What Motivates Me To Keep In Life, A Child Who Thrives In Spite Of Many Struggles In Life

in HiveGhana11 months ago

Greetings all and Sundry! This is another great and inspiring challenge worth to participate by many people. Thanks to all @hive.ghana Leader for all these great ideas for us to share our thoughts. I'm really touched with this week challenge since it relates to my real life situation, my childhood memories and my secrets which I don't often share it if you aren't closed to me. But, once it may inspire others and urge them on in life no matter the circumstances beyond their control I think it's very cogent to let them know what happens when it comes to life. I wished I could share it in video form but maybe due to the lengthy of the story the text form also explain the same thing of my story.


png_20230529_040652_0000.png

Designed using Canva app


"My real life story, what Motivates me to keep growing"

I'm the kind of person who lost my parents at earlier stage in life at age nine (9). So, I didn't get that fatherly and motherly love as many of us had in their childhood. For all these years, I'd stayed with my Grandma and Auntie before I grew to some stage. As most of us in Ghana are aware, in our Clans or Societies gone at the days when you are young and all your parents pass out, you're never being told. But, you would be given to the next of kin who inherits the deceased person. But, I happens to be on patrilineal inheritance, so it was my elderly father who inherited my father by then. A lot of things happened in life by then which sometimes I couldn't recall exactly what account for that. What I remember was that my Dad died before my Mom when I was in my tender age, so my Auntie had to weaned me. It was later that my Mom also died through some chronic disease. As we speak, I didn't get the original picture of how my Dad and Mom look like, what I remember are their hard copy pictures in our Album.


The beginning of countless mess, tragedy & sorrow life

I wasn't born into Affluent family, so at that time, life began to beat me. My Elderly father who inherited my Dad couldn't abide by his words. The kind of lifestyle as drunkard even denied him from upbringing me under his custody. My Auntie too became tired of looking after me in addition to her own children. As a farming community at some cottage, my friends were on the same boat of rough lifestyle which were nothing write home about. Due to the economic hardship, my Auntie became fed up with me so she used to treat me bad. I finally left to grow in the hands of my Grandma who was into subsistent farmer. So when growing up, I used to support her in the farm and sell few surplus from the produce we harvest to cater for our lives expenses. Schooling became very hard in those days. In the village by then, I used to walk few miles with my friends to where the school is located. Unlike today that we give our child feeding fees, in those days I used to eat from our kitchen and that would be the only food which remained in my belly till we close from school. When I was facing all these challenges and my memory kept maturing I was having the thought of becoming a great person and wouldn't be this kind of lifestyle. Lo and behold, I passed well in my BECE in 1999.


The worse part in my life which ended my breakthrough...

Life at basic level is sometimes described as you're coming to the World, but life at the second cycle is a determiner of your future career. After completing my basic education or junior secondary school ( JSS), my focus was to pursue to second cycle institution. My Grandma would had wished to led me pursue but her strength wasn't up to task. Even though I was brilliant but there wasn't any property for her to lay her hand on as even collateral for my school expenses. My Auntie and all the family pushed me to the wall for me to learn tailoring work as currently we call it fashion design. But, I wasn't ready to do so looking at my age mate who were going to school. Most of the teachers who knew me being a very good student were pressuring me to further my education.


As we often say:, "where there is the will, there is the way!" I was having the will to go to secondary school and that led me to find the way. Even though there wasn't any immediate work for me. I decided to make a rice farm for a year. It was the kind of farming business which was booming for the youth to gather money. Even though it was tedious and very stressful job but I decided to strive and survive. I spared 2 years for that rice farming. God being so good it worked like a magic, I had bountiful harvest of rice, sold for my admission fees and other expenses at boarding house. The rest of the 3 years in secondary school was struggle upon struggle. During vacation, I used to come down to the village support my Grandma and at the same time get other side job like weeding people's farm as contract to gather money for the next term.


20230529_041821_0000.png

Life in school during old days. Designed using Canva app


Upon all these struggles, I was highly determined to climb the academic ladder so I was very focused on my books. This made me passed successfully in my Senior Secondary School Certificate Examination (SSSCE) to tertiary (Polytechnic). After my second cycle institution, I have now become matured and know a lot of stuff. I took my life very serious since there is great distinction between my background of life and the background of my friends. What Motivated me a lot is when I saw God and took my the word of God as the light to my path and fulfilling to all the lost. With the same hardworking like joining road construction work to gather money and taking student loan trust fund (SLTF) really helped me to complete the Polytechnic. I could see that to every stage in life, I make progress if only I determine to do it. I had an early job in teaching field and now I had progressed of do my Bachelor Degree. I am now a professional teacher and I thank God for such blessed job He had offered me.


So to cut a long story short, for all these years of life, I've been meandering my ways to find the edge of best life, to find a breakthrough. At least to change the story of we were born in poverty so should all the generation become poor. I want to just eradicate that mindset of the old-fashioned of saying there is some omen you sown in the family we have exchanged the family's integrity or money for children and so on. I've come to believe that life is "a principle of discipline." The discipline of working hard, the principle of being focused and determined. Above all living a good lifestyle.