Young Dove - What Inspired This Song

in Musicforlife 🎶3 years ago

"Young Dove"

cover-14.png

⇓ Listen to "Young Dove" on Spotify, iTunes, Deezer, Tidal and more ⇓
https://muzi.click/young-dove

music-divider.png

Do you have memories you hope to hold onto for eternity? I do, and that's what inspired me to write my song, “Young Dove.”

This song is about influential people who walk into our lives and are gone in the blink of an eye. Although their time with us is brief, their influence is eternal.

“Pour me another glass
We laugh about class
Look at the stars
Do we live on Mars?”

I wrote this verse about a kid who made a short appearance in my life, but with whom I shared an enjoyable experience (now a memory) with. This kid was enrolled in a class I took, Chemistry II Lab, and he was in dire need of my Lab Write-ups. Late one night, he texted me asking if I would lend him my Write-ups; in return, he would pay me back with a "good time."

Since he was an admirable acquaintance, I consented to the exchange and drove over to his house. In his backyard, I handed him the gruesome lab notes, and in exchange he shared some drinks with me as we lounged in soft plastic lawn chairs peering up at the night sky. A few drinks deep, we began to laugh and joke about our various classes and the enormity of the universe.

Although he may not remember this evening, I now have it recorded for eternity in the lyrics of “Young Dove”:

“Many years ago, when we walked home
The night grew old, but we grew young”

Truly, that evening, we felt like we would never grow old, and time only captured the night away. I wanted to capture that innocent, magical feeling—as we shared it looking into the starry sky—in my lyrics and music.

One member of my community at twitch.tv/gubbatv shared with me how his Young Dove was the love of his life that he had lost too early. I was able to sing Young Dove on my stream in honor of that beautiful soul who left us too soon. This moment, as I sang the song on stream, was beautiful, and I realized that we all have “Young Doves”—whether it's us or another person entirely.

I hope you enjoy the magical romance I feel emanates from this song. Such a romance is what I tried to capture. Did I? I hope so!

music-divider.png


Posted via MusicForLife.io

Sort:  

Congratulations @gubbatv! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 comments.
Your next target is to reach 200 comments.
You received more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

A successful meetup and its commemorative badge

This post has been manually curated by Jux from Rising Star on behalf of #musicforlife.

Thank you :)

gubba, im sorry, i´ll listen to your music, soon
hope you are ok!

ps. here you have a guitarist for some guitar solo, in your future album 😎

No reason to be sorry :) LEGEND!!