Music Monday - Steve Hackett

in Musicforlife 🎶3 years ago

When you mention the name Steve Hackett a lot of people will say 'oh, the Genesis guitarist. He left the band in 1977, 44 years ago! I did not get into Genesis until the early eighties, but I enjoyed the early albums he played on.

A housemate at university had at least one Hackett solo album. I think he had Spectral Mornings, which I enjoyed. He tends to play what serves the music rather than being a show-off, but he has great technique. He was an early exponent of right hand tapping. His brother John played flute and other instruments on some of his albums.

A lot of his early albums at least had some similar fantasy themes to what Genesis had been doing, but he did more instrumentals. Voyage of the Acolyte was recorded whist he was still with the band with Phill Collins and Mike Rutherford playing on it.

He has done quite a lot of classical style solo guitar too. I could not find so many videos of that. I have yet to see him play live. I do remember he played a local venue some years ago and managed to get locked in the luggage compartment of the tour bus when trying to fetch something.

He has done a couple of albums with versions of old Genesis songs like this.

He is pretty prolific and I cannot claim to have heard everything he has done. I have been listening to some of it on Spotify recently. This is from a relatively recent album. He obviously still enjoys traditional and folk music. This has both classical and electric guitar. He is not a bad singer too.

I think he is an underappreciated musician who had a great body of music behind him. He still plans to tour more at 71.


Posted via MusicForLife.io

Sort:  

i like the way you talk about him.. I guess you like him also because of his ability to play guitar. his music is chill ... how have you been?

I think it's just good music. I'm good. Just been playing my guitar.

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Love Voyage and Spectral Mornings. There was another album between these two, but it didn't register in my head. He played some of his newer stuff when I saw him in Gateshead in 2017, which also did not get inside my head.

His rendition of Firth of Fifth was almost indistinguishable from the studio version on Selling England..., I have a bad video of it somewhere.

Some of it is a bit soppy hippy stuff. I like the early solo stuff, but then I know it better.

Voyage is very hippy stuff, but I have a soft spot for it. I was introduced to that album very late and it was like listening to old Genesis material. I could hear it right away.

Spectral mornings has some quirky stuff on it. He found his own style. When I first heard Big Big Train I was reminded a lot of Genesis. Had the same feeling with Marillion back in the day. It's a very British thing.

God touring at 71. Legend

Wow, that is pretty impressive that he is still planning on touring. I guess if you can pull it off then why not! I have seen some people who should have given up touring a long time ago though. Those are always disappointing.

The Stones are older and don't even need the money, but they still tour. Hackett seems to have a loyal audience as he plays some big venues. I ought to try and see him whilst I still can. Still not sure what gigs will actually happen this year.

Yeah, we have one coming up in July, but I have a feeling it might get pushed again given the way the numbers are on the rise again.

I'm not ready to be in crowds again yet.