Third Run with Enzo

in EXHAUST3 years ago

I just finished a 5.009km running that lasted about 0hh:30mm:28ss !

image

Today Enzo has shown better physical shape and more confidence leading the way.
He has pulled me more decisively and we have run approximately 3 km uphill and 2 km downhill.
It seems that he is enjoying these activities that I am introducing him, however, he still does not have the stamina to continue running very far, especially because part of his daily energy is consumed in his runs with other dogs in our morning walk at 8: 00.
After training he has eaten moderately and now he has been sleeping for more than 2 hours, unmoved by any noise or stimulation.
Enzo empties himself with every run.
Tomorrow rest day for Enzo but not for me, I hope to resume my training as soon as possible.

Keep on running!

@toofasteddie
Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!

Sort:  

This is absolutely wonderful. I am so happy for Enzo, you, and your family. Fantastic.

I went through all your post with Enzo. Your life has changed :) Great change it is!

From the photos, I see you have the canine-cross harness and leash. Good for running, not good for daily walks. If there are any.

Enzo needs to learn the difference between the run and the walk. When running you need an elastic harness and there should be no distractions. While on the walks it's your decision how to go. By your leg or sniffing around. He's just a puppy growing into a teenager so you can't expect uniform behaviour right away.

About his running and willingness for it. Grayhounds are essentially lazy dogs. They only run fast and short distances when they are motivated. If they don't see the reason, in their own DNA embedded logic, they won't' run.

I remember a story of a top-level triathlete, adopted two adult greyhounds, used in betting competitions. At first, they were running with him eagerly. After two weeks they've learned they don't need to run to get food and shelter. When he donned his running shoes they just looked the other way and ignored him and continued their nap on the sofa.

No more running for them :)

It's really great that Enzo is with you now. He's an endless source of unconditional love. And some stubbornness and occasionally weird behavior.

Oh, there is a book, wait for a second ... this one. Search for it in your local library. The whole family will read it and you'll be surprised :)

Thanks for the advice!
I am planning to run with Enzo just once a week for the moment, you are right, he is fast but not resistance for the moment ;-)

Aww hello Enzo! I have a Springer Spaniel and trained him from a pup to run with me. He’s nearly 5 now a dream to run with and could go for 20+ miles if I let him. He’s a better behaved running partner than a walking partner. Keep it up and hopefully you’ll have a running buddy for years to come. I suggest food as rewards to keep him enthusiastic. Dogs love liver treats

Nice, I struggled with our dog that got easily distracted and we stopped frequently.