A tribute to a remarkable singer

in Musicforlife 🎶3 years ago

Hi everyone, it's been a while since I've posted anything but here I am again :). Huge crowds at work and private make my time a little less at the moment. Last weekend we finally got back on stage with the band, it was great. We played at the Scenic Sound festival in Zutphen, it was a beautiful festival with an emotional edge. Last Wednesday I was asked by the organizer of the festival if I wanted to play 2 songs on my bass guitar. It was an ode to Bennie, Bennie is a singer who is very much loved and known in and around Zutphen, a real soulman. He got cancer 5 years ago and has been extremely ill ever since. He has undergone all kinds of cures and that has demanded a lot from his body. Bennie asked Bram (the organizer) if it was possible to sing 2 songs after all, he had missed it so much. So Bram had indicated that he was going to do his best. When Bram told me that, of course I immediately said yes and asked which songs, it was Purple Haze by Hendrix and Stomu Yamashta - Ghost Machine. I wasn't familiar with Ghost Machine and when I listened to it I thought "Wow, that's going to be a tough one", very up-tempo and a nice bass line. I've been practicing a lot at home, and luckily I had quite mastered the song :) You can see the video of last saturday here below.


I don't have Purple haze on video yet, I will post it as soon as I receive it. I can tell you that after playing the songs Bennie became very emotional, it was so long ago for him that he was able to enjoy the stage immensely. He had tears in his eyes, I'm so glad we were able to do this for him. He enjoyed it so much, I felt small, on the one hand to be on stage with such great musicians, but also the reason.

Bennie has played in many bands, one of the last bands was the zutphen band Wide-Open. He has had some nice national performances, see a video below.


Source

It was a beautiful musical weekend with laughter and tears.

How was your weekend

Greeting,
Peter

Sort:  

Must have been an emotional gig. I love how musical communities pull together to help each other. I played at a charity tribute to a local guy recently. At the weekend we were at a local festival with lots of bands. Ash and McFly were the headliners. Great fun.

!PIZZA !LUV

Thanks Steve, it was quiet emotional indeed. I got goosebumbs just seing him enjoying what he does best, making music... And that's a awesome thing, helping eachother out. isn't that what it is all about?

Have a great day !! !BEER

@verhp11! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @steevc.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@verhp11, you've been given LUV from @steevc.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. LUV changes soon. (1/3)


Hey @steevc, here is a little bit of BEER from @verhp11 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.