Morning Run - Between the showers

in EXHAUST3 years ago

I just finished a 6.969km running that lasted about 0hh:39mm:38ss !

image

The weather has changed again. We had some days hitting 28C and our pool was a balmy 25C last night, but it was raining as I went to bed. It was still a warm night as I guess the cloud kept the heat in. I did my regular 7km and it was not raining then, but it started coming down heavily within an hour of me getting back.

It was a pretty good run. I was not setting records, but I kept up a decent pace. The 'grade adjusted pace' from Strava did not vary too much, so I am coping with the hills fairly well. That is what the chart shows. My actual pace dropped a bit when climbing up West Drive and peaked on the way down, as you might expect.

I was very warm when I got back for some breakfast. I just had an email to say the Greenway half is off due to the changing COVID situation. The relaxation of restrictions was due next week, but got pushed back a month. Running events have been happening in the UK, but I guess the organisers have to make a decision on whether they can work with the rules. You do not really want runners crowding together at the start. Starting people in smaller groups may be possible, but makes things more complicated.

I may run the race route anyway that weekend. When it was cancelled last year I did my own half and managed a load more at a rate of one per month. parkrun restarting has also been pushed back.

Races are nice, but I just do them for fun and can enjoy my solo runs too. I have plenty of places to get out that do not require roads to be closed for me. That said, running with a crowd has pushed me to some of my best performances.

I am confident things will improve if the government can find some competence and take the short-term action to avoid long-term pain.

Run free and stay well.
Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!

Sort:  

Where you are the temperatures are good for long distance running, around here it is between 32 and 36C.

I'm in the UK. I run through the winter when it can be sub-zero, but I don't mind that. In the summer I just have to run in the morning before it warms up too much.

Have a !BEER

Thanks for the beer, it always solves the problem of high temperatures!!!! 😁


Hey @electronico, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Hi @steevc,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Oh wow thanks @steevc boss man you are doing well for the beer, it always solves the problem of high temperatures!!! Kudos

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment