More About Amberyooper

Hello, music lovers!

DSCN0526.JPG

This is just my second post in the @musicforlife front end, my first post here was published 6 days ago. I'm a little slow getting back here because I only have a bit of music related content that I can post about. I write most of my posts on the general PeakD platform about non music related subjects.

Today I would like to talk a bit about some of the music I listen to now. I grew up at the end of the 1960s and into the 1970s, and almost everything that I listened to was rock music. My taste in music was fairly narrow back then, and stayed that way through the 1980s and 90s. A few of my all time favorite bands from that era were Led Zeppelin, The Who, Black Sabbath, and Deep Purple. A bit later came bands like Golden Earring, Blue Oyster Cult, AC/DC, and Molly Hatchet. Of course, there was also The Eagles. Some of my most favorite music of all time is from 2 bands, The Moody Blues, and Yes.

At some point in the 2000s, after I had stopped playing live music due to demands of the "day job", my music tastes started to change and perhaps broaden out, at least to some extent. I still listen to The Moody Blues and Yes, but I also listen to a lot of Synthwave music now.

I've discovered that there's several "flavors" of synthwave, perhaps too many to get into in this post. A lot of what I prefer to listen to, especially for background music, is synthwave/ chillwave/ retrowave.

I've also been exploring the vocal synthwave category a lot more lately. There's a lot of this type of music on youtube, so I have access to all of the music there. Some of the artists that I've been listening to are Nina, Timecop 1983, and a new favorite that I have heard of before, but only recently started listening to, Gunship. There's also an artist doing vocal synthwave by the name of Jessie Frye. She recently released an album that I was so impressed with that I bought a CD of it from New Retro Wave records. The album is called "Kiss Me in the Rain". If you enjoy vocal synthwave, I recommend that you check out her music. This is a link to her album on youtube.

Speaking of synthwave, a couple of years ago, I did a collaboration with a fellow hiver, @soundwavesphoton, and 2 other people who seem to have left the platform before Hive was forked off from steem, @Veckinon and @dflo. I'm not sure if this can actually be called synthwave, perhaps electronica might be a better description. I uploaded this to my Soundcloud page last year after I realized that I had not put it there when it was first made.I really enjoy listening to this song, as it was a creation that stemmed from us talking on the @Palnet discord. Swoop made the electronic track to go along with a bass track that I sent him, Veckinon did all the lead guitar work, and Dflo wrote the words and provided her voice to the recording.
https://soundcloud.com/ambers-rambling-writings/soundwaves-veckinon-and-dflo

This one of several collaborations that I was part of a couple of years ago. Perhaps I'll share more of those in another post.

That's all I have for this post, thanks for stopping by to check it out!

amber banner.png

Sort:  

wow! please share more on the different kinds of synthwave. We've sorta concentrated on rock lately. Love it, but also want to listen to other sounds.

You guys' collab is really cool! too bad @Veckinon and @dflo aren't around. Any chance they might want to come back? #HIVE is really different from what it was when they left.

I wish I knew how to get in contact with Veckinon and Dflo, I'd love to be able to get them to come back.
I'll try to get more information on the different kinds of synthwave for another post.
Thanks for the comments!

When you mention you now explore "exploring the vocal synthwave" Cher creaped into my brain. No idea why.

Hmmm... LOL

Congratulations @amberyooper! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 36000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 37000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day

This post has been manually curated by Jux from Rising Star on behalf of #musicforlife.

Cool Post Amber! It's great to see you here!

Thanks, Darren!

I think you'd want to reach out to @gribbles - synthwave is his kinda jam (I could be wrong, I don't know what the genres are outside of drum & bass in fairness haha)!

Listening in to your collab with other musicians on HIVE - I love this! So smooth, lovely jazz chill bassline and could easily relax to that! Great work - Going to follow you on SC now :)

Thank you! 😀

Thanks for presenting us new music. This sounds very good and I'll add it to my playlist
image.png