Inspiring and helping one another - And giving new ideas! What a community! :)

A few days ago, I read a post written by @tomoyan. It had to do with Presearch and how they are soon about to reward people running nodes. Guess what? After reading his article, I felt so inspired and I couldn't stand against the temptation... I had to setup my very own Presearch node!

I already have experience running some Ethereum nodes as a part of the StrongBlock project, but as I heard about how easy it was to setup a Presearch node, I couldn't stand against the temptation.

presearch node.jpg

To run an Ethereum node...

To run an Ethereum node, you need a fast Internet connection, an SSD drive with at least 500 GB of disk space (but due to the giant number of transactions, I guess I would go for a minimum of 600 GB or more right now), and a fast processor and quite a lot of memory.

To run a Preserch node...

But, to run a Presearch node you don't need a fast connection, and you don't need much disk space. That is why I discovered a VPS offering their cheapest package for $3 per month, and I decided to run a Presearch node on one such drive. You can read the full instructions on how to setup a Presearch node on a VPS right here. It only took a few minutes for the SSD to get ready, and then I ran 7-8 command lines using Putty (SSH), and the node was up and running.

I had to register at the Presearch website to run a node. It took 24 hours to receive a confirmation from the team that I can run a node. Once you have the confirmation, you will receive a registration code that is needed to run the actual node.

My Presearch node is up and running!

So, now the node is up and running, and I have already served a few search requests with my node. Soon, node runners are supposed to be rewarded for running the node, but they haven't started with the rewards yet. But, still - $3 per month to run a node and be a part of an exciting project, and to learn something new... that isn't really much!

Thank you for all those inspiring articles!

Once again, thank you everyone here in Project Hope for those inspiring and interesting articles. It is so awesome that we can learn from one another, get tips and advice, and learn!! Have a blessed day :)

Sort:  

Excellent idea I remember that when I used the PS I used a service that charged me $ 1 per month, If I remember the name of the service I will let you know, I used it for VPN, and I configured everything under Linux. Really very good.

And the idea of ​​putting a node is very good because presearch is a very interesting service. I support a lot your initiative to diversify and learn about this because it is very interesting.

Running a VPN over VPS is also extremely easy, and actually, really cool :) So yeah - that actually reminded me that I should set up a VPN myself using a VPS sometime soon! :)

Hi @unbiasedwriter
Good that you are already experimenting with your new node, I have never tried something similar.
One of the many things I like about reading posts in this community is that we stay pretty up to date on these innovations. Good for you.

It is quite new to me as well, but I am getting into it, and as you learn a few Linux commands, it all gets easier and easier (if you run it on VPS with Ubuntu installed)! It also gives a satisfaction to set it up yourself :)

Congratulations @unbiasedwriter! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Financial stages