A Vinyl Collection Piece : The Beatles Please Please Me

PXL_20210613_123345732.MP.jpg

If you caught any hints on my posts on Hive, you might have picked up that I'm a bit of a Beatles fan. My parents had all of their US albums in our basement while we grew up in a haunted house. My brother and I played the records over and over; I think Lennon kept the ghosts at bay, to be honest. I mean between the Beatles, Buddy Holly, and Roy Orbison, how could the ghosts be awful to us??

PXL_20210613_123352404.jpg

This album is the 2014 mono release of the group's first album. It's a beauty, too. The vinyl is 180 grams of quality, and the reproduction of the jacket is top-notch. True to the original, I believe.

PXL_20210613_123426084.jpg


PXL_20210613_123431482.jpg

The track list is the standard mix of early Beatles; a mix of covers and original tracks. Everyone of course knows Twist and Shout, but the real gems on this album are Lennon's Please Please Me and There's a Place. If you want to hear the origin of punk rock, Please Please Me is where it starts (in my honest, biased opinion, of course!) George's Do You Want to Know a Secret isn't bad either. This is where the Beatle story starts of course; you hear the ripping through early rock n' roll classics on this short album. I just wish they had covered some Buddy on this one.

PXL_20210613_123443876.jpg

Hattie loves listening to this album; good thing it is going to be hers when she gets older. From what I can tell, this one has held some value too.

PXL_20210613_123527581.jpg


PXL_20210613_123544377.jpg

If you are a Beatles fan, you know what this one is about. If you aren't but curious about their start, this is one you should give a shot. To think they went from this album to Abbey Road in roughly six years...well, that is something to ponder even if you don't care for the Beatles.

Thanks for checking this one out. Also, I"m not kidding about the haunted house...the stories I could share...we'll save that for another day. In the meantime, #musicforlife indeed!

Sort:  

What a beautiful thing to have in your collection! They never get old do they!


This post has been manually curated by Jux from Rising Star on behalf of #musicforlife.


The NFT based music career game built on HIVE

Thanks! Definitely a keeper for the collection! With all the culture and influence around them, you forget about albums like this