Butterfly Walk - looking for Marsh Fritillaries

in EXHAUST11 months ago

prof_image_38890967.png
dannewton just finished a 3.64km walk, that lasted for 159 minutes.
This walk helped dannewton burn 569.0 calories.


Description from Strava: Another Bank Holiday Weekend means another day out in the middle of nowhere searching for Butterflies and any other interesting wildlife I could find.

After last weeks expedition to North Yorkshire, todays trip was significantly closer and easier. We visited Chambers Farm Wood, which is a local Nature Reserve to us, and is a fantastic example of Ancient Woodland. It was a pleasant enough wander, we saw all sorts of stuff including the Marsh Fritillaries that we were hoping for.

I'll write a better post on that in a few days, once I've sifted through all the photos...

20230528_124014.jpg

And for those of you interested in an update on my calf injury... er its not going well.

I had spent the past 3 weeks slowly building up the strength and mobility to start running again, and then last Monday I managed to hurt it again, while doing some single-leg calf raises.

It is not quite back to square one, but it's not far off!

The only plus this time is that I know what the problem is, and have already started to introduce gentle stretching and massaging to it. I'm resigned to at least another 4 weeks of no running, and with the Scotland Holiday coming up in 2 weeks I'm making sure that I'm ok for that as a priority.

So that means building up the walking and remembering to stretch afterwards. And then after the holiday I will gradually start the strength exercises again...


If you would like to check out this activity on strava you can see it here:
https://www.strava.com/activities/9156521621

About the Athlete: Living in the UK, I am an intermittent Runner, but always striving for more consistency. When I'm not training I can be found photographing insects or listening to really loud angry music (which is the best type of music obviously!)

image_9156521621.png

This is an automated post by @strava2hive and is currently in BETA.

Sort:  

Sorry to hear about your calf, I have that issue many times on quite a few injuries. Plantar, back of my knee and both ankles. But I can report even with this my 50 plus year old body it does still get better.
!LUV
!ALIVE
!HUG

Dear @dannewton, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @new.things.
(1/3)

@dannewton! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @new.things. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

it does still get better.

I know, I know... guess I'm having a hard time being patient lol. But I know plenty of people have come back from injury (and I can see you're making steady progress too) so if everyone else can do it, then I guess I can too :-)

!HUG
!LUV
!PIZZA

Dear @new.things, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @dannewton.
(1/2)

Beautiful butterfly 🦋
Bummer about the calf (re)injury! 🙁

!HUG for healing 🧡

Dear @dannewton, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @consciouscat.
(2/3)

it was beautiful, and yes it is a bummer!

as someone else has already mentioned, I'm being forced to learn 'patience', whether I like it or not!

(i'm not liking it btw!.... 😅)

The !HUG helps ❤️

Keep going, you're smashing your training at the moment and getting stronger every day.
To see the full Weekly Leader Board, click here.

This Weeks Leader Board(Top 5):

  1. @matisport - 9801.0 Calories Burned
  2. @mervinthepogi - 7824.6 Calories Burned
  3. @bhabb - 4858.0 Calories Burned
  4. @run.vince.run - 4099.0 Calories Burned
  5. @pinkhub - 3944.5000000000005 Calories Burned

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@dannewton(1/5) tipped @new.things