Better at night - Evening run

in EXHAUST2 years ago

I just finished a 7.986km running that lasted about 0hh:37mm:21ss !

SHealth_07_10_27_664.png

I was worried that this failure on Sunday would be a significant setback in my training, so after a rest day on Monday, I was motivated on Tuesday to get back into it. I went back to my usual time with a run just before nightfall. That feels more natural and better for me, especially when the temperature drops down several degrees like yesterday (around 70F or 21C, that's so much more comfortable). But I still started a route that allowed me to cut the run short anytime I wanted, just in case. However, after about 2 and a half miles, I still felt well, so in spite of the darkness falling pretty fast, I decided to make a left turn that meant I had to run at the very least another 1.5 mile. And I even added one more loop near the end, to make it almost 5 miles. Finally, with a pace much more consistent around 7:30 min/mile, I guess that's a solid run, and gives me hope for my training.

Nothing else really to report on that run. Maybe I started too late, but except for a few dark spots in some front yards, most likely cats, I didn't notice any wildlife. On the second half, I was quite focused on my steps though, because some parts were uneven (yes in Michigan, even road running can include very uneven terrain...), and in darkness, it's very easy to roll an ankle or worse.

Well, considering my first run this month was on the 13th, this table below still looks a bit weak, but it's more reasonable. Let's see what I can do today to finish the month strong. Keep Exhausting!

SportsAugust Total (miles)August Total (km)
Running
34.14
54.94
Cycling
36.33
58.41

Sort:  

Congratulations @manuvert! You received a personal badge!

You raised your Hive Power every day of the month! Enjoy better curation reward and more to say in governance.
Participate in the next Power Up month to get another one!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 9th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022