Weekend Long Run - 22km (testing out race kit)

in EXHAUSTlast year (edited)

image_8658179472.png
dannewton just finished a 22.13km run, that lasted for 138 minutes.
This run helped dannewton burn 1776.0 calories.


Description from Strava: Another Saturday, and you know what that means by now... time for the standard weekend long run. I'm mindful of the fact that I will be lining up on the start line for the Marathon in 3 weeks, and hence todays long run will 'only' be 22km or in other words, just half of the Marathon distance.

I'm also mindful of the fact that I haven't used my new running backpack/vest thing yet, so its definitely time for a test run so I can check it out properly

I decided it was worth bringing everything that I would be required to carry on race day:

Hat and gloves
Waterproof coat
Minimum of 500 ml water to be carried
Headtorch/Torch
Whistle

As extras I also have a first aid kit (mostly full of plasters), and an emergency blanket thing. And then lastly I included a thin running jacket, which will be used as a second layer if its chilly on the day.

20230304_143519.jpg

There's quite a lot of stuff...

20230304_143259.jpg

...but I was surprised to see how easy it all fitted into the backpack. Also included, but not pictured, is the Camelbak Hydration pouch which I pinched from my other bag and attached to this one. You can just make out the blue tube on the the right hand side, so I can drink while on the move.

I weighed it, and the whole thing comes to 2kg. That includes the litre of water, so all things considered that's reasonably lightweight I reckon. When I put it on and took a few steps, I could feel the water pouch shifting around in the bag, which was easily remedied by pulling those stretchy red drawstrings tighter.

It felt pretty comfortable, so without further ado, I laced up my shoes and headed straight outside

20230304_114049.jpg

One of the good bits about this new bag is there are lots of pockets on the straps themselves, so I was able to fit my phone in the front pocket, and that meant it was closer to hand if I needed it.

usually its buried in at the bottom of the backpack

So for a change I can actually show you pictures of where I ran today. If you hadn't guessed by now I am doing the standard route through town and then back along the bypass. I've run this route a number of times now and thought it would be an easy option while I get the hang of the new backpack.

20230304_115233.jpg

Here is Tritton Road, which is the part of Lincoln where all the 'big' shops are located (Morrisons, Currys, PC World, Next, Asda Living etc etc).

20230304_115757.jpg

Next up was a roundabout (which involved having to wait ages for the lights to change). On the left is Student accommodation, and just on the right is one of the buildings for Lincoln University.

20230304_120806.jpg

After this long and smooth path, it was time to cut through town... it was approaching 12:00 at this point, and it was starting to get busy in places, so I had to weave in and out of oblivious pedestrians.

By this point I had already forgotten that I actually had a new bag on at all. It felt so comfortable... no chaffing, no shifting around... just working as it should.

Perfect!

This meant I could concentrate on running, and on taking more pictures!

20230304_121756.jpg

Next up was Monks Road, which is a long and slightly boring street on the east side of town.

hopefully when I do the Marathon on the Coast in 3 weeks, the pictures will be a bit more interesting!

20230304_123248.jpg

After Monks Road, I cut back alongside Greetwell Road, where I work, and then I ran out along Wragby Road (pictured) which is a nicer part of town (Monks Road has a bit of a reputation shall we say!)

And then I hit the bypass which features a nice long smooth path, and I do enjoy running along it.

20230304_125238.jpg

It is also often nice and quiet apart from the odd cyclist!

At this point I decided to take my jacket off.

By the way, in the image below is 2 coats: a thin red running jacket, and a Navy Blue waterproof coat (which is still packed in that square blue pouch)

20230304_143519.jpg

I had started the run with the red jacket on, as it was cool outside, but by the time I reached the bypass I was starting to warm up. I wasn't uncomfortably warm, but I decided it was a chance to see if I could fit the jacket inside the bag with all the other stuff...

And I was delighted to find that it fitted in easily, helped by an adjustment of those red drawstrings on the bag. The bag still felt comfortable to wear as well, so all loaded up I continued the rest of the run home

20230304_125247.jpg

20230304_125734.jpg

And a bonus shot, I ran past the bridge which I have used to join the Water Railway (something I have mentioned in previous posts). I really do like the fact that I have the phone more available now, there's gonna be lots of photo opportunities!

20230304_130659.jpg

And there we have it. Home in approx 2hours and 15 minutes. It wasn't quick but the aim was for something long and comfortable, and I was pleased with how well the bag performed.

The last thing to check is to wear the waterproof coat on a run, and the weather for the coming week appears to be very VERY wet indeed, so I'm sure I'll have ample opportunity to test it out

keep your eyes open for a very soggy coat review to appear in the next few days!


If you would like to check out this activity on strava you can see it here:
https://www.strava.com/activities/8658179472

About the Athlete: Living in the UK, I am an intermittent Runner, but always striving for more consistency. When I'm not training I can be found photographing insects or listening to really loud angry music (which is the best type of music obviously!)

