BTS - Corporate Headshots With Gelled Background

Here is a corporate headshot I did recently for a regular client. I've been increasingly inspired by photographers like Dylan Patrick and Rafal Wegiel, with their "cinematic" approach to headshot photography, which I think feels more modern and friendly, compared to traditional corporate headshots. It's also tons of fun to shoot.



tt55.PNG

Dylan Patrick and Rafal both tend to use 70-200mm lenses at 200, but since moving to SONY, I haven't yet bought a tele zoom, instead relying on a Sigma 135mm f1.8 Art, which in my opinion achieves a very similar effect. Gelling backdrops is also something I've been doing, not only because I love the look, but because it enables me to get a consistent style, wherever I'm shooting.

I forget the gentleman's name. There were a lot of people to shoot that day, but I made sure to tell him how photogenic he is. Here's the lighting setup for anyone interested:


cinem.PNG

In hindsight, I feel the fill was a little hot, and the rim light was a little low and spilled too far. These shoots often happen within limitations of time and space, but that's no excuse. Must do better! self-flagellates

KIT:
Sony A7R3
Sigma 135mm f1.8 Art
Godox Lighting

Sort:  

I was about to say: this looks corporate AF!! but then I noticed tht's what you wanted :))

Nice portrait. Can't figure out exactly though. Did you use umbrella for a fill light or octabox?

Hey David! Thanks for the comment. I used the umbrella for the fill. Dylan Patrick and Rafal Wegiel et al seem to favor reflectors for the task, but I like umbrellas for quick and easy fill.

Well you kind of have more control with the umbrella. I am not sure how big you main light was and what was it's distance to the subject, but it might have wrapped around nicely without fill light. But of course it is a creative decision that you make.