Two and a half years later

in EXHAUST2 years ago



cl8hctfvv01jl14kcf3jhh3xw_IMG20220925065058-01.webp
cl8hctmv601j20okcadp97j03_IMG20220925064622-01.webp
cl8hctt4l01jx0hkcdmosg9sq_IMG20220925073835-01.webp
cl8hctzna01j51skc3ln8hl2y_IMG20220925073514-01.webp
cl8hcu67g01iz24kchpd13rli_IMG20220925062925-01.webp
cl8hculc401jb0vkce16ea4ab_IMG20220925062641-01.webp
cl8hcuscg01jn14kc9an79nxe_IMG20220925064949-01.webp
cl8hcuyif01j40okcdqwgaeu1_IMG20220925063023-01.webp
cl8hcv5a601jz0hkcfq9odoiw_IMG20220925063011-01.webp
cl8hcvd8001j71skc0gkge8h6_IMG20220925073753-01.webp

I'm one of those who've always been on the lookout for the comeback of in-person fun runs. Finally, after two years and 6 months, I've joined a real race. It's not like those virtual runs I've joined in the past two years weren't real; they were, trust me. I ran both of my 2nd half marathon (21km) and my first 22km in separate virtual races. But if you've been joining the fun runs/races prior to Covid, you'd know where I'm coming from. You'd know there's a huge difference between running your own route and running at dawn when half of the road is closed just to give way for runners. I've been longing for that feeling all these years; the feeling of being free to run on roads without minding if there's a vehicle next to you. Because in races, runners are kings and queens. We own half of the road and traffic lights don't have to be followed. I know it's childish to say but that's why I love to run on fun runs. I feel that each step I take matters.

Just this morning, I finally joined a fun run by 7 eleven. 7 eleven is a nationwide chain of convenience stores. They organized a simultaneous run in three places, namely: Manila, Cebu and Davao. Our company isn't a major sponsor but we still got free slots. Unfortunately, we only have 32km free slots. I took the free slot but decided I'll just run 10km. My slipped disc is not ready for 32km 😅 If you've been reading my previous posts about my slipped disc journey, I've been having an on and off relationship with my back. Thankfully, in the recent weeks I've been getting better. There were still days when my back would ache but I'll just rest and be back on training after the pain subsides. Last Tuesday, I ran 7km my longest one-time run since the pain in my lower back caused by my slipped disc recurred in March 2022. If I'm not mistaken, last time I posted I did a 5km,then 7km and finally, earlier I finished my 10km zero walking run. It might not be the fastest but all I had in mind is to finish the race and finish it without any injury. It was so fulfilling to be back on track. It wasn't easy to do it all over again from square one but we'll really never see unless we try again and again and again. Let's see in the coming days if my back would still cooperate. I might do a 15, 18 and half marathon this year. Who knows? 🤔😉

This one's for all with slipped disc! Never give up and one day, with the right training, we'll all live normally again! 😊


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Hi there, ever smiling Pat 😃😃😃. These race contests do they have like a prize at the end of the races or is it just to stay fit and healthy? Plus these races have a way causing some constraints and aches. 7km is very good, burned some calories there I guess.

These race contests do they have like a prize at the end of the races or is it just to stay fit and healthy?

@josediccus, great question mate! Yup, there are usually a separate categories for females and male and per distance such as 21km, 32km, 10km, etc. 3 winners each category.

I haven't tried winning tho as I'm very slow compared to the profession runners in my area. They can run 5km in 18 minutes, that's crazy right? 😂

Do you run too?

Congrats Patricia, it must feel so good to be back. I remember the feeling of those runs, it really is completely different to running on your own route alone. The comradery makes things feel a lot easier and more enjoyable. I'm glad your slipped disk is doing better too. Just take it easy and ease back into it.

it must feel so good to be back.

Yeeeesssssss!!!!! 💯💯💯 When I was near the finish line, I kept tapping my chest and whispering "You did great, Pat" I was just smiling and singing the whole run. I made sure I'm enjoying every minute of it @emma-h as running means a lot to me.

Just take it easy and ease back into it.

Another sweet reminder from you, how did I deserve all kindness 😭🥰 Are you still running now?

That is so great, I'm so glad for you.

I would love to be running again but haven't started yet, I need to start dedicating some time to it, but I'm quite unfit at the moment so would probably take a while to get back on track.

You are worthy of sweet reminders Pat, I love reading your journey :)

Congrats. I pray your back feels better.

Gusto ko rin matry to. Ito ba secret mo panu ka nag loss weight? Hehe. I've seen your older photos and you look so healthy there 🙈

@jane1289, one of the reasons hehe I was 76kgs before then I went on a low-carb (aka no-rice diet) for a few weeks plus exercise on the side. Grabe yung required na discipline, Jane. It's more of making it a lifestyle rather than a one-time adjustment. Now, I'm very active kahit super busy hustling, there's always time to take care of myself.

Wow..76 grabe 😱.. Pero ngayon ilan na lang? Ako naman bumabalik na sa healthy lifestyle...kc feeling ko, masyado ko iniispend online free time ko imbes magpahinga..

60-61kgs nlng hehe I went as low as 55 kgs but so abrupt yung changes, I looked like may sakit hehe so ngayon, okay na sa 60kgs hehe

Dapat balance sa BMI..ako naman struggling to gain weight.... 52 dapat akin...from 50, it went down to 46 recently ko chineck..i guess dhl to sa pagpupuyat kakablog 🤣..

I prefer watching these fun runs to participating most times. Other times I wish I could run faster than I do so I take part in them.

It's okay if you couldn't run fast, there are always fun categories and shorter distances for those who'd want to just exercise.

Never give up and one day, with the right training, we'll all live normally again!

I really do admire your courage and resilience. You have good reasons to quit running yet you wait for the pain to die down and then hot the tracks again. wow!