The Covid-19 Pandemic and its Positive Effect on my Finances: The Role of Crypto-powered Blogging

in Project HOPE4 years ago (edited)

Life places a common denominator for everyone to succeed. However, some people choose to make excuses to justify why they didn't instead of being motivated by a reason to succeed. I remember reading post by Zig Ziglar that the same hot water that makes the potato to soften, also makes the egg to get hardened. With that we see that success of failure is in the nature of a being and not primarily based on environmental factors.

The outbreak of corona virus in C=Wuhan,m China and subsequent spread to other nations of the world seemed to have been the biggest epidemic hit on humanity in the last 20 years. We are all aware how fast the economies of some nations dwindled. Many businesses folded up and some persons lost their jobs. Also, we must not be quick to forget that the pandemic gave an offshoot to some career such as are Clinically related. Doctors and nurses became more relevant than country presidents.

I remember vividly going to buy a clinical nose mask just a week into the spread of the pandemic , even when my country was not hit, each was sold for NGN500 (about $1.25). few months earlier, I had purchased the same nose mask for NGN20 (about 2.5 cents). What can we say? Covid didn't make everything bad. I am not in any way playing down on the value of the lives that were lost. The essence of this post however is to mention that though the scar was hard in humanity, I was able to make the most of the difficult times. This could go a long way to encourage someone who feels that life was all sucked out.

image.png

Image curled from Hive Post by @Trumpman

While the Covid Induced Lockdown lasted...

Nigeria, like every other country had to force people to stay indoors to reduce the spread of covid-19. At such times, my busy and workaholic routine was broken and I was able to give more attention to myself and family. Since I stayed indoors virtually throughout three months from March to June ending, I was only able to connect to the world through the socialmedia.

There was no better place to relate with the outside world than on Hive blockchain where I made posts and engaged the posts of other users. It was surprising to see that my earnings from blogging and curation has greatly increased within the months and then I discovered how valued my contents are.


What I have Achieved with my Hive Income so Far

I had used the internet for about 15 years before joining Steem about 30 months ago. I had also engaged social platforms for about 10 years before Steem, yet, it was "tale" that one could earn from socializing until my journey on Steem began on January 24, 2018 which later metamorphosed to Hive in March 2020.

A few days ago, I had shared in this post that I have earned 8,096 HIVE so far according to Hivestats and that culminates to over $2,000. Earning that much from a socialmedia means a whole lot to me. Specifically, I can enlist the different ways which I have maximized earnings from Hive as follows:

  • My Hive earnings presently contributes about 30% to my total monthly income.

  • I have used Hive earnings for personal knowledge development.

  • I have used Hive earnings to fix and buy new gadgets for my Training Hub as well as personal gadgets like Phones.

  • I have used Hive earnings to sponsor others in academics and skills acquisition.

  • I have used Hive earnings to boost my cryptocurrency investments.

  • I am building a charity foundation @Hiveaid with my Hive earnings which would give succor to humanity in areas of education, health, environmental protection and skills acquisition.

It's really been a good thing to be a part of this blockchain and earning here with my contents..

The covid induced lockdown was not all bad. I made the most of such times financially. Thanks to Crypto-powered Blogging.

Sort:  

Hi @uyobong
These days I was talking to my wife about it, certainly it has been chaos in many aspects of life in most countries this year, caused by the C-19, however there has been the possibility to learn a lot. It has been a matter of everyone organizing their time to learn something that was pending. And wow, you've really done well, that's wonderful. Success, keep it raining.

Hello friend, certainly this pandemic has left many painful footprints but I have also made other people improve their quality of life, be it on a health, professional or personal level. Everything depends on us, whenever we can improve, we must take advantage of the time and make it real.

 4 years ago  

Hi @uyobong

Opportunities are always there and are born from the need to evolve, indeed this virus has caused a lot of damage in the economies of many countries, and especially countries like mine Venezuela where their rulers are not the most suitable, the mortality rate here is still growing. and despite the fact that the population is locked up to protect themselves, but not all do.

Now, I too have been locked up since March 13, and since that day also somehow my earnings have increased I can't say 30% as is your case but I can say more or less I can say 10% and the best that I can do is invest it but in the needs that exist in my home ..

However, I believe that in a period of 2 months if I can follow this rhythm by creating content I will be able to achieve some stability to invest.

Greetings friend @uyobong, excellent article that you share with us in this opportunity, the negative things like the arrival of the Covid-19 in the world, served many people to devote themselves to certain activities that generated great profits like the ones you mention, that good to hear that, you managed to find a great opportunity in the middle of a world tragedy, you are a great example that if success can be achieved despite the difficulties, thanks for sharing your positive experience and congratulations for your great achievement, continue reaping successes.