Getting better, getting stronger, getting faster - consistent improvement

in EXHAUST3 years ago

544E4266-7D54-4456-A8B2-6F951836046E.jpeg

Since September last year I’ve been on a health journey after the lockdown wrecked my good habits and set me back in my weight and fitness.

In the past I have always been active and generally healthy so when the hard lockdown hit it was rough.

To be honest my weight had been creeping up slowly since 2019 and my activity had been limited by a crazy work schedule so lockdown wasn’t the only reason for my health decline. Hitting the awesome age of 40 seemed to contribute to all these changes too.

But this Summer has been a defining one for me! If you read my smoothie blogs you will get a good idea of what I’ve done and how I’ve got here.

BDBF7EAF-9F1B-4AC0-9A80-8AC5DD896886.jpeg

Last night I went on another run around my neighbourhood and I am really proud of the time a managed to accomplish. Initially I was planning on walking but my enthusiasm and competitive nature got the best of me and I managed to run most of the route.

37AC6331-43BF-4A6F-AACE-09AE7EF6F275.jpeg

I’m still at a run / walk level of fitness but thankfully am now running a lot more than walking and only using the walk as a short recovery period. I hope to get to the point of running the entire route in future.

Park Runs haven’t opened back up in South Africa yet, so guess I’ll stick to my own 5km route regularly and try to improve my time.

Which stats would you like to see? I’m not sure what is helpful.

I have also just joined a ladies trail running group so I’m looking forward to posting those runs here real soon.

Thanks for following this little journey with me!

E4C47915-A54D-48A2-B0E5-EDF1D20952AD.png

Sort:  

Whoa, 5km a day? I can't even run 1km non stop. I gotta push myself more

Nooooo! I can’t do 5km every day. But I do exercise every day.

Monday - bootcamp
Tuesday - hike (5-8kms)
Wednesday- bootcamp
Thursday - trail run (5-6km)
Friday - bootcamp
Saturday - local run / walk (varies depending on what our plans are)
Sunday - beach walk

I also might have a short 2km beach walk on 1 or 2 evenings but it’s super slow and is just for getting outside.

I think this will change as winter comes. Not sure what I’m going to do.

🤔 that's look a good plan to workout throughout the week.

Thanks! It works for me and I take a day every now and then. I’m sure you could run a 5k!

Hi zo3d,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow! Thanks so much!

Keeping the body moving is an excellent posture to improve both physical and spiritual health.
Nice post, thanks for sharing with us.


image.png
Natural Medicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our community - we'd love to welcome you!

Thanks so much!

That's awesome. Running would kill me, but I could ride my bike forever; I like to get out for a lunchtime ride when I can - I try for a few days a week.

Like you I'm a big fan of smoothies afterward too, but I don't like to clean it up. 😂 I find a dollup of yogurt over fruit works for me, and clean up is easier 😃

Yes! I love fruit and yoghurt too! Good on ya for the regular rides. It’s so good to get outside.

Congratulations @zo3d! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
A successful meetup and its commemorative badge

Nice work!

Posted using Dapplr

Cool thanks!