upvoted already @oluwatobiloba

There is an old joke that a Graphic Designer told me a long time ago, he worked as a freelance, he was a freelance worker. The joke goes in dialogue:

  • Well I finished the logo you want for your new image. Here you have the result and here the invoice as it was budgeted
  • Is it so expensive and it only took you a couple of hours to do it?
  • It took me more than 4 years to learn how to do that in less than two hours.

ok, it was funnier when my friend told it, but what I want to mark is that it is very possible that the client never understands the work and the time after each project, nor does he understand how heavy it can be if he introduces constant modifications or if you ask for something that you are not able to pay later.

Despite all that, learning to deal with customers is a necessity for anyone in the sales or services sector.

Some customers can be really frustrating i tell you. Thanks for coming around.

Some customers can push entrepreneurs overboard, I agree with you we should never forget ourselves while we try to satisfy customers.

Thanks for reading through @federickbangs.

My advice just like you stated is that: whenever customers try to go overboard, simply allow security agencies do their jobs because not every of your other customer will know the true story, the only thing they will realize is that you attacked a customer and that might just be the end of their dealings with you and your business.

Thanks for the wonderful addition.

hi @oluwatobiloba

I was surprised to learn that you own a business, what do you do?

As the saying goes "the customer is always right". I think you have to keep a low profile and, above all, have a power of service, it is a very important point when dealing with the public. Reconciling is always an act that deepens empathy and strengthens relationships.
Interesting post

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the advice @reinaldoverdu, I am into sales of body care products, provisions and home care products.