S2HLogo.PNG

This is an automated post by @strava2hive and is currently in BETA.

Sort:  

Keep going, you're smashing your training at the moment and getting stronger every day.
To see the full Weekly Leader Board, click here.

This Weeks Leader Board(Top 5):

  1. @kiwibloke - 6320.6 Calories Burned
  2. @pinkhub - 5794.300000000001 Calories Burned
  3. @matisport - 3995.0 Calories Burned
  4. @dannewton - 3448.0 Calories Burned
  5. @run.vince.run - 2853.0 Calories Burned

Nice gears, especially the vest.
I should get one as I'm very uncomfortable holding my phone in my hand.

You won't necessarily need a vest for the shorter runs, but I do recommend finding a way to carry your phone 'hands-free'.

There are various options such as arm straps or belts.... or even a pair of shorts with pockets

This Spibelt (LINK) is a good idea, it can also be used to carry other items if required such as money/cards/keys etc. They do come in different sizes, so it is worth checking it will fit your phone before ordering.

I don't know what shops you have near you, a local Sports/exercise shop should have some running accessories available

Thanks for the help.
I'll first check out the local stores before going online.

That looks like a very versatile vest, I'm pretty sure it would also be a good vest for cyclist or bikers such as myself. Maybe I should look one if I can order online 😁

It is the first proper vest one I have owned*, so I can't comment on how it compares to other brands... but I'm very happy with it. The shop link is HERE if you are interested in looking, but they are a small UK company, so I'm not sure if they post worldwide yet.

I've seen you do some long cycling sessions, do you not have a backpack or similar storage when you are cycling?

(*the previous one was just a hydration pouch from camelbak).

The link is already plenty bro thanks 🥰 I just wanna see it's product picture and some descriptions so I can see if there s a Chinese knockoff of it lol. I live in Asia so close to China and trust me they sell knockoffs of almost anything 😂

Oh yes I do have a backpack but it is quite bulky since it's a camera bag coz there are times when I bring my camera along with me for a ride. The problem lies when it's a rainy day coz I can't bring my bag along with me which means I have no way of bringing water with me which is we all know is crucial when you do long exercises. If you're wondering why I needed a bag for my water well. My bike doesn't support a water bottle cage in it's body since my bike is an old model which was restored. Sadly this model doesn't support the water bottle cage but it makes up for a very sturdy body with a huge spring in the middle which is comfortable especially on rough roads 😁 I could buy something like a water bottle holder that can be attached to my handle bar but I'm worried it might just fall. Now with a vest like what you showed in this blog my water will be safely tuck inside of it which makes it safe. Plus I can add some extra things inside of it as well that why It looks very versatile 😊

Looks great, is there a spot for collapsible poles and sticks for when you tackle the epic mountains ?
!LOL
!LUV
!ALIVE

@dannewton! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @new.things. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Can February march?
No, but April may.

Credit: bitpizza
@dannewton, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @new.things

(3/10)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

Yes there is... some small loops on the bottom of the bag apparently, although I don't have poles yet (already spent enough recently!)

Besides I'm not a fan hills, let alone epic mountains... more practice required!

How did you get such a big post on strava and on hive? I did a long post on strava once on my mobile phone but it never uploaded to hive. Since then I keep the original strava post short with one photo then edit and add stuff once it has uploaded to hive. Have you worked something else out, maybe editing strava from the PC at home before it goes to hive?
!BEER

Hey. I have written 'long posts' directly on the strava phone app up to 700 words, but it is hard work. Most of the time I write the post via the strava website on the PC.

For this post I knew I wanted to include lots of pictures, so on the strava app I just typed "description to follow" in the description box, and waited for strava2hive to post it onto hive. I then edited the post on peakd in the same way I would normally write a hive post, which meant I had more options for formatting and adding picture's where I wanted.

(and then once I had done that and saved the edit, I then copied the post text back onto the strava website for completeness)

!PIZZA

nice work around. I should have time try do that on the weekends !ALIVE

@dannewton! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @new.things. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.


Hey @dannewton, here is a little bit of BEER from @new.things for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Good to hear the bag is working well. You don't want to have to worry about things like that on a run. Interesting to see more of your route too. Looks like your training is going well.

!PIZZA

Definitely a confidence boost knowing the kit is going to do what I need it to do... means I can concentrate on enjoying the run :-)

Training is going pretty good ta, now to try to ease back and try to taper for the race.

Did you mention you were going to try to do a Half Marathon event this year?

!PIZZA

I will probably do the local half again. I'll try not to trip up this time.

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@dannewton(1/5) tipped @new.things (x1)
steevc tipped dannewton (x1)
dannewton tipped steevc (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!