Stubborn and steadfast

in EXHAUST2 years ago (edited)



cl7t6q6b800ke1tm7f47t1aq7_IMG_20220828_171825.webp
cl7t6rl5s00ko0im73rb77uyo_IMG_20220115_174614.webp
cl7t6rzgn00kt0wm7dhlr89m8_IMG_20220828_171838.webp
cl7t6trly00jn2dm79ac50cgr_IMG_20220827_173313.webp
cl7t6ul7f00j00pm723ev8wcd_IMG_20220828_173159.webp
cl7t6uwxm00kq0im7bgkrc6f0_IMG_20220827_172027.webp
cl7t6v8ar00lo21m72m3maiab_IMG_20220115_173301.webp
cl7t6w3c900ks0im71dnebebq_IMG_20220827_172023.webp
cl7t6wo8500lq21m76m0t50ki_IMG_20220827_173143.webp

Since 2016 running has become a way of life. When you ask me what's my long-term fitness goal, without a doubt that's to run until the very end of my life, that means running until I'm past retirement age. At present, I might not be the fastest runner in town but running is the one activity that calms me despite the frenzied breathing; it soothes my soul and boosts my energy level for the rest of the day. Normally, I'd schedule three (3) runs per week; short but sweet runs enough to jumpstart my hectic days at work. I've shared this before, last year when I was finalizing my 2022 goals, I was determined to tick off "Run 42km straight" on my bucket list. But just last March, my disc bulge, more popularly known as slipped disc, prevented me from completing my goal of running a total of 500 kilometers this year. In case you don't want to do the Math, I have to finish 42km per month to reach my goal. Long story short, I didn't make it and I'm well aware that it's no longer possible to reach my running goal this year.

In May, I shared the emotional turmoil I went through in this post. But in the same article, I was determined to do something: to change my mindset and start afresh. It may be 100% true that 42km run might be unreachable for now unless I want to die young. But I'm stubborn and steadfast; a marathon isn't possible but 1km is possible, 2km is possible, 3km is possible until recently, I finally jogged 5km straight without stopping, with only minimal pain and discomfort in my lumbar spine. It was my first and longest run after late April's terrible pain attack. Believe it or not, it felt like walking for the first time. Many wouldn't take this route, the chance, the opportunity to do things from scratch all over again. I get it; it's not easy. It could be scary; I was scared that despite all the effort I put in, despite the discipline I foster, my spine might just decide to give up on me and I'll be back to square one once again.

I could remain in my comfort zone and continually embrace fear all my life and wonder "What if I started small again?" But life's too short to keep on thinking of the endless possibilities that a single intentional choice could deliver, so I stepped out and worked my ass off the entire month of August. From 0km distance run in the previous months, I was up by 20 kilometers in total including that one 5km run. This month, I'm targeting to run 10km straight. Wish me luck! 😊

In the photos is the running track in my hometown where I ran on weekends and some photos I took during my runs last month!


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

That is a really great story and glad you are able to get back to running. I hope you are able to reach your goals, and your injury stays away...Best of luck!

Hey @run.vince.run! Thank you for the well-wishes. Maintaining a healthy and active lifestyle isn't a straight line all the time, I'm just glad I'm back running despite everything that happened. Great day ahead to you!

Good luck on running 10km straight, I am well aware it isn't easy. Do you also train inside the gym like running on treadmill or those running machine? I am still out of breath running just 1km 😅 So props to you doing 5 km jogging!

I hate running in one place, Mac! Hehe 😅 I easily get tired without a change of view that's why I love running on the road or in tracks. I don't train in the gym but I do home workouts with my 10lb, 15lb dumbbells, and yoga, too! I haven't been consistent with my routine due to the spine injury tho. August was a great start, been exercising more these days!

I remember back in time, my first time in stadium for a running training. I run one round only and i go to get a can of beer. I just watch the rest working out! The second time i finish one kilometer and every next time it was better and better!

The second time i finish one kilometer and every next time it was better and better!

that's the spirit @giorgakis! We'll never be stronger and better unless we start somewhere. 1km walk or run is still better than staying our bed doing nothing, right? Keep doing that and eventually, you'll find yourself capable of sustaining longer runs. Cheers!

If you use Strava for your workout, you can also synq it with your Hive account and your workouts will be post automatically on Hive and you will earn some tokens from strava2hive!

Hi @giorgakis! I'm using Strava, how do I set that up? That's interesting!

Check out here!

https://hive.blog/hive-176853/@strava2hive/strava2hive-frequently-asked-questions

If you need any help just ask, but iam sure you will not have any problem to fix it! See you in your work out posts 💪

Thanks pal! 😊

Congratulations @patsitivity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 2750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 3000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners