Planksgiving Workout 2020 {Another Festive Holiday Core Routine}

in EXHAUST3 years ago


Hello all! It is that time of year again. Yes, the holiday season is in full swing, but more so it is time for some festive holiday workouts! You can't beat a good theme to keep your workouts fun, so I love doing a new variation of Planksgiving every year for some of my classes. There really is no end to the plank variations you can perform, or the ways in which you can combine those planks for a great routine. Of course 2020 makes it even easier with a built in timing theme, too, since we're going to do all of these exercises for just 20 seconds each.


Planksgiving 2020

Block 1: Low Plank, High Plank, Bent Knee Hover

Block 2: Right Side Plank + Hip Lift, R. Side Plank w/ Kick, R. Side Plank Hold

Block 3: Left Side Plank + Hip Lift, L. Side Plank w/ Kick, L. Side Plank Hold

Block 4: Reverse Plank + Hip Lift, Reverse Plank w/ Kick, Reverse Plank Hold

Block 5: High/Low Plank, Shoulder Tap Plank, High Plank with Arm/Leg Reach


Set a timer for 20 second intervals. Perform each exercise in block one for 20 seconds, back to back with no rest (equals one minute of work). Rest for 20 seconds before moving to the next block, then the next...completing all the blocks for a full circuit. The full series should take you just over 6 minutes. Rest then repeat 1-2 more times. Makes for a great "appetizer" or "dessert" to add to your regular workout, or for a quick addition to a Thanksgiving 5k run!

For a real challenge, take out the 20 second rests between blocks and perform all 15 exercises back to back! Or take it down a notch and rest for a full 20 seconds between each movement. You can also change up the timing of the intervals to make it more or less challenging, as well. Use this inspiration and make the workout your own depending upon where you are in our own personal fitness journey. :)

If you want a few other ideas, I have done different versions in previous years (Planksgiving Version One, Two and Three). Pick one, or do all on different days through the holidays. Plenty of inspiration to keep you active this season to balance out any food or drink indulgences. Though always remember exercise shouldn't be used as punishment for over indulging, nor can it completely cancel out continual excess calories. That being said, enjoy this holiday season as you can after a truly crazy year!

*Make sure to consult your physician before beginning a new training program. This is meant for fun motivation to get moving, not an individual exercise prescription.

Banners by @woman-onthe-wing and @dksart

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive



Posted from my blog with Exxp : https://plantstoplanks.com/planksgiving-workout-2020-another-festive-holiday-core-routine/

Sort:  

Those are definitely focused on the core! What's nice about those exercises is that they can be done as a break from sitting at the desk, and without a need for a lot of space, either. Those of us still stuck at home could really use something like these!

Absolutely! Planks are one of those exercises that's a good challenge, but not so taxing that you can't do them every day. Definitely a good break from sitting, too. A few planks in the middle of the day can be an excellent reminder to your core to work even when you're sitting at your desk.

I thought the whole point of stuffing a turkey and over eating was to get turkey neck, or am I missing something?

gobble-gobble

Haha, I'm more of the mindset that if I workout hard that morning I'll be hungrier and can eat more that day. 😂

This is helpful and I'm bookmarking your post for the future. Thank you!

Happy to share! I think I forgot to include my usual tips for modifications, so if you have any questions on making any of these moves work for you then let me know. :)

I'm going to need to adapt these to my bad lower back. I have lumbar discopathy, so I need to take it easy, do just a few 🙂

Perfect. Most can be done from your knees while still getting some great core and upper body benefit, as well. After doing these videos I was teaching my corporate core class via Zoom and did most of the side plank versions with my lower knee down because my arms were so tired from filming the videos and having to do multiple takes to make sure my form was good enough to share, haha! 😂

Excellent! Thanks for the help. I can do normal planks from time to time but when my back hurts, I have to be careful. You're and angel ❤️ 👼

Now I get the planks @plantstoplanks. I like the routine and tried a few of the exercises while pausing the video. Although I feel like I'm in pretty good shape, exercise comes naturally here on the farm, you make it look so easy, it is anything but a cakewalk, at least for me. I'm going to try and do these planks on a regular basis. I'll let you know how I make out.

Thanks for sharing.

I followed your workout yesterday and did the routine for about 8 minutes. Boy, I guess I used some different muscles than I regularly do, I'm a little sore today. I really enjoyed it, although I'm not nearly as flexible as #plantstoplanks. I usually rise before 5:00 am and plan on including doing these exercises on a daily basis.
Thanks for turning me onto this. Anything that builds the core is a good thing!

All those flexible images are probably photoshopped and I wouldn't be surprised if she's eating a Swordfish corn dog right now wrapped in bacon.

I had to reword flexible several times

I thought I was in pretty good shape, not! I don't know if you tried any of @plantstoplanks planks routine, it ain't easy. I am still sore and I've only done some of them for three days now. I love the idea of building a stronger core. You talk about photoshop, during my routine, I have to have farm-mom hold up my leg. If I used photoshop, do you think I could eliminate her from the pic?

You probably could but it'll be the last time! I wouldn't consider it, sir, just stick to please and thank you. I recommend deleting any remaining thoughts you may have regarding photoshopping her out of the picture.

Trust me on this one!

Can I lie? "Yes, I do Plants' planks twice a day for 15 minutes per session and three times on Saturday."

And you can do this workout without Pura holding up your legs.
All kidding aside, good for you, those ones where you are holding up your body when you are positioned facing the right or left are killers! I caught a cramp so bad, I thought my leg was going to fall off.

Nah I don't do her planks. I did check out the article though, hers are more intense for the at home trainer. I do my own version of planks, not very often though. Can't seem to find time between the gym, the bicycle, nothing, something, this platform, and whatever else.

A retired young man with that farmer strength, though, I can understand why you'd need help. Gotta ease into it. You know it's super cool you're doing some morning exercises right?

😂😂😂 That just sounds gross regardless, haha.

Oh my gosh you and @dandays are cracking me up here. Glad you are enjoying the moves so far! I really should get back into sharing more home workout ideas, but that's one area where I get "lazy". Haha, really I just don't like being on camera that much if I can help it. 🤣

Thank goodness the wife didn't catch any of my initial attempts at following your routine, if she did, I know she would have used them to blackmail me and I surely would have paid whatever the asking price.

Haha, yes, the name sometimes isn't so obvious, but when I do a post like this it makes a whole lot of sense! I'm sure you are definitely "farm strong", which is the best kind of functional strength you can have. Fun to change it up and challenge the body in some different ways, though, so I'm happy you enjoyed trying some of these out. I love planks because there really are so many different variations to keep you challenged and keep it fun. Plus it really is such a great core exercise that can help protect against the common back injuries out there transplanting trees or lifting baskets of fruits and veggies. ;)

Calm down, you're not even my first. But this is my first time doing this and I'm enjoying telling people like you, individually, thank you helping me get comfortable here. Your support has been felt since day 1 and I don't forget those things.

💖 @plantstoplanks. DK is a lucky dude.

All that sunshine putting you in a good mood? 😉

Because it is definitely helping me feel a lot spunkier. Even if DK jumped in on my alone time, haha.

Appreciate the appreciation. Been run ragged this week adjusting to a busier and busier schedule. All good to keep the fiat coffers full, but definitely not much time to hang around with the good eggs on here right now. Luckily I know all you folks actually worth taking the time to pop in for understand when the 3D world takes precedence. And really, with sunshine like this, any free time I get is soaking it all in out here...

We just got back. What a nice day. Walked around a big ol lake here. Check out the lunch view.

img_6409.heic

I didn't take any other ones. I wouldn't have taken that one if the train wasn't back there all green and white and cool lookin.