Short and fast (...er than usual) - Night Run

in EXHAUST3 years ago

I just finished a 6.045km running that lasted about 0hh:26mm:37ss !

image

Most of the running training plans out there agree that just racking up miles is beneficial, but often not sufficient to really improve, and sometimes it's good to change it up with shorter distances at a higher pace. With the weather clearing up late in the day, when I was finally ready for a run today, it was already past 9pm. So I thought it was a good opportunity to follow that advice and I improvised a route following the neighborhood streets, targeting a distance between 3 and 4 miles, with a pace under 7min/mile. So, 3.75 mile at 7:05min/mile, I'd say that's pretty much on target. Of course, that's eventually the pace I'm targeting for much longer distances, but it's a good start. Cadence was also a little better at 176spm, but still too low when considering the higher pace. I haven't been paying attention to it anyways, so it's no surprise there is no improvement there.

This time, I stayed on asphalt the whole way because I noticed earlier in the afternoon that in the woods, it was quite muddy from all that rain. You can see on the cover picture that even on the paved pathway crossing through to the trail entrance, there were still a few puddles. I saw a few deer, and a funny couple of raccoons. When they saw me, they both hid in the sewer, each on one side of the street. For some reason, it reminded me of Pennywise in It and made me chuckle.

Let's see what the weather brings us tomorrow, it's been quite changing these days. Based on what it is, I'll decide on the next training session.

Till then, keep Exhausting!

Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!

Sort:  

Good run!

Thanks! Like I said, just trying to change it up a little bit. Hopefully that helps.