Fartlek/Speedplay. On bush trails. πŸ˜ƒ

in EXHAUST β€’ 2 years ago (edited)

Yay! Two weeks in a row and I've managed another speed session. πŸŽ‰

To keep it interesting, this week I did a less structured session and ran mostly on single track (tracks I know really well, so I know where I can floor it and when I need to ease back). 😁

I was pretty proud of myself; after a reasonable warm up (whoops, forgot to do drills!!! Next time!) I started doing typical Fartlek type running: I'll run flat out to that tree and then I'll back off.

So that's what I did: Challenged myself to run as fast as was safe on each trail until I got "those logs" or "that track junction" or "the bottom of that steep rise".

And instead of walking between sprint efforts, as per Brad (@new.things)'s suggestion, I jogged slowly so as to still recover but keep moving a wee bit faster than my strolls last week.

The graphs below are telling!! The "best" pace of 3:21 was actually on a flat concrete driveway back out of the bush. When I looked closer, it looks like my two fastest efforts inside the bush were around 4:30/4:45 pace, which is amazing if we consider they were on single track.

Warning for newbies: Even though my session went super well, I do NOT recommend you do speed sessions on single track. I'm only doing this because I've been bushwalking since I was a toddler, running my whole life and know these particular tracks really, really well. Generally speed work on single track is a recipe for face planting. On a rock. Best to find some lovely cushy grass!!

Speaking of, maybe I'll do that next week - run on cushy grass that is! πŸ˜‚

More graph things: cadence! Cool, hey? You can see how much the changes in track conditions plus my speed difference makes me change my cadence significantly. And no, I didn't think about trying to make my cadence do anything special in this run, I just focused on putting my feet somewhere stable and safe with every step. πŸ˜‰

Graphs continued: Assume the heart rate info is mostly rubbish; I don't use a heart rate strap so this is just what my watch is picking up. I DEFINITELY got into Zone 5 in this run. How do I know? Because I had to use my very strong mind to act as Super Strong Cheerleader just to get me to keep pushing that hard on some of those top efforts. πŸ˜…

Enough commentary for today. 3.35km run in bush with a bunch of speedy bits, done βœ…

Next time: Remember to do drills after warm up!!

Last photo taken by me. Graph screenshots are courtesy of Garmin Connect.

Definitely alive and thriving as I diligently work towards my goals of becoming a speed goat 🐐

Sort: Β 

!ALIVE


PS. You will earn more ALIVE tokens if you add #AliveAndThriving too as we have a curation project looking for that tag with the largest ALIVE stake in the tribe behind it.

  • The 4 points of #AliveAndThriving, the first point is mandatory, then add one or more of the rest, share your journey to thrive in life.


Made in Canva

@consciouscat! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wearealive. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.