Tire sealant struggles

in EXHAUST4 years ago

Well, Hivers not much exercise today unless it's my thumbs.
If you have been following the odd post you know I've been struggling with leaks in the rear tire of my mountain bike for a few weeks. I have run tubless tires out here for a while but this year with not being able to get to Cebu city for a fresh bottle of sealant the gunk in my tires has gone off and has not been sealing for a month or so.
I have finally managed to get hold of some tire sealant locally so today I tackled the issue. It's not quite what I wanted but it will do the job for the next few months.
IMG_1470.jpg

If you can change the sealant regularly it's a simple task to wash of the old liquid sealant with hot water, the big problem is once it gets too old it hardens inside the tire, and getting this layer of latex off from the inside of the tire is a struggle. The quick and very easy way is to use a pressure washer which I don't have here in the Philippines so its the slow hard way. For the last 3 hours, I have bee soaking the tire and then rolling the latex off with my thumbs, which now feel as if they are about to drop off. IMG_1467.jpg

Its a slow laborious task but strangely therapeutic rather like popping bubble wrap.
IMG_1466.jpg but after the first hour it does become a bit of a chore.

Still, there is a reward at the end, a big pile of latex gunkIMG_1468 2.jpg

A tire that's holding air and the chance to go for a long ride on Saturday.

IMG_1471.JPG

Mind you I have it all to look forward to again tomorrow when Ido the front tire 😊

Before any smart arse asks why I don't put tubes in, the simple answer is I can't get any locally. The rims I have are designed for Presta valves and the only MTB tires they have here are all Schrader which is too large